Orbita Sparta 1 Mini Watch Winder - Rotorwind

Overstock. The smallest -- and most silent! -- of the Rotorwind collection, Orbita's Sparta 1 mini watch winder is powered by a quiet AC motor and handsomely finished with a textured, faux-leather exterior.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Mark Twain from World Traveler on Tuesday, July 8, 2014
    The Sparta 1 Mini works flawlessly...it is easy to use (a no brainer) just remove the 'Cup' the watch cushion and then with your watch bracelet or strap in the closed position, squeeze the cushion flat side up and insert it into your bracelet or strap and center it on the cushion (doesn't have to be perfectly centered) then place it in the 'Cup' again and with the heavy side down (the metal rotor down which you can see on inside back of the 'Cup') and re-insert it into the winder. Turn on the rocker switch on the back of the unit and go relax...the winder does the rest. It cannot overwing your automatic watch. Be advised it does get warm inside the winder and this is normal (its an electric motor). Also note it runs continuously; meaning it does not have an 'ON' / 'OFF' state (not to be confused with an on/off switch). The motor rotates for approximately 180 degres then the 'torque shaft' aligns with the rotor drive and drives the rotor/cup for another 180 degrees until 'gravity takes over and the cup swings freely "Winding your Watch" until it runs out of inertia and then the process starts all over. I timed mine and it takes exactly 12 minutes for a full cycle, which is actually better for my watch since it requires approximately 650 TPD (turns per day). Keep in mind the free swing time varies with weight of your watch; a heavier watch will swing less time than a lighter watch so your TPD may vary. But on average it will be enough to keep your watch wound. Be sure you wind your watch fully before placing it on the winder the first time.
    The mechanics of this unit are high quality and meant to last years. Made in the U.S.A. buy one you will be glad you did!
  • Reviewed by alex from nyc on Monday, February 24, 2014
    This well regarded winder usually retails for about $250 and for $110 is a real steal.

  • Reviewed by Public Display Name from Southwest US on Monday, January 20, 2014
    Exactly as advertised. Works well.
  • Reviewed by Public Display Name from New Mexico on Monday, January 20, 2014
    I ordered two Orbita Sparta 1 Mini Watch Winders. One was defective on arrival, making a slight grinding noise as it operated, but Sierra Trading Post made the return and replacement simple. I now have two perfectly working winders. The finish could be nicer. Maybe real leather? However, for the price they are great and after nearly a month they keep my watches going perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Dan from Oregon on Tuesday, November 5, 2013
    I bought this winder about a year or so ago and it's been great. No problems whatsoever. It's a very well-made piece of equipment. I wouldn't say it's totally silent, but it's silent enough. Unless you're actively listening for a sound, you won't be aware of its operation.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Using WOLF DESIGNS from now on from Sterling, VA on Saturday, February 16, 2013
    The winder is advertised as portable and good for travel BUT the power adapter is only for countries with 110v power so how can this be good for travel? It should have STATED that it can only be used in countries with 110v. VERY MISLEADING.

    I emailed Orbita about this and asked if I can purchase an adopter that is compatible with 110v and 220v AND GOT NO REPLY.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from SF Bay Area on Thursday, January 31, 2013
    Having inherited a very nice self-winding watch, I learned the hard way that storing it away, inactive, for a prolonged period of time can result in a very expensive repair bill. Researching watch winders I found that Orbita is considered one of the two or three better quality brands. This model is fairly bare-bones (i.e., no elegant lacquered-wood box), but does the job quite well, and is quiet. At STP sale prices, I am expecting it will be a very good investment!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Buyer Beware from Australia on Tuesday, January 29, 2013
    You advertise product and convert prices to Australian Dollars
    You specify and charge for shipment to Australia
    You send product that is only usable in the US to Australia
    There is no warning in the product description on your website that the item is 110v only
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by spyteris from Mississippi on Wednesday, January 23, 2013
    As reflected in the pros/cons, this Orbita Sparta Mini offers good use of space and easy-to-use operation, but does not feel like a quality timepiece winder. Most notably, it is not completely silent in operation, as was advertised. It's possible I have a second defective unit (I sent the first one I ordered back), but I find it more likely that is just how this model operates.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.