Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Camber Jacket - Windstopper® Soft Shell (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Camber jacket heads into the backcountry, fully prepared with a wind- and weather-resistant Windstopper® soft shell and insulating grid fleece backing.

Average Rating based on 10 reviews 4.400000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Missoula Dad from Missoula, MT on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    Can't say a ton about it because I haven't had it that long, but I really like the simple and conservative styling of OR products. This is a really cool jacket. It has great functionality without a lot of costly extras. So far it's been great for wearing around town in cool spring weather with some rain. It's become my go to jacket after just a few times out.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Steve J from Pittsburgh, PA on Monday, March 5, 2012
    Just wanted to add a bit as I see there have been some sizing issues. I just got mine in men's L and it fits quite similarly to every other large jacket I've owned. I'm 6'4" 175 and as expected, its a bit too baggy but the perfect sleeve length and torso length. The looseness will work well for layering. I obviously can't comment on the performance, but the construction is superb, as with any OR product, and I can imagine the Windstopper will perform similarly to any other Windstopper jacket. The price is right for Windstopper and OR quality.

    One small note - the pockets are lined only with mesh. This will work well for me as I will use the jacket cycling and they will be good vents, but may be something to consider if you'll want to use them as handwarmer pockets on cold days.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pete from Sydney, Australia on Tuesday, September 13, 2011
    Jacket fits well and has a light fleece lining. It is lighter than I thought so I wouldn't rely on it alone if it was cold but it certainly blocks the wind quite well. I think it would be sufficient to keep you warm enough on a cool/windy day though. The main zipper seems to be a bit bigger than usual which is good - it makes for easier operation. The side pockets are aren't particulary wide but they are quite tall - they go up the chest. The chest pocket has an internal slot up the top to feed headphones through which is great.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by M from Walsall, UK on Saturday, September 10, 2011
    I trust the product ( OR ) and have been looking for this product
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by None from Anchorage Alaska on Wednesday, September 7, 2011
    Had to cut and hem the sleeves.
    • Best Uses: Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Try2bquiet from S.E. TN on Monday, February 21, 2011
    The quality of construction of this OR Windstopper jacket was very good. However, there was too much noise made by the outer shell fabric as I moved about and was not what I expect from a "soft shell" jacket. I have returned the jacket and will find another Windstopper--this time in fleece outer fabric.
    • Best Uses: Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Lightweight
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by bishopsRobes from CDA, ID on Friday, January 14, 2011
    Quality of this jacket seems very good, but it fits TINY! I am 6'3" and 175lbs. I wear Large in Marmot and Patagonia and they fit great. This OR Camber jacket fit like it was a kid's large. I actually re-checked the size to make sure that it wasn't.

    Sleeves are way too short (like 5"), as was length, and chest was very tight (says it's 43", felt like 39"). This fit was even smaller than Mountain Hardwear's Large items.

    Jacket is also much lighter than envisioned based on reviews. The fleece backing mentioned in the description is nearly invisible.

    Overall looks like quality construction, and the color was great, but definitely order a size up if you are at all between sizes.
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saved from St Paul, MN on Wednesday, December 22, 2010
    I am 6'2" 210 lbs, 36" sleeve. XL fits perfect. You can layer one light peice e.g. down seater. It has the technical specs for the backcountry but the style to wear around town.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking and Camping
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Leofwine from Brookline, MA on Thursday, December 2, 2010
    My other softshell was getting old and hammered so I needed another one. Of course STP was the first place I looked and I found this gem. I was wary because I couldn't find any independent reviews but decided to take the chance (I could always return it). I live in windy Boston and need this for work along with hiking and walking my dog. When the jacket arrived it was windy and raining - perfect test to see if I made the right choice. I'm 6'2" (not skinny either) with long arms - always a concern. This jacket (XL) fit me perfectly. It's slightly heavier than my Arc'teryx and definitely made for climbers - good stretch and perfect length in the torso. The pockets are a bit shallow but big enough for my uses (hands, gloves, eye glasses, dog treats/bags) so no problem there. The zipper goes up a long ways so it protects your face pretty well. I don't like using an umbrella so combined with a hat it's great.When I wore it outside the wind was completely blocked. No rain got inside and when I got in the house it was dry in the minute it took me to take it off.I think this was designed like most OR products - more for extreme conditions than for the "hey look at me, I'm wearing an expensive jacket" wear. The photo is accurate too - what you see is what it is. Great jacket.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, City Walking, Cold Weather, dog walking, Hiking and Camping, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Lightweight, Warm, Water Resistant, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sfortune from New Jersey on Monday, November 29, 2010
    Comfortable, windproof with light fleece lining.
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by: