Nikwax Wool Wash - 10 fl.oz.

Closeouts. An excellent choice for merino wool, wool socks and wool base layers, Nikwax’ Wool Wash safely cleans, softens, freshens and enhances moisture-wicking abilities of woolen apparel and accessories.

Average Rating based on 39 reviews 4.410256 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 39 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyclist in the valley from Ohio on Monday, May 25, 2015
    We love icebreaker gear so we have a lot of wool clothing, from underwear to jackets to cycling jerseys and bibs. This protects and softens these items. It does have a unique smell that we kinda like, and it works. We use it all the time.
  • Reviewed by Neophyterunner from Minnesota on Tuesday, April 21, 2015
    Nikwax has a very chemically smell. Even though Woolite smells like a wet dog (that's the lanolin), I prefer it to this product hands down.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Smartwool's No.1 Fan from AR on Monday, March 23, 2015
    Wow, really puffed up all my Smartwool gear, which had only ever been washed in detergent. Should be even warmer now that the fibers can trap more air, and last longer b/c no doubt a wool wash is a gentler product..
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by 300h from North Dakota on Monday, February 9, 2015
    The stuff works great, it really softens up the even the most scratchy wool.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Spendthrift Stan from new mexico on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    i wanted to try this to see if it would help to soften my wool socks that have gotten scratchy. it did a good job-so i guess i'll do it each year.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rain or shine from michigan on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    kind of as strange fragrance. I use less than suggested. using the recommended amount causes over-sudsing, a sure sign of over-user. start with 1/2 r3ecommended amount and go from there. very delicate cycle only!!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Msquared from Sunriver, Oregon on Saturday, January 10, 2015
    My experience with this product is very positive (and no bad scent like some have noticed). I have several wool base layer pieces and wool socks which turn out so soft and clean with this. I think it works much better than regular detergent for those items. I also washed a merino wool-cashmere sweater with it that turned out beautifully. The pills are gone or at least minimized so that it looks like new. Very pleased.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsy Momma from Colorado on Thursday, January 1, 2015
    I think that this is a good wash for wool performance layers but I don't love the smell. I wish they would improve the scent a little.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PJ from Texas on Wednesday, December 17, 2014
    NikWax makes great products for cleaning and waterproofing clothing. I've used it for 15 years on all my outdoor clothing gear and wool sweaters.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PDX CHIX from OREGON on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    This is the best insurance for your high quality wool performance wear and fashion wear! Sierra Trading Co has the best price on this wonderful product and quick shipping. Sign up for email and get even better deals.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Musicteacher9 from NC on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    I found that it's had week reviews on Amazon and also that there was another wool wash that had excellent reviews...same price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mike from Pittsburgh on Monday, November 17, 2014
    I purchased this along with merino wool base layer underwear. As soon as I took the cap off I could smell the product, the fragrance is strong. In most cases the smell would'nt matter but this will be used to wash base layers for archery hunting. Archery hunting garments will have to be washed well in advanced of the season to be given plenty of time to air out outside. Hopefully the product will enhance the merino wools moisture wicking properties as described. The rating is based on smell not performance, thats yet to be determined
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BULLROAR from WI. on Monday, October 20, 2014
  • Reviewed by Backpackin' Ron from Balimore, MD USA on Wednesday, March 26, 2014
    This product works great washing sweaters, socks, base layers , hats - all of my wool. I have used Wool Wash for years; Sierra Trading Post has the best prices.
  • Reviewed by Kenny A from Brooklyn, NY on Sunday, March 9, 2014
    Careful cleaning results on my merino base layers. Like all Nik-Wax products, follow the instructions and you will be happy. Good stuff.
  • Reviewed by Shua from Oceanside,ca on Friday, March 7, 2014
    So I bought a merino wool sweater on ebay, from the description it sounded like the guy owned it but when I received it the smell was most assuredly thrift store. So I grabbed my wool wash and washed it. When it came out it had the most awful smell, worse than wet dog. I was so bummed. I tried hand washing it with shampoo and running through a rinse cycle, that didn't work. So I had something with the smell of wool wash, wet hair from your sink drain, and pert plus. Finally I decided to do what I do with my towels, 1 cup vinegar in the first wash, 1 cup of baking soda in the second rinse cycle. Came out with the smell of water, yes water like if you smell a glass of tape water. Save your money and don't use this. I will not anymore.
