Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Axcess Gore-Tex® Jacket - Waterproof, Insulated (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Axcess jacket excels in cold and wet conditions. Gore-Tex® waterproof breathable protection and targeted PrimaLoft ECO insulation keeps you warm and dry on long lift rides and during sidecountry excursions.

Average Rating based on 26 reviews 4.730769 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lu VUGKS from DELAWARE on Monday, December 15, 2014
    Really great, very beautiful clothes. In the cold winter wear this dress, I feel like spring. And STP service is very fast, a pleasant shopping experience.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Skier Evan from Kansas City, MO on Wednesday, November 26, 2014
    Overall quality was clear from the moment I tried this jacket on. The fit is perfect and the insulation seems to magically keep me at the right temperature no matter what the weather is doing, from chilly to downright nasty. The built-in balaclava and snow skirt at the waist are simply brilliant. I'm slightly concerned about the lack of elastic cuff-liners and the lack of mesh in the armpit vents, but I anticipate that the quality and ingenuity everywhere else will make me forget about these things completely. So glad I made this purchase!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nia from Houston on Wednesday, November 26, 2014
    I bought this as a gift for my husband who finally agreed to take me skiing in Colorado this year. It's a very nice looking and well made jacket with great features and at a great discounted price. The fabric has a subtle texture and is a little bit noisy but it's Goretex and that's expected. He is 6 ft., 170 lbs., with 32-34 waist and the medium fits him perfectly with room for a light down vest and medium weight wool base layer. I like that the hood and snow skirt are both detachable, so it can be worn at other times and not just for snow country skiing.
  • Reviewed by Colin from Oregon on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    Real Gore Tex and great quality materials and build = a fantastic winter ski jacket. Insulation is moderate in thickness but good for cold days. I'm comfortable from 20-35 with just a base layer, 5-15 with a thin mid-layer and -5-5 with a a medium warmth fleece mid layer. Below that and I have another jacket with a bit more insulation. Jacket features very well thought out long zips open the armpits up way beyond what normal jackets do. It is more like the pits unzip going up onto your chest so that when your arms are down you will still vent preventing overheating. Vents have zips at either end so you can selectively choose where you are venting and how much as the zip is about 18' long. Jacket includes a stoable face mask, interior zip pockets and a designated hole for headphones for those of you who don't want to be observant of your surroundings. Sleeves don't include a handliner but do allow the jacket's velcro closure to warp around one's thumb to hold the sleeve down. That is not my preferred way of doing it as the roughness of the material wears at your hand and is my only complaint about the jacket.

    Fit is very large, I'm 6' 180 with a athletic build and wide-ish shoulders 42" chest, 32' waist and the Medium gives plenty of space for layering and more than enough length in the sleeve. I think STP's sizing is actually off what OR shows on their site.

    Fair warning: the yellow is about as bright a yellow as you can possibly imagine. Only downfall is that grease and oil from chairlifts are apt to stain it (our local hill is notorious for dripping all over unsuspecting skiers).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The California Kid from California on Thursday, November 13, 2014
    Great quality, just the right amount of thermal insulation for all but blizzard from hell, cut is great to be slim but not interfere with high activity like steeps, well thought out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JM from West Linn, OR on Saturday, November 8, 2014
    This is a great jacket. It has lots of useful features and the quality of construction is excellent. I normally wear a medium but with this jacket, a small was a better fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mt goat from pennsylvania on Friday, October 24, 2014
    awesome jacket fits great not too long.tons of pockets and even has a hideaway ski mask if you need to rob a bank on your way to the slopes. Very happy with purchase
  • Reviewed by peacenhim38 from IN on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    Okay, I am an old guy of 52, don't hit slopes, climb mountains or hike.

    Instead, I deal daily with slippery slopes, mountains of paper and b/s and tell others when to take a hike.

    This jacket is a "wonderland" and not in the a-hole John Mayer kind of a way.

    It has pockets galore, and is lightly insulated, so you don't look like the Michelin Tire man walking down the street.

    The balaclava is the coupe de grace of the jacket and it zips out completely if needed.

    So, don't leave this awesome freaking jacket wasted on youth.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bwright138 from Seattle on Thursday, October 9, 2014
    I ended up returning the jacket--the fit was a bit too bulky for my liking. Quality was excellent per usual for Outdoor Research, good features and well-constructed. I'm 6'2" with monkey arms and the arm length was good at size large.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nkbnkb from Washington on Tuesday, July 22, 2014
    My husband was really pleased with quality of the jacket...has all the bells and whistles he was looking for, including a hood big enough to wear over his helmet.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 3