Outdoor Research Chaos Parka - Windstopper® (For Women)

Closeouts. Stave off the cold gusts all day — or just from the house to the car — in this Outdoor Research Chaos parka. It's insulated with lightweight water-resistant PrimaLoft® and has a warm, weather-resistant Gore Windstopper® shell.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
  • Reviewed by Disappointed from Michigan on Sunday, May 12, 2013
    I really liked the fit and length of this parka and wore it as my winter coat in Michigan. I was happy until I found that the seems on the lower sleeve were coming apart. I can't wear this coat anymore. I am very disappointed. I think I just happened to receive a lemon. :(
  • Reviewed by Long Rider from Pennsylvania on Monday, April 29, 2013
    I like this jacket so far. I've been wearing it a couple of weeks. It fits me well (5'8", 120#, 36" hips, wearing a size small). I'm a horseback rider and appreciate the long length of the coat when riding, as well as the velcro cuffs and zip pockets. The hood is generously sized and stays up. It is hard to tell the color on screen - it really is a kind of rusty reddish purplish, not exactly "pomegranate" to me, but I do love the color in person.
    It rolls up pretty small - I tie it behind my saddle when it gets too warm to wear it. It seems water-resistant but I haven't worn it in a good soaking rain yet, just showers.
    Overall I'd recommend it as a good, lightweight, stylish, warm, windstopping & water-resistant jacket for fall/winter/spring.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SALLY from BARRE, MA on Friday, October 26, 2012
    BASED ON SOME OF THE REVIEWS, I WAS PLEASED AND SURPRISED WITH THE NICE STYLE AND FIT OF THIS JACKET. I THINK THE COLOR IS INTERESTING..NOT DULL OR GARISH. IT IS VERY LIGHTWEIGHT. MY FIRST USAGE WAS SITTING AT A PUBLIC MEDITATION IN A DRIZZLE. I AM VERY HAPPY WITH THIS PRODUCT. THANKS.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joan or Arc from Seattle, Washington on Thursday, December 01, 2011
    Color is nice, coat seems warm, but the fit is really off in the hips.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by UNHAPPY PARKA BUYER from CHARLOTTE, NC on Sunday, November 27, 2011
    I LOVED THIS PARKA BUT IT WAS REALLY NARROW AT THE HIPS. I ALWAYS WEAR A MEDIUM, NEVER A LARGE BUT WOULD HAVE NEEDED A LRG FOR THIS PARKA. I TRIED IT ON W/A THIN SHIRT AND THAT IS ABOUT ALL I COULD HAVE WARM WITH IT....NO HEAVY SHIRT OR SWEATSHIRT. I NEEDED IT FOR MY OUTDOOR PART TIME JOB. I HAD TO RETURN IT.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Cons: Narrow at the hips, Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels too small
    • Pros: Comfortable, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary L from Ixonia, wi on Sunday, November 27, 2011
    Good fit; adjustable waist makes the fit look better. Really lightweight - seems warm; I'll know for sure in January!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Very lightweight, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Mag from Monterey, CA on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
    I wear this darn thing almost every day, horseback riding, camping, shopping, wherever. I grab this first. The length is hard to find and really adds value. It's lightweight but warm and cuts the wind. I like the reddish color I have, haven't seen the others. Only complaint is zipper quality, I had trouble with the main zipper jammed tight and was in dialog with maker about sending it back (they have a lifetime guarantee on products), but miraculously the zipper one day simply worked--seriously, I love this jacket so much I prayed about help with my zipper, since Outdoor Research doesn't make this model anymore, and, well, God heard me. While the zipper was broken, I STILL wore the jacket, open. The pull tab on the left hand-pocket zipper has broken off as well. Only other criticism, could be slightly more relaxed in the hip. Buy this jacket.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Cycling, Hiking, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Alaskan in PA from Central PA on Sunday, October 23, 2011
    Wish I had this when I lived in Alaska. This jacket is darn near perfect. I'm certain there's something wrong with it, I just haven't found it yet. To have something that is insulated and long yet fitted is really a design accomplishment. It's flattering and movement is unrestricted. No cold drafts up the back or down the neck, great pockets and plenty of places for custom fit adjustment. OR is really on top of their game. Can't wait for snow.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Dog walking, Hiking
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jo the bicycle commuter from West Sacramento, California on Saturday, October 22, 2011
    two-way zipper is great for bicycle riding and hood really does fit over a helmet. The storage compartments are never-ending. I'm so happy I came upon this jacket. Also, it covers entire torso and is nice and warm.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Cycling, Hiking, Running
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Athlete
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Just Me from San Jose, CA on Wednesday, April 13, 2011
    This well-designed jacket has everything that I have been searching for; a lightweight, breathable, longer-length jacket with a hood attached WITHOUT looking like the dough boy! This coat has adjustments everywhere so you have to work them to get it to fit well. There are adjustments in the hood size, the waist fit, the bottom hem (cinches), and the sleeves. Without these, I would look like a potato-chip bag, but after them I'm very happy. The hood is well designed so that you still have peripheral vision, and you can still hear! I didn't know this made a difference until I wore other coats with hoods which,due to the rubbing noise and the coverage, made it really uncomfortable to carry on a conversation. Know what I mean? This coat also breathes well. No overheating here, but just as toasty as more bulky coats. The only two things I would wish for are: less crinkly material (or will this soften a bit with time?)and better placement of the handwarmer pockets. The pockets are perfectly reachable, but if I don't zip them back up after use, they bulge out a little. If they were placed a little higher,or at a different angle, they wouldn't hit the bend of the hips. Great product.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather, Hiking, Wet Weather
    • Describe Yourself: Gym Rat
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Dries Quickly, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.