Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Centrifuge Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Centrifuge jacket is the ideal outer layer for alpine climbs or long runs in cold conditions. The front fabric is wind-resistant, hard-faced fleece, and the back, underarms and face panel are comprised of highly breathable Radiant LT fleece.

Average Rating based on 12 reviews 4.333333 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Washington Upland Hunter from Washington on Friday, November 11, 2016
    As advertised.
  • Reviewed by Fall Weather Fan from Western MA on Friday, August 5, 2016
    Seems like typically high-quality OR product, but the fit is questionable. First of all it's easily 2" longer than described, so it doesn't hit just below the waist like the model's but further down the thigh, meaning it sticks out if you want to wear this as a midlayer. And it's designed to be form-fitting so hard to wear it over too many other layers.

    The hood is quite snug but unusual in that the zipper goes up at an angle. Not something you couldn't get used but weird. Also it's not clear from the pictures but the accent color is basically the entire (breathable) back panel. You might not care but I found the overall aesthetic peculiar.
  • Reviewed by Davey Crockett from Tennessee, California on Tuesday, July 12, 2016
    First, I loved the materials and quality and general design of this jacket. Some very well-thought out features included the close-fitting hood, great quality zippers and general trim/ alpine fit. Thumb holes, yay! And have no doubts about the Centrifuge Jacket's ability to keep me warm, and with a breathable fabric that regulates moisture in both active and stationary modes. Super well-made, I can see this jacket lasting through the rigors. Not thrilled with the offset zipper, or a full length zipper in general. Would have preferred this jacket as a pullover with neck zip only in order to be more versatile—doubling as outer- or mid-layer.

    That said, I had issues with the fit. I'm 5'7" at about 163 lbs. The Medium (M) fit my shoulders and torso just the way I would like them breadth-wise. Close hugging, but just enough room for a light-medium merino base layer. The alpine fit meant I could also add more layers over the Centrifuge, too. The lengths, however, seemed tailored more for someone about 5 inches taller @ around 6'. Both torso and arms (sleeves) were about 3-4 inches too long for me. My guess is this is the perfect jacket for someone with very slender build, between 5'10" to 6'2" tall, and weighing between 160-170lbs.

    I have several other Outdoor Research products that fit great in a Medium (M). This one just didn't. So with a tearful eye, must return this otherwise awesome jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Will from New York on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    I originally got this layer as a substitute for the patagonia R1 hoodie. This layer easily outperforms its patagonia competition. The wind resistance is awesome and this thing will shed light rain very well. I've biked with a backpack and it kept my back completely dry. Hood fits like a glove too.

    Can't comment on durability yet, but this thing is far warmer than I expected!
  • Reviewed by Orion72 from South Sound, WA on Tuesday, July 16, 2013
    Using this mostly for ski touring, and it really hits the spot for moderate weather protection, comfort and fit. Appreciate the breatheable side and back panels when packing up. Trim fit and smooth material work nice under a shell when the real rain/snow hits. Agree that a drawcord on the hem and slightly larger zipper pulls would be nice. Snug hood works well under a helmet.
  • Reviewed by Ianb from Colorado & Montana on Sunday, June 30, 2013
    I've only worn this jacket a few times and it's exactly what I was looking for - a warm layer for alpine climbs and AT skiing in cold conditions. The breathable back is the best for staying dry with a pack on. The fit is perfect for me, I'm 5'10", 170 lb and have kinda long arms and the medium is just right. Trim fit but still god with a couple light layers underneath. Nice flexibility with arm movements too.
  • Reviewed by K from C Town on Saturday, June 15, 2013
    Windproof front. Breathable back. Thumbholes. Attractive design. Great for cold weather sports. Only thing I would possibly add is a waistcord; even though the waist fit is just fine it would be nice to be able to fine tune. Thanks OUtdoor Products, and Sierra Trading Post for an awesome jacket at a good price.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ken from JAPAN on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    good
  • Reviewed by Walk and ski from Ketchum, ID on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    Fits fairly tight Over a base layer. Which is great for its purpose. Reminds me of Swixs Nordic pants. Being wind proof on the front and breathable on the back. I wore this jacket backcountry skiing today (temp around 25*) and I was able to hike and ski solely in this jacket without adding or dropping layers. I did heat up a little on the ups but the breathable back disapated the heat before I got even the smallest chill.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by D from Utah on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    Great all round soft shell hybrid. This is made for high octane pursuits with the highly breathable back and sides. This is perfect when wearing a backpack preventing the sweaty back while providing wind protection in front. This is a very light layer and is good for mild temps or as stated, aerobic activities. It has a nice athletic fit so it can be layered too. The material and build seems to be good quality. The fit is accurate. The arms are a little long but they are supposed to be that way because it includes a thumb loop for wearing in gloves or a little extra hand protection. I don't love the hood and offset zipper - it fits a little awkwardly at my neck and face. Overall, a good jacket for what I was looking for - a multi-purpose, good looking, light to mid weight softshell for nordic, hiking, and around town use.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2