Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Axiom Gore-Tex® Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Featuring the streamlined performance of Gore-Tex® Active, Outdoor Research's Axiom jacket supplies exceptional breathability in addition to waterproof breathable protection for alpine climbs and other aerobic endeavors.

Average Rating based on 15 reviews 4.733333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Biker Nate from Massachusetts on Saturday, January 23, 2016
    Have only had this jacket for a couple weeks, but so far so good. Nice slim athletic fit (I'm a 5'8", 150lb gymnast and the small fits well even over a couple base layers). Haven't put it to serious water proof test yet, but does a great job blocking wind and cold (15F in Massachusetts biking at 25mph). Hood fits great over a bike helmet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by James Skis and Climbs from New Jersey on Tuesday, December 8, 2015
    I bought the Axiom because it was available in men's size XS at a great price, and the jacket delivered far more than I was expecting. The fit, weight, construction, features, and style are all impeccable. I liked it so much I tried to order another a couple days later, but STP didn't have the XS anymore.
    For those of you looking for a soft shell on the softer side - Calling it a soft shell is a bit of a stretch (pun intended), as it's almost indistinguishable from a light hard shell.
    I haven't worn the jacket in a serious downpour, but I have no doubt in its waterproofness, as it is Gore-Tex and fully seam sealed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OutdoorEric from California on Thursday, September 10, 2015
    As far as fit, I am 5'-11", 175 lbs and have long arms. Body of the jacket fits nice, a good amount of room for layers, but not bagging. Probably due to the athletic fit. Sleeves have a little room, but not bad. Haven't used it in the rain yet. Can't attest to its waterproof'ness. Front main zipper is a little tough to zip up, but may need to be just worn in.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Josh from North Carolina on Monday, July 20, 2015
    I am very happy with the quality of this jacket. Lightweight, waterproof, breathable, packable. I'm 5'10" 132lbs and the small fits perfect. My only complaint about the jacket is the hood is quite large. But, it is designed to fit over a helmet, so I understand the size, just bigger hood than I need since I won't be wearing this with a helmet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris from Illinois on Monday, May 4, 2015
    This is a great jacket in every way. Well made, great looking. Runs small.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by LK the Peak bagger from Seattle on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    This is a great light jacket that can be used all year around. The pockets are mess so you can open the pockets to allow some extra ventilation. The Gore-Tex membrane keeps you dry and the breathability helps maintain core comfort. Now I sweat a lot and even in just a t-shirt I'll be sweating so the jacket can't perform miracles but it does take longer to built up heat and moister inside than many other jackets that I've worn. The fabric is nice and soft so you don't have that nylon rubbing sound when swing your arms. Although being a "soft-shell" jacket means that the DWR (water repellency) isn't as great as a hard-shell. That doesn't stop it from keeping you dry through but it does slow-down the breathability. I have worn this jacket while hiking for 5-7 hours in the rain and it does a great job.
    I do occasionally test clothing for Gore-Tex (although I am not employed by them), however I purchased this jacket myself and I would highly recommend it.
  • Reviewed by LK the Peak bagger from Seattle on Monday, January 26, 2015
    Up front I have to say that I occasionally test Gore-Tex clothing for Gore and I'm part of their group of MtnTechs. However I purchased this jacket myself and I'm glad that I did. The texture of this jacket is very nice and soft. It is very water-proof. I've had the jacket for over 6 months now and have worn it numerous times in the rain. It is very light and packable. I have a tendency to over-heat in and sweat in anything (even a sleeveless shirt). In fact just last weekend (mid-January in the Pacific Northwest) we had a warm rainy day (45 degrees) and I wore this jacket for a 9 mile round trip hike (3500 ft elevation) and this jacket kept me comfortable. True on the way up I was sweating and had the jacket unzipped but on the way down it stayed zipped most of the time. As it is a soft-shell I do find that the outer fabric will wet-out after a while (faster than a true hard-shell). Maybe it's time for me to apply some DWR but first I'll wash it and put it in the dryer to see what I can reactivate. Although it has no pit-zips, the pockets are mesh and can be used for a little ventilation. The chest pocket is a nice size and can hold my android phone with no problem.
  • Reviewed by Zhengping from Los Angeles on Sunday, January 25, 2015
    The rain jacket is built with gore tex active shell, totally waterproof and very good breathablity, but the fit is weird. I am 5'6'' ,138lbs with athletic build, I order Small size, the sleeve is too long and baggy, but the length and girth is very small, so it fit very tight. I decide to return it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sandy Smith from Colorado on Friday, January 2, 2015
    When I wear it ,I found it very light and fit well of Size s (I am 5'9),It is also very comfortable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sean from Seattle on Wednesday, July 2, 2014
    This jacket is amazing. Hands down. It's perfect for layering and hiking on cooler, damper days. It is completely waterproof and the hood design keeps your entire face and head under cover with ease!
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2