  • Reviewed by AnnaLaurie from AZ on Tuesday, February 25, 2014
    No way to fully evaluate, yet. But I like that the smell is light but fresh, and I hope that softens the 'wool' smell of some of my woolier wool.
  • Reviewed by The Merino Marauder from Brooklyn on Monday, February 24, 2014
    If you own any merino, get some Nikwax.
  • Reviewed by greydog from Spokane, WA on Sunday, February 23, 2014
    The bottle came inside a large (tied) plastic bag. Obviously the bag was used as the product seal had broken: 1/3 of the product had leaked out. Thanks to STP for the sealed bag as this is a stinky product.
    It does a good job in the wash and does not leave residual odor.
  • Reviewed by rags mom from Arkansas on Thursday, February 20, 2014
    Used on a wood shirt jac and all of my wool socks. Shirt jac was stiff until washed now is soft and comfortable to wear. All of my socks were softer. Ordered another bottle to wash all of my wool items before storing for summer.
  • Reviewed by eventer1 from Washington on Monday, February 17, 2014
    I don't like to pay for dry cleaning nor do I like the chemicals involved. I work with horses in the Pacific NW where it is wet, muddy, and cold. My sweaters get filthy. I tried this on my alpaca socks and threw in an old sweater to see how well it would work. The sweater came out beautifully clean and super soft. When I first took it out of the washer, I noticed a faint smell somewhat like mothballs, but it went away completely when the sweater was dry. I then got brave and tried it on cashmere - same great result. My beloved alpaca socks are so soft and fluffy - just like when they were new. I am wondering if this is appropriate for sheepskin. If anyone has tried it, please let me know.
  • Reviewed by Marcia from Colorado on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    Old wool sweaters are soft and fresh and wool socks which have a lot of wear are like new
  • Reviewed by TM from TN on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    I love Nikwax products. I have been using them for a while and I love the way they make my wool clothes look and feel. I was so happy to find on STP. it has been about half what I have paid on other sites.
  • Reviewed by Pam from Portland, Or on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Didn't know my Ice Breaker wools hot their own Nikwax.
  • Reviewed by Jok5678 from ohio on Saturday, November 9, 2013
    easy to use. pleasant sent. leaves the wool soft.
  • Reviewed by Randy from Georgia on Wednesday, October 30, 2013
    Used it to wash wool shirts and socks. Hand wash and machine. Works well. It removed all stains and smells. You only need to use a little bit so the small bottle lasts a while.
  • Reviewed by OCULUS from Rensselaer, NY on Thursday, July 4, 2013
    zipper Haven't tried this yet, but figure it will be perfectly at home for use on my multiple, great, Dale of Norway marino wool sweatshirts (thx STP!). Have used NikWax for years on my XC skis and expect this to be just as effective.
  • Reviewed by Gingerman from RVA on Thursday, March 21, 2013
    Nikwax products are in general very good for your expensive 1st world gear. The wool wash is great on newer merino stuff and older traditional wool. I have a couple of old Scottish sweaters that were really abrasive and Wool Wash smoothed it out and softened after a few washes. It's the only way you should wash anything wool. I have a few Icebreakers that I have worn hiking, exercising and after work almost every day for 5+ years and this stuff has helped keep them feeling like new. One gripe is that the smell of the Wool Wash sticks around. i usually run my stuff through an express wash with no cleaner after to get rid of it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mew5280 from Colorado on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    I used this to wash a fine wool scarf and a wool blanket. It does the trick and smells very fresh. Makes the wool feel very soft.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by soldiergirl from michigan on Wednesday, November 14, 2012
    I used this to wash a sweater knitted in the 1940s. The wool was very soft after washing, much nicer than any other time it had been washed or dry cleaned. The colors didn't run, and the size stayed the same. I was very pleased and pleasantly surprised.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-30 of 39 reviews