Orbea Rune Cycling Helmet

Closeouts. Keep your head cool on hot rides with the excellent ventilation of Orbea's Rune cycling helmet. It features an ergonomic retention system and moisture-wicking CoolMax® fabric pads.

Average Rating based on 39 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 39 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anig from North Dakota on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    Most comfortable fit of any helmet that I've had so far! Fits snuggly on my head, feeling like it gives good protection. Normally wear a size small/medium in a helmet - purchased a medium in this one and it fits perfectly. Good ventilation.
  • Reviewed by Nick from Australia on Tuesday, August 19, 2014
    I have measured my dome few times and went with Medium size, partially due to the fact that previously bought OR hat was too big in Large for me.
    Nope, missed again. Too small time. Couldn't squeeze in my melon in the widest setting. Will give it away. Nice looking helmet and seems to be functional too. But be careful with sizing
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dave from california on Monday, August 18, 2014
    used it on a ride up the coast last weekend. The fit is really good and the air vents work nice! Not bad looking either.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pe from Wisconsin on Thursday, August 14, 2014
    As others have stated, it may run small - I have a sm/med head, and the medium, when I first put it on, was snug. HOWEVER, after playing around with the pads (putting the thinner pads on that are included with the helmet), and loosening the adjustable tension inside the back of the helmet, the medium fit perfect. This helmet is so light I forget I have it on, but it is clearly made for protection, and the amount of vents is a welcome change from my last helmet. Finally, although safety is first priority, this helmet looks GOOD on, which is fine by me!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Indiana on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    helmet is lightweight and has plenty of ventilation. I have a small head so the ability to adjust the helmet to fit was critical. I was able to use the clips on the back to get the fit correct. There was one small pressure point on top of the helmet that bothers me on longer rides, but I have tried moving some of the pads around and that has helped.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by al from oak park from michigan on Monday, June 16, 2014
    this is a good helmet, fit and comfort. I always used a Bell and I find that the Bell straps seem to be stronger but otherwise, this helmet is light and comfortable and people around me say that it looks nice too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PA Outdoor from Pennsylvania on Monday, May 5, 2014
    So far the helmet has a nice appearance and comfortable (and adjustable) fit. Hasn't been hot enough to evaluate the coolmax pads, but they should be a help.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DC Cyclist from Washington, DC on Friday, April 25, 2014
    So, don't buy this helmet if you're worried about looking like an "intense" cyclist, or if the two little red marks it leaves on your forehead for 15 minutes after you take it off are a deal-breaker. But, I don't really care about either of those, and I love, love, love this helmet.

    1. Everyone's head is slightly different, but this fits mine really well. I don't get headaches or pressure spots or anything.
    2. I know there are lighter (and waaaay more expensive) helmets out there, but this is light enough (and well ventilated enough) that it has NEVER made me think "ugh. I wish I didn't have this helmet on right now." Besides, my gut is a much better place to try and lose some (kilo)grams -- not my helmet.
    3. Purely anecdotal, but I do have a soft spot in my heart for this helmet because my first one was damaged after an altercation with the business end of a Lincoln Towncar, but my head was fine. Obviously, this is nowhere near a decent methodology for determining the safety of a helmet, but it worked once for me, so I'll stick with it. :)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TrekUtah from Utah on Saturday, April 19, 2014
    My head measurements put me just at the top of the medium sized helmets. While this helmet in a medium size did fit, it was just barely big enough. The Bell helmet that I eventually went with fit me in a medium size with room to spare. My bigger concern with the Rune was the poor ventilation. I should have realized even looking at the pictures. Maybe this would work well for a winter helmet.
  • Reviewed by rainguy from Lake Oswego, OR on Monday, March 3, 2014
    I'm not sure why there are so many negative comments here about the fit, which most allege is way too small. I wear a size M in Laz, Giro, Catlike, Limar, others and I wear a size M in the Orbea Rune. It fits fine, the sizing is correct, all you need do is expand (or contract) the click-stop rear slider adjuster.
    As for the helmet, it's great. Besides proper fit, it has plenty of venting, and a sleek profile, very little of the "mushroom" or "alien brain" look of many helmets. Also comes with an extra set of pads. That you can score this helmet for around 40 bucks on a Deal Flyer makes for an incredible deal.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 39 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.