Old Town
Old Town 4.282608 5 Average Rating:
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob on the Job from Alabama on Wednesday, April 5, 2017
    I got my canoe yesterday. It is exactly what I was looking for. However, there were some disappointments. I found a couple of deep gouges on the side and the underside that looked as though the canoe had been dropped. Also the plastic gunwale strip that was broken at a rivet near the bow. They are not deal breakers by any means, but they are not what you want in a new canoe. So, long story short, for a 2nd it is acceptable; for a new canoe it would not be.
  • Reviewed by Opie Wan Bepaddlin from Louisiana on Monday, May 2, 2016
    UPS delivered, but did not follow any of delivery instructions. Slid it out onto the ground dragging enough that packing torn top and bottom and keel dragged through mud, sticks and rocks. Left UPRIGHT in the rain with the packing torn, so it filled with water. The main defect I can see other than the scratching that UPS created is a large dent right in the line of the stern. It's about halfway between keel and gunwhale, so could actually affect handling a little. Dent is about 2.5-3 inches along the vertical line of the stern and about 3/4 inch deep. It looks like the canoe was rammed into something hard and square like a piece of 2 inch bar stock. Polyethylene is deformed to the point that there are two nasty looking folds in it. Is this the problem that made the canoe a factory 2nd or did UPS trash my canoe in the process of delivery?
  • Reviewed by Anthony from Missouri on Wednesday, April 13, 2016
    Don't be afraid of it being a 2nd, there were hardly any scratches on the canoe and no dents. I bought this canoe for fishing and camping. Also if you are worried about the canoe being too big for solo trips don't worry about it, to me it was easy to paddle by myself and it glides through the water and tracks well.
  • Reviewed by Paddler from Connecticut on Tuesday, March 15, 2016
    Canoe just arrived, packed very well. As noted it is a second, which in my case is a small dent, otherwise perfect shape. I would be writing this from the lake if it were warm enough! Great deal, highly recommend.
  • Reviewed by Tankdawg from Missouri on Tuesday, September 29, 2015
    Finally got the new canoe out for a real float trip on the Eleven Point River. I can honestly say the new canoe was a bit like a hot rod go kart on ice at first in comparison to my old 158 with its beat up hull. With the new, smooth undamaged hull it took a little time to learn how to drive her. She was twitchy and easy to over correct. After narrowly missing a tip over on the second rapid I started to get in tune with her and took some rapids I previously tipped in and even walked through. The new bow caps are a great redesign with places for rod holders and inline handles. The seats are another story. Why black? Who thought it was a good idea to make the seats black? In hot sun these things will fry your skin. The seats in my old 158 were a light tan and would not leave sear marks on the back of your legs. I did not try the supplied seat backs on the water, I tried them on land and felt like I was falling out of the seat. I use Sit Backers and would prefer a flat cane seat to the molded seat anyway. This is my only dislike and I can still use my Sit Backers on the molded seats or eventually replace them so no big deal. I would buy another from Sierra Trading Post in an instant. I should mention that as a "second" factory defect product I would pay someone to point out the defect to me because I sure can't find it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by thelastcoco from Oklahoma City, OK on Wednesday, September 9, 2015
    Wow, what a steal for this boat! I am thrilled about getting this kayak, much less at over $400 off retail. STP was super easy to deal with and the freight shipping was crazy fast - under 3 business days! As far as this being a "2nds", I only found one small scratch on the underside of the kayak. It got more scratched up going from my truck bed to my garage the first time I put it away. This boat is super stable, extremely maneuverable and really purpose built for the small water angler.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dustin from Iowa on Tuesday, May 12, 2015
    Had it out twice now my first week having it. Happy with my decision of this brand and model. Being a 300 lb guy 6 foot, seems pretty stable and comfortable, tracks pretty well. Do wish that it had the built in cup holder in the deck like the dirigo. Overall very pleased, and shipping said 9 to 12 business days and had 4 days after ordered it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by River Rover from Wyoming on Tuesday, May 5, 2015
    Purchased this because my Blue Hole MGB royalex boat developed freeze cracks. Sierra had it to me in about 3 days. Price was great.
    Really glides well and tracks pretty good for a canoe with this much rocker. Tumblehome hull makes paddling easier on the knuckles and looks sharp as well. Great initial stability, haven't really pushed it to secondary. 50 pound English Springer can be hoisted from the water with my girlfriend leaning the other way, no problems. Carried the 3 of us and enough gear for very comfortable 3 day float on Wyoming's Green River (no white water, dodging a few rocks, low head dams, and fallen trees). Like the boat, even if it's a tad heavy. Do plenty of squats in your workout so you can lift it to use the yoke. (Placing one end up on a fence etc. to start helps.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tankdawg from Missouri on Wednesday, April 8, 2015
    This canoe is a replacement for my previous Discovery 158 that I bought from a canoe rental business. While I can't rate the new one specifically I can tell you my experience with the 158 has been nothing short of great. I bought a canoe that had already been through the war zone of years of drunken floaters who could not have cared less about protecting the livery's investment. Then I got her and floated her for 7 or 8 years longer with a little more regard than the floaters. She finally cracked under the pressure about 3 years ago. I patched the 3 inch crack and hit the water again. The only reason I replaced her was that a friend gave me part of the money as a gift to thank me for taking care of her car. Good news is the old girl has moved on to a new owner so she is still floating along like the world is her oyster. These canoes are like tanks, they will take just about anything you throw at them and shrug it off. They are stable and can haul way more gear than you need for a weekend float/camp/fishing trip with easy and leave plenty of room for two. They are not fast and don't turn on a dime but even a novice like myself can avoid most flip overs. The only drawback is the weight, with a bad back 85 pounds is an issue but if pressed I can load it myself just not gracefully.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jen from Atlanta, GA on Tuesday, March 17, 2015
    Perfect family canoe - big enough for our family of 4 (2 adults + 2 small kids), but light enough for the two of us to load on the roof rack. Considered the Discovery 169 but think it would have been overkill. First experience ordering a canoe online - very happy with shipping process, and very pleased with quality of canoe bough sight-unseen. Any blemishes or irregularities which qualified this canoe as "2nds" are imperceptible, making it a really great deal. Thank you, Sierra Trading Post!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 5
;