Outdoor Research glow Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Women)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Aspenglow jacket shines on groomed runs, backcountry powder and everywhere in between. The waterproof breathable, durable and lightweight Pertex® Shield construction features warm Thermore® insulation, watertight zippers, two-way pit zips, a powder skirt and a RECCO® avalanche recovery reflector.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by racersailor from Rhode Island on Monday, March 23, 2015
    Two problems: the zippers were almost impossible to zip. Stiff and made of some material I couldn't identify. Secondly, there wasn't as much insulation as I would like. It felt like a glorified shell. Gorgeous material, well made, enough pockets (for a change in a woman's jacket). But I've been skiing in below zero temps and/or wind chills this year and I didn't think this jacket was going to cut it. I wear at least two layers under my current jacket and there have been days I've gone in for a vest. Sorry. I wanted to love this.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barb from Maryland on Friday, March 13, 2015
    The quality of this jacket seems good (with more insulation than I expected based on reviews), but it does run very big. Arms are very long (I have relatively long arms, and they came down to my fingertips), and in general sizing runs quite large. Will have to return it.
  • Reviewed by kandi from massachusetts on Wednesday, March 4, 2015
    to be fair i'm giving this 3 stars because i didn't actually wear the jacket, so as far as warmth and comfort i can't judge. i will say it was a little tight on me in the waist and i'm usually an xl with everything. and the arms were a little long for me (i'm average) but that's okay - i'd actually prefer that. i didn't keep the jacket though because i couldn't even get the zipper to work right just to try it on! it felt like it was getting stuck but there was nothing it was getting stuck on.. it just plain old wasn't working - so i never actually got to zip it up. i'm surprised because other reviews state obvious quality but this clearly wasn't in my case. maybe i got a defect, but in any case, it's being returned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor enthusiast from Colorado on Thursday, February 12, 2015
    Very pleased with this jacket for skiing. I've worn it for both very cold days (with base layers and a down jacket underneath) and also for warm days (with just a long sleeved base layer) and have been very comfortable. Very windproof. Be aware that this really is more an insulated shell than an insulated ski jacket and I'm happy with that as I can just adjust what I wear under it. True to size and allows for layers underneath without looking like a stuffed sausage. Good sized helmet compatibile hood. Great pockets. I like the texture to the material so it isn't just a plain flat black jacket. I would have preferred true wrist gaiters rather than the convertible thumb loop on the jacket but the thumb loop has worked pretty well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Virginia from Virginia on Monday, February 2, 2015
    This jacket fit perfectly and true to size. Great for snowboarding or skiing! I was able to wear my under and mid layers and still have ease of movement.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ADKer from Adirondack Mts, NY on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    Wonderful alpine ski jacket. It would be 5 stars, except for one design flaw - there is no inner cuff on the sleeves, and really no cuff on the outer jacket. You "close" the sleeve with a velcro tab. If you have a small wrist, like mine, that results in a gappy, sloppy sleeve. However, the rest of the jacket is GREAT! Note, this is not a heavy jacket, some insulation, but not a lot - which I like for alpine so I can adjust my layers to fit the day. It seems to breath well, has "pit zips", powder skirt is tidly stored if you don't want to use, and you can zip off the hood (can't do that with many jackets these days). It is long so provides good insulation when you are sitting on a cold ski lift. I am 5'5", 120 lbs. and small "on top" - the small fits great with room for the layers. The fabric has a little texture, so even the "boring practical black" has a little style!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsy Momma from Colorado on Thursday, January 1, 2015
    This jacket is great! I have been skiing in it for about a week now and love the fit and all the pockets. I normally wear a medium, but bought a small based on other reviews and it is perfect. I usually need a medium for arm length and shoulders but the small in this jacket has perfect arm length. (I can hold the sleeves and cinch them into my gloves and I have plenty of room in the shoulders unlike the Marmot jacket I tried in a medium that was too tight.) The only concern I have is that the bottom strip of velcro is starting to come unstitched after only a week. I'm hoping that if I am careful with it it will last and I might even try to repair it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yooper skier from Upper Peninsula of Michigan on Friday, December 12, 2014
    This jacket has more bells and whistles than any I've ever seen! The plum color is beautiful, and the fabric finish is very stylish. This is mostly a very well-made jacket, but I had to send it back for two reasons. First, the fit is very loose in the shoulders and arms compared to the torso. I am a pretty consistent size 10 for a top, and ordered a small based on other reviews. The jacket fit pretty snugly around my body, to the point that I wouldn't be able to wear a heavy layer underneath. The arms and shoulders, however, were quite loose, and I have rather broad shoulders. I felt that if I ordered a size up, the arms would be far too loose. Also, I wanted something with a decent amount of insulation, and this jacket has very little. I would describe it as more of a shell than an insulated jacket.
  • Reviewed by 3blackdogs from The Frozen Tundra on Monday, December 8, 2014
    I have to agree with a previous poster - the fit is just weird. Per prior recommendations, I ordered one size down and while that was fine through chest and waist, it was a bit snug through hips. Not too bad though. But what really was off were the sleeves - they were ridiculously long. Had I ordered in my normal size I would have to have my knuckles dragging on the ground for this jacket to fit. Generally I like the OR brand, but unfortunately, this is going back.
  • Reviewed by parrotmom from Michigan on Sunday, December 7, 2014
    Was looking for a winter parka for Michigan, which is a bit difficult online given the lack of temperature ratings. The description of "warm" insulation and a powder skirt made me think this might be a warmer-weight than it turned out to be. That said, it's an amazing jacket. It has so many thoughtful details and excellent quality that I decided to keep it anyway. I won't wear it at -20, but it's going to be a good addition to my closet. I'm 5'6", 135 lbs, 39-inch bust and hips, and I've got a medium. It's not overly-large, but a down sweater fits under it very well. It felt a little snug in the hips until I zipped the powder skirt out. There's actually plenty of room, so I think I was just feeling the elastic edge at the bottom of the skirt around my hips. The insulation is very thin, and it's in the upper body and sleeves only, but it definitely adds to the comfort. With the pit zips and being waterproof, I think this will be great for cross-country skiing and hiking/backpacking into the late fall. Could have definitely used this on a cold, rainy hike a couple of weeks ago!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #