Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Durable Stuff Sack - 20L

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's durable stuff sack is made of burly, waterproof, Hydroseal®-coated Antron nylon, with a simple drawcord closure and large dust flap.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 4.500000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Elevated One from Utah on Sunday, June 15, 2014
    This OR Durable, like the OR Lightweight stuff sacks (I have several sizes), is well designed. The cinch cord is well positioned and secure, the daisy-chain is useful, the color contrast aids visibility in lower light situations, and this more robust version is good for use outside your pack, such as for tying down sleeping gear or bulkier clothing you need to keep dry. Good bear-bag too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by T from IN on Thursday, May 29, 2014
    durable waterproof and light , and loops to tie it off love em
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Last Minute from Tennessee on Tuesday, April 22, 2014
    I used a previous generation of this OR Sack for a Thru-hike of the AT in 2003. It survived the 2000+ mile trek and I kept on using it until I completely wore it out 10 years later.

    *It is the right volume (20L) for a multi-day hike (I can get 5-6 days of food for one).

    *Waterproof and durable.

    *Strap on the bottom so bear - bagging it upside down (to keep water out) is ideal.

    *Daisy chain is hard to find these days but it comes in handy if you every have to haul some extra gear and need to strap it to the outside of your pack.

    *Use a rope/belt/strap to cinch the daisy chain to your waistband and use it for a day-pack.

    *Flap, drawstring and loop at the opening help you really close it up pretty tight. (Of course the contents will get wet if it submerges for any amount of time but the design is good at mitigating the damage).

    I really love this design and wonder why it is so hard to find. Not quite sure why REI and other distributors don't carry this style. I admit most of my stuff sacks in my pack are lighter, but it is good to have one that is this versatile.
  • Reviewed by morningcoffee from virginia on Wednesday, April 16, 2014
    This is my first "Durable Stuff Sack". I expected it to be heavier (glad it's not) since OR makes the "ultralight" sacks too. Great little bag.
  • Reviewed by Randall P. Rutherford from Michigan on Friday, March 21, 2014
    Does what it's supposed to, keeps things dry.
  • Reviewed by june from nc on Tuesday, January 21, 2014
    This bag is extremely well built and covered by OR's awesome warranty if ever damaged.
  • Reviewed by Rusty Shackleford from Northeast on Wednesday, October 23, 2013
    I'd been using an older version of this bag for years as my "camp kitchen" bag. After all those years of being lugged around and hung from trees, it needed replacement.

    The new bag is great, but the updated drawstring method seems silly. They've enclosed the cordlock behind a tab rather than just leaving it "out there" like in the old version. It's not a huge inconvenience, but it does make it a little more difficult to get it all the way open b/c you have to pull a tab at the other end of the top rather than just grab wherever.

    I'd give it 4 stars if not for this feature - but I'd still recommend the bag: it's sturdy, waterproof and well made.
  • Reviewed by dc from oh on Tuesday, August 27, 2013
    Great product, no complaints
  • Sort by: