• Northern Expedition Reviews

  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 67 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jacquie from Australia on Monday, August 13, 2012
    Why does all down clothing smell like old mildew doona? Sent it to the dry cleaner to get stench out. But.. It is a lovely vest, looks great on my daughter, fits true to size. A little small around the arm hole. Got a Large in Ivory, it has a bright blue lining, and a pink in XL. There is quite a big difference between the sizes. The large is definitely a kids size 12-14! But the XL is an adults size. Not too bulky & seems quite warm. Tiny pockets. Well made and looks like it is good quality.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Wear to School
    • Cons: Dry clean only
    • Describe Yourself: Bargain Shopper, Casual
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Figure Flattering, Great Color, Quality Materials, Versatile
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bad gift buyer from Pittsburgh on Friday, December 30, 2011
    This was a gift to replace a ski vest. It looked very stylish but was too small and too tight when worn, so actually I returned it. It was much lighter than the old ski vest and seemed to be made more for casual dressy use rather than keeping you warm on a really cold day outside.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dj from colorado springs, co on Monday, December 19, 2011
    Purchased as a gift, like the fit and weight.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Casual, Everyday
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Woods' End Mom from NM on Thursday, December 15, 2011
    I sent this back. The arm holes were too tight for free movement. The fabric is very stiff and felt rather plastic-like.
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Fabric too stiff, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jojo from fairfiled, ct on Wednesday, December 14, 2011
    This vest seemed great, except that there is elastic at the armholes which grabs your arm in an odd way. It probably helps keep wind out, but didn't feel right. Because of that, my daughter won't wear this jacket.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Irish Kiwi from Auckland, NZ on Monday, December 12, 2011
    Bought the size 7/8 in cream which goes with everything...it will fit my daugher until she's 10..sizing is on the large side for us. However, she's happy to wear it now and it looks lovely....in fact its been hard to get it off her. Jacket is well made with no loose threads. The filling / padding is thin - not thick feather and down....but not too thin. Will use for layering under ski jacket and as a winter jacket here in NZ. Zip pocket inside. Royal blue lining. Arm / sleeve holes have elasticated gators.
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Sizing: Feels too large
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jarjeanne from East Orleans MA on Thursday, December 1, 2011
    Great over long tneck/shirt.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kaelara from upstate, ny on Tuesday, November 29, 2011
    I bought this in the blue color, and it's such a great shade I am so happy! I wear a women's large/12 and this felt true to size for me. The arm holes are a bit snug but it's because they have elastic in them to keep the wind from sneaking under the coat. I like this feature. This vest feels stylish to me, and it's pretty durable material because my puppy jumped on me and her nails did not break through. I have been wearing this over a fleece jacket and I've been toasty warm. It's gotten down to 20 degrees and I've felt fine. I also wore this on it's own on 35 degree days and was pleased with it. I'm a petite and the length feels great for me.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Durable, Great color, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by High Plains Mom from Black Hawk, SD on Wednesday, November 23, 2011
    This is a great vest and I love the bright blue color with cream-colored inside lining, very flattering. It's not a really heavy duty nylon material, but the down fill makes it cozy when you need an extra layer.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Cross Country, Downhill
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rebecca5874 from Los Angeles, CA on Wednesday, November 16, 2011
    Runs small, order one size up. This vest is warm and lightweight, but more stiff in texture and 'swishy' sounding compared to the higher priced, sleeping bag type down vests that SP also sells. Flattering fit, has nice details & numerous useful pockets. I ordered the light pink and the appearance is uniform throughout (no dark feathers showing through the fabric). It does show wrinkles and wouldn't be something you'd want to cram into a stuff sack like you can the more pricy models, but a little steam gets rid of the wrinkles. Overall, it is an excellent value for it's price point.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Insulating under coats
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Noisy, Stiff
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Warm
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 67 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #
;