Outdoor Research Alibi Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Alibi jacket is a soft shell that's fully equipped and ready for anything from hitting the slopes to hitting the trail. A combination of durable Cordura® nylon construction, Ventia waterproof breathable fabric and stretchy panels with hem-to-pit zips makes one dependable and versatile jacket.

Average Rating based on 35 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
  • Reviewed by tailwaters from s.w. Michigan on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    Out of the box the jacket is very pleasing to the eye. I purchased the green jacket and really like to green color scheme. Seems to be well made and has stretch fabric where needed. Pockets are well located and has what I would call an athletic slim fit. Which means not bulky and slim at the waist. I'm 5' 10" and 170 lbs with a 33" waist and the large was a perfect fit. Breath ability is suspect but time will tell. Arm length is a bit long and some type of adjustable cuff would have been nice. One thing a few others have noted was the arm pit area is a bit tight. If it were any tighter I would have returned the jacket. All in all very happy with the jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by baifu from OR on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    It is very good, have all I need, is the cuff if magic is better not to my satisfaction, delivery speed, transaction and delivery took 10 days, but the product itself is the best
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by chenngyanyong from Beijing China on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    This is a great soft shell,

    When I walk the feeling is very good,

    Have a sense of security.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by junghwan from korea on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    I like it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Former Flatlander from Colorado on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    The Outdoor Research Alibi is a great all-around mountain jacket. I take it on virtually every climb or ski outing from late August through early June. While it doesn't hold up to prolonged heavy rain, it's perfect for just about any other conditions. The windproof front panels stand up to even the strong winds on 14er summit ridges and the breathable back panels help keep me from overheating. I've used it in everything from climbing the Flatiron mountains around Boulder in the Fall (worn with just a merino shirt underneath) to a full winter ascent of Flattop Peak in Rocky Mountain National Park and have always been comfortable. I definitely recommend buying this jacket one size up if you plan on layering under it. I typically wear my Patagonia R1 fleece and a merino shirt under my Alibi and one size up makes the fit perfect. I've been using this jacket for almost two years now and it doesn't show any signs of wear. I just bought another to replace my old one that was too big (I've lost weight) and gave my old one to my brother, so it's still doing its job.

    I highly recommend this jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by binsun from OR on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    Made with high quality, both side; and I like the hand pocket place.
  • Reviewed by tim from Georgia on Wednesday, April 02, 2014
    I don't have anything to add to the other positive comments (as I agree with them all), other than that I am slightly under 6'2" and 190# and after trying on both the L and XL had to go with the XL in order to comfortably accommodate a light base-layer and light mid-layer.
  • Reviewed by BlueEyedDevil from Virginia on Monday, February 03, 2014
    I'm 5'10", 160 lbs, lean and fit, and the medium fits me perfectly. Snug enough to look good and not be billowy or klunky-looking, loose enough to wear a couple of baselayers underneath. I have the Pewter/Ember color combo, and it is quite attractive and bright enough to be seen. Okay, details time.

    The good stuff:

    HOODS--this jacket comes with two hoods; the obvious outer one that is fully waterproof (yay, Ventia) and a hidden zip-on/off lightweight inner one that fits snugly and tucks away unobtrusively into a snap neck-pocket. Clever and useful.

    POCKETS--a sizeable Napolean zip pocket with zipper "garage", 2 zip hand-pockets (of course), and a third, inside zip pocket located directly opposite the outside Napoliean pocket that has a nice elastic stretch-hole in it for a portable electronics earbud cord.

    VENTS--2 huge zip side-vents located just aft of the hand pockets that stretch from the bottom edge of the jacket up to the top of the hand pocket (NOT through the armpits). A snap at the bottom of each zip vent allows you to unsnap the jacket and unzip the vents to create a kind of poncho hybrid for maximum air flow while still retaining good coverage.

    ADJUSTMENT (SNUGGING) SHOCK CORDS--2 bottom edge snug-cords that snug the base of the jacket just below the waist area, each located just behind each side vent. 1 external-hood snug-cord that adjust hood circumferance around the mid-head area, located on the back of the hood. 2 front-side external-hood snug-cords that adjust the hood opening around the face.

    FIT--I dig the fit. It runs a little toward the narrow side, comparatively speaking, but is by no means tight-fitting, at least for me. I'd call it a perfect fit. The fact that the belly of the jacket isn't billowy means it's flattering to people who are in shape. Again, I welcome slimmer fitting togs.

    COLOR SCHEME--just look at the pics here on STP; it's a fine-looking pimp-skin.

    The less-good stuff (there is no bad stuff here):

    WATERPROOFNESS--the waterproof ventia fabric seems to be the most colorful part of the jacket (i.e., not the gray area), so its appears to be only on the sleeve fronts, the external hood, the shoulders, the upper chest area, and the butt area. The rest of the jacket is only water resistant. This has the obvious downside of not being completely waterproof under the worst deluges. However, it also makes the Alibi extremely breathable. Tradeoffs. I can say that I rode 12 miles to work today in a by-turns heavy and moderate downpour and don't seem to have gotten wet through any part of the jacket.

    WEIGHT--becauce in part of some additional features, this is not the lightest water-resistant jacket on the market. However, it is a bit thicker, so it offers more warmth than most, meaning you may not need as many baselayers beneath.

    SLEEVE ENDS--not adjustable. This means, in cold weather, you have to have gloves that are tight at the wrist and designed to go under the jacket sleeves. However, since the sleeves are not adjustable, it's hard to get them over the glove ends, even with the right gloves. Not really a biggie for me.
  • Reviewed by Scott the bike commuter from maine on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    I'm 6'2 and 225lbs I ordered Xl It was the right length but way to tight everywhere. It is on its way back. It looked like a great jacket. the double hood and other features are great. Also It is a thin softshell kinda hardshell-ish .
  • Reviewed by PNW Hiker from WA State on Thursday, December 12, 2013
    I'm happy with my purchase. This jacket is well made and quality material. The one down side is sizing. At 6'2" and 190# I prefer an XL so I can layer. I can usually swim in any XL (North Face, Mountain Hardwear, etc...). This jacket is very tight at the hips and the abdomen. It's a good value at the price I paid, but I guess I'll only be using it in warmer weather as layering will not be an option. Shoulders and sleeves fit fine.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 35 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.