Old Town canoes and kayaks have balanced tradition and technology throughout Old Town Canoes' 100 year history. Old Town canoes built their first Old Town canoe in 1898 using wood-and-canvas canoe construction, a more durable, lower maintenance improvement on the Native American birch bark canoe. Old Town kayaks in canvas and wood were introduced in the 1940s, and made kayaking fun and easy for a new breed of outdoor enthusiasts. In the 1950s and 1960s, Old Town canoes pioneered the use of fiberglass for Old Town canoes, and Old Town canoes an ... Learn more about Old Townd kayaks continue innovation into the 21st century, advancing the art of paddling through better designs and lighter, more durable materials, like today's three-layer polyethylene and three-layer Superlinear. Old Town Canoe continues to look ahead, while still keeping one eye on the past for inspiration from the best of classic boat-building traditions. There are Old Town canoes and kayaks designed for family canoeing, recreation and fitness paddling, fishing canoes and kayaks, whitewater, touring and camping. Whatever water you travel, there is an Old Town canoe or kayak ready to help you make the most of every trip. ... Less
Average Rating based on 36 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 36 reviews
  • Reviewed by Todd from PA on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    I wasn't sure about buying a 2nd, sight unseen. So I emailed to ask what to expect. Customer support was awesome, friendly, fast, and they reassured me the boat would be well protected during shipping. As a 2nd, I was told there may be a cosmetic inconsistency not affecting function. Satisfaction was guaranteed. The boat arrived without a scratch well wrapped in many layers of bubble wrap. It's beautiful. UPS freight called and allowed me to pre-authorized signature for home delivery while I was at work. It was in my driveway next day when i got home. I've had an old town canoe for 30 years. The 3 layer royalex hull is indestructible and won't lose its shape in the hot sun. The Camden kayak is like a sports car compared to my Old Town Discovery canoe, but just as well built and loaded with features that make it an incredible buy.
  • Reviewed by frankie from Stafford, VA on Monday, February 17, 2014
    It's a very nice canoe. It's too cold to use it as of yet, but we will as soon as the weather warms up. One thing I wanted to mention was the shipping of the canoe. It was loosely wrapped in bubble wrap, and therefore there were several scratches and dents in the canoe.
  • Reviewed by Brando from South Kak on Tuesday, August 7, 2012
    This wasn't an exact fit for my Old town loon tandem kayak but I was able to find 4 mounting screws to secure it with. The mounting straps are elastic and have an adjustable buckle on each one. The first time I used this was to secure a small 1x1x1 ft cooler to back of my kayak. Upon first strapping the cooler down I noticed that the stitching on one of the straps was halfway unstitched. This was pretty disappointing, but I rigged it by tying a piece of cord around the net and then to the buckle. So it is still usable. I used it the rest of the day and all the next w/o any trouble. Its worth what I paid for it but would not recommend it at full price.
    • Best Uses: Kayak Canoe Rafting
    • Cons: Strap came off, Wears Out Quickly
    • Pros: Adjustable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rich Man from Springville Al. on Monday, March 19, 2012
    Great for fishing/camping trips.Lots of room for everything needed for overnight or a full week. Stable Fast and abreeze to paddle
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Flat Waters, Rivers
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Easy to Paddle, Good Maneuverability, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by karl from thunder bay Canada on Friday, November 18, 2011
    I have tripped all over Ontario Canada with all kinds of canoes- whitewater to flatwater

    This boat is tough and a great boat
    its not the best at anything but good at everything

    Its heavy with the crosslink polyethylene plastic compared to royalex but is way tougher. at 85 pounds you dont want to carry this too far by yourself - but it can be done - its just makes portaging a chore

    a flat wide bottom boat with little rocker, but still can handle moderate whitewater. Lots of volume for tripping. stable
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Tripping
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Stable, TOUGH
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by love MT rivers from Billings, MT on Saturday, June 25, 2011
    price discounted well in relation to the dings and dents
    • Best Uses: Rivers
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Good look dispite dings, Lightweight, No loss in function
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by wspier from Blue Springs, MO on Sunday, June 19, 2011
    We use the boat for lake use. If the water's choppy though you have to be careful. The boat's a little heavy, but doable. If it's anything, it's rugged. This boat will take a beating.
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Flat Waters
    • Cons: Heavy, Unstable
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Astronaut from Blairsville, Ga on Tuesday, May 3, 2011
    Very satisfied with product.
    • Best Uses: Flat Waters
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Easy Entry & Exit, Good Maneuverability, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eiferneefer from central Utah on Wednesday, April 20, 2011
    I'm liking Sierra TP. They had the best prices on my purchases, and are very responsive.
    • Best Uses: Day Trips, Flat Waters, Rivers
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Great price, Lightweight, Rugged, Very small dimple in hull
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Burt Miller from Mississippi on Thursday, April 14, 2011
    Not to hard to paddle with only one person. Bought it for my 10 year old daughter and me to paddle. She loves it. The seats are far more comfortable than I had expected. Really well made. Not going to set any speed records, but easy to maintain 3 MPH with only one adult paddling.
    Great Sierra Price! Couldn't say no to their sale!
    • Best Uses: Day Trips
    • Cons: Heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stable
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 36 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;