Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Alibi Soft Shell Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Alibi jacket is a soft shell that's fully equipped and ready for anything from hitting the slopes to hitting the trail. A combination of durable Cordura® nylon construction, Ventia waterproof breathable fabric and stretchy panels with hem-to-pit zips makes one dependable and versatile jacket.

Average Rating based on 39 reviews 4.641025 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TMB from Indiana on Thursday, October 1, 2015
    Love everything Outdoor Research
  • Reviewed by tschol from New England on Sunday, April 26, 2015
    Bought this for skiing in New England knowing that on real cold or wet days, I'd revert back to a traditional shell. I tend not to get cold so worked really well for that purpose. Unless the forecast was really cold, I'd do fine with base, mid, and fleece vest. (It would also be great with a light weight down layer on cold days. Love the sleeves -- they are a bit long but very thin at the wrist so they fit really easily into the over cuffs of my gloves without bulky bunching up. Hood is big enough to go over a helmet with the only downside being that you have to unzip the front quite a bit to get the hood to open up and get over the helmet. The funky side zip vents are fine -- I'd probably prefer traditional pit zips but do like the freedom of movement of not having the pit zips rub/chafe with every movement.

    I'm a 6', 220. Usually a L/XL tweener. I ordered an XL and it gives the freedom to layer. Without layers, it's not as form fitting but not real baggy.
  • Reviewed by TOM THE HIKER from NEW JERSEY on Monday, December 1, 2014
    I purchased this for my son. When you order make sure you order one size up as they are running about a size smaller than expected. The product is very nice, with plenty of ventilation.
  • Reviewed by Ross from Ohio on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    I returned the product prior to wearing outdoors. The color and fabric were nice, as were the fit around the torso and chest. However, I could barely fit my arms into the holes and after doing so, the armpits rode all the way up and was uncomfortable. I bought an XXL because I have broad shoulders and lift weights. I've never had an XXL of any brand not fit because I'm more on the XL side of XXL.
  • Reviewed by tailwaters from s.w. Michigan on Thursday, September 18, 2014
    Out of the box the jacket is very pleasing to the eye. I purchased the green jacket and really like to green color scheme. Seems to be well made and has stretch fabric where needed. Pockets are well located and has what I would call an athletic slim fit. Which means not bulky and slim at the waist. I'm 5' 10" and 170 lbs with a 33" waist and the large was a perfect fit. Breath ability is suspect but time will tell. Arm length is a bit long and some type of adjustable cuff would have been nice. One thing a few others have noted was the arm pit area is a bit tight. If it were any tighter I would have returned the jacket. All in all very happy with the jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by baifu from OR on Sunday, July 20, 2014
    It is very good, have all I need, is the cuff if magic is better not to my satisfaction, delivery speed, transaction and delivery took 10 days, but the product itself is the best
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by chenngyanyong from Beijing China on Thursday, May 22, 2014
    This is a great soft shell,

    When I walk the feeling is very good,

    Have a sense of security.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by anu from korea on Saturday, May 17, 2014
    I like it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Keith from Colorado on Wednesday, May 14, 2014
    The Outdoor Research Alibi is a great all-around mountain jacket. I take it on virtually every climb or ski outing from late August through early June. While it doesn't hold up to prolonged heavy rain, it's perfect for just about any other conditions. The windproof front panels stand up to even the strong winds on 14er summit ridges and the breathable back panels help keep me from overheating. I've used it in everything from climbing the Flatiron mountains around Boulder in the Fall (worn with just a merino shirt underneath) to a full winter ascent of Flattop Peak in Rocky Mountain National Park and have always been comfortable. I definitely recommend buying this jacket one size up if you plan on layering under it. I typically wear my Patagonia R1 fleece and a merino shirt under my Alibi and one size up makes the fit perfect. I've been using this jacket for almost two years now and it doesn't show any signs of wear. I just bought another to replace my old one that was too big (I've lost weight) and gave my old one to my brother, so it's still doing its job.

    I highly recommend this jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by binsun from OR on Thursday, April 24, 2014
    Made with high quality, both side; and I like the hand pocket place.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4