Outdoor Research glow Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Women)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Aspenglow jacket shines on groomed runs, backcountry powder and everywhere in between. The waterproof breathable, durable and lightweight Pertex® Shield construction features warm Thermore® insulation, watertight zippers, two-way pit zips, a powder skirt and a RECCO® avalanche recovery reflector.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ADKer from Adirondack Mts, NY on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    Wonderful alpine ski jacket. It would be 5 stars, except for one design flaw - there is no inner cuff on the sleeves, and really no cuff on the outer jacket. You "close" the sleeve with a velcro tab. If you have a small wrist, like mine, that results in a gappy, sloppy sleeve. However, the rest of the jacket is GREAT! Note, this is not a heavy jacket, some insulation, but not a lot - which I like for alpine so I can adjust my layers to fit the day. It seems to breath well, has "pit zips", powder skirt is tidly stored if you don't want to use, and you can zip off the hood (can't do that with many jackets these days). It is long so provides good insulation when you are sitting on a cold ski lift. I am 5'5", 120 lbs. and small "on top" - the small fits great with room for the layers. The fabric has a little texture, so even the "boring practical black" has a little style!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoorsy Momma from Colorado on Thursday, January 1, 2015
    This jacket is great! I have been skiing in it for about a week now and love the fit and all the pockets. I normally wear a medium, but bought a small based on other reviews and it is perfect. I usually need a medium for arm length and shoulders but the small in this jacket has perfect arm length. (I can hold the sleeves and cinch them into my gloves and I have plenty of room in the shoulders unlike the Marmot jacket I tried in a medium that was too tight.) The only concern I have is that the bottom strip of velcro is starting to come unstitched after only a week. I'm hoping that if I am careful with it it will last and I might even try to repair it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Yooper skier from Upper Peninsula of Michigan on Friday, December 12, 2014
    This jacket has more bells and whistles than any I've ever seen! The plum color is beautiful, and the fabric finish is very stylish. This is mostly a very well-made jacket, but I had to send it back for two reasons. First, the fit is very loose in the shoulders and arms compared to the torso. I am a pretty consistent size 10 for a top, and ordered a small based on other reviews. The jacket fit pretty snugly around my body, to the point that I wouldn't be able to wear a heavy layer underneath. The arms and shoulders, however, were quite loose, and I have rather broad shoulders. I felt that if I ordered a size up, the arms would be far too loose. Also, I wanted something with a decent amount of insulation, and this jacket has very little. I would describe it as more of a shell than an insulated jacket.
  • Reviewed by 3blackdogs from The Frozen Tundra on Monday, December 8, 2014
    I have to agree with a previous poster - the fit is just weird. Per prior recommendations, I ordered one size down and while that was fine through chest and waist, it was a bit snug through hips. Not too bad though. But what really was off were the sleeves - they were ridiculously long. Had I ordered in my normal size I would have to have my knuckles dragging on the ground for this jacket to fit. Generally I like the OR brand, but unfortunately, this is going back.
  • Reviewed by parrotmom from Michigan on Sunday, December 7, 2014
    Was looking for a winter parka for Michigan, which is a bit difficult online given the lack of temperature ratings. The description of "warm" insulation and a powder skirt made me think this might be a warmer-weight than it turned out to be. That said, it's an amazing jacket. It has so many thoughtful details and excellent quality that I decided to keep it anyway. I won't wear it at -20, but it's going to be a good addition to my closet. I'm 5'6", 135 lbs, 39-inch bust and hips, and I've got a medium. It's not overly-large, but a down sweater fits under it very well. It felt a little snug in the hips until I zipped the powder skirt out. There's actually plenty of room, so I think I was just feeling the elastic edge at the bottom of the skirt around my hips. The insulation is very thin, and it's in the upper body and sleeves only, but it definitely adds to the comfort. With the pit zips and being waterproof, I think this will be great for cross-country skiing and hiking/backpacking into the late fall. Could have definitely used this on a cold, rainy hike a couple of weeks ago!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sportsmom2x2 from Wisconsin on Friday, December 5, 2014
    This is a nice looking jacket, but if would not have kept me warm during our cold Wisconsin Winter. It was more of a shell type jacket. It may be good for very active sports, but did not meet my needs. Returned it.
  • Reviewed by sportsmom2x2 from Wisconsin on Tuesday, November 25, 2014
    I was so excited for the arrival of this coat. I need something to keep me warm during our cold Wisconsin Winter. Unfortunately this jacket isn't it. It is well made and nice looking, but the insulation is so thin, it is like a shell. I would have to wear many layers to be comfortable this winter. I guess I should have read it more carefully--my idea of warm insulation as stated is some thing that would be adequate to keep me warm under 30 degrees F. Wish the coats would be rated for temperature like some of the other catalogs do.

    Shipping was very very quick. Thanks
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by traveling in November from Wisconsin on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    Since I am not an avid skier, this jacket was more than I needed, but I am very happy with it. Only wish I could have found the features of insulation, two-way zips, lightweight, excellent construction, and breathable in a lower priced and not ski-focused jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by EVM from Colorado on Monday, September 29, 2014
    I got a small based on the sizing chart (I am 5'5", 120 lbs,, athletic build) and it was way too big. I have very long arms and the jacket sleeves went almost past my fingers. The chest area was huge and looked like wings when I raised my arms to the side. The color, Zin, and overall construction of the jacket was great. If you have wider shoulders and are busty, this coat would be perfect for you.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker from Northwest from Washington on Sunday, August 17, 2014
    I'm Usually a medium, but I wear a small in this jacket and the fit is perfect for layering. This coat has a removable, helmet compatable hood, yet it has a cinch in the back so it will be ok when walking on a windy beach or Mountain top. It's soft ,quiet, breathable, has good pit-zips. It's waterproof, and long enough to cover most any shirt.I bought black and it has faint lines in it and looks great. It looks classy enough to go out to dinner in. If you were moving, and you could only bring one coat, then this would be your best choice.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.