Orbea Odin Cycling Helmet

Closeouts. Orbea's Odin cycling helmet features four-layer construction for unsurpassed ventilation, dramatic style and featherweight protection.

Average Rating based on 28 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Avid Cyclist from Pennsylvania on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    I didn't want to believe the reviews about the helmet being to small. It was too small for me, so I had to return it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ML 140.6 from Minnesota on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    maybe i'm a little superficial, but when buy a helmet style was mostly what i was looking for. to me this one did not let me down. and for the price, you couldn't beat it.
  • Reviewed by zamboney from New mexico on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    Ventilation is great, color blue is excellent. I've used this helmet for a year and a half and have no complaints. I like how it looks sporty but distinct from the millions of bell and giro brand helmets on the market.
  • Reviewed by ktandchris from Georgia on Monday, November 4, 2013
    I have a 23 1/4" head and the large did not fit. Perhaps you would have to have a perfectly circular head to meet their claim of 24+".
  • Reviewed by Unknown from Colorado on Friday, August 23, 2013
    After a bicycle wreck that nearly killed me when I was blown off a mountain (I was saved by two vigilant cyclists from Switzerland and my Giro Atmos), I decided that, rather than replace my previous helmet with the same, to get a helmet that, to me, seemed more robust. Europe is, after all, a cycling haven, where cyclists and motorists have mutual respect for each other. After some research, I went for the Orbea Odin, Team Replica colors (second choice would have been the bright red one).

    A few weeks ago, my Orbea Odin was put to the test. I was riding a fast downhill, pulling & drafting. I'm an amateur, and didn't realize that drafting on downhills is just asking for trouble... and I definitely got trouble. I was in position drafting, but with some slight wheel overlap. The other rider's rear wheel clipped my front wheel and I went down... head first at 40 MPH. Considering I was supposed to have spine surgery #3 in just another week, my first thought was the irony of the situation and if my bike was ok. Second thought was whether I'd wrecked everything doctors had tried to repair.

    I walked away from the accident. My head had hit hardest, and therefore the helmet had severe damage... my head only had a mild concussion. The only clothing I had that wasn't shredded were my shoes and socks... yet my only injuries on the rest of my body were an abrasion to the knee and some bruising on my shoulder.

    The wreck had to have appeared spectacular to all who saw it, yet what was most spectacular was the fact that I was hardly injured- and the helmet even had gravel from the road embedded in it.

    The Orbea Odin has an amazing look, but that's not why I got it. I got it because of its 4 layers of strength, and because it appeared so much more robust than any helmet I'd ever had (I've wrecked a fair few). When put to the test in a 40 mph wreck, the helmet won the battle, and there is little doubt that it saved my life.
  • Reviewed by Matthew from Ottawa, ON on Monday, August 12, 2013
    This helmet is very comfortable and well vented. Helmets are very personal, and this one fits my head well, where my previous Rudy Project did not. Be warned that Orbea helmets run *very* small - I typically wear a medium (sometimes a small), but needed a large with this helmet. Overall though, I love it!
  • Reviewed by The from FL on Wednesday, August 7, 2013
    Well made, good price. Large is more like a ML.
  • Reviewed by CircaRigel from Denver, Colorado on Tuesday, July 9, 2013
    While a Giro Atmos rescued my noggin when I fell 30 feet off a mountain, I replaced it with the Odin, which seems and feels far more robust and protective. Most people in my circumstance would replace with the same helmet that already protected them... not me. I still had a concussion (and a LOT of spinal fractures & internal injuries), and a nice gash on my forehead. This helmet protects the area that got the gash, and the 4 layer styling just gives it a more robust feel. I also made up my mind when I read a professional review of the helmet, and the reviewer accidentally had a major wreck... the helmet protected him from serious head injury, although the same can't be said for his body!

    I did a lot of research and noted that these helmets run a little on the small side. Since for other helmets I'm right at the cusp of small and medium, I went for medium, especially so I'd have enough room for my balaclava during winter riding!

    Riding with one, fantastic air flow, in spite of the solid look. The inner channeling and pads are perfect.

    Finally, they just look good! Who wouldn't want to go out riding looking like an alien... perhaps a Minbari from Babylon 5?!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by steve from hendersonville, tn on Monday, February 11, 2013
    Road cycling
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Noraku from Fort Collins, Co. on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    I commute/trail ride and this helmet seems to be a great buy for roaming around. It is well ventilated and the back adjustments are easy to use and fit great especially since I have long hair, however the tall design makes it feel a little awkward. All in all a good buy.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.