Outdoor Research Enigma Gore-Tex® Performance Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. The Outdoor Research Enigma jacket combines the versatile performance of a waterproof breathable Gore-Tex® Performance Shell with Gore-Tex® Pro Shell reinforcements at the shoulders and sleeves.

Average Rating based on 28 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
  • Reviewed by Quickbeam from Wisconsin on Tuesday, May 26, 2015
    I love the lilac color of this jacket; it is truly lovely. I got it in a Large. I am 5'8", 155, a true 12. I have a very large bust which I was fearful would be an issue. No worries there, this jacket is downright baggy in the chest, shoulders and arms. The hip and waist are very tight on me. I'd not be able to wear unless I unzipped the sides. This is a very unusual fit problem got me. I love the integral hood, the pit zips and the overall usefulness of the features. I am debating keeping this because of the tight to constricted fit in the hip. Probably best for straight figures with narrow hips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Thayer the country kid in the city from Brooklyn on Thursday, March 05, 2015
    This jacket is a bit tight around the neck if you like wearing big scarves. I wish it was a bit longer too so my rear end is covered when it is raining. And I wish the pockets were bigger so I could fit my wallet in the inside zip pocket. Big inside mesh pockets for sun glasses or wallets would be terrific. But I think those are my only complaints so far.
    I did use it today, while it was snowing and the hood cranked down well and the long vents worked great with my back pack belted down. When I started to get sweaty I simply unzipped the pit/side zips from the bottom up and cooled down nicely. The whole reason I bought this jacket was for those special "poncho" pit zips and I was super impressed with how well they worked (once I managed to unzip them with the waterproof zippers being stiff and all water-proofish). The maroon color is a nice natural color compared with all the bright jackets out there.
    Overall I think this will be a good jacket. I do love Outdoor Research!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by michigan woman from michigan on Wednesday, February 04, 2015
    The jacket is very nice. I purchased sapphire and the color is beautiful. I had to go up a size compared to what I normally wear as i is a straight cut and not a curvy fit. Still a great jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor Girl from VT on Sunday, January 04, 2015
    I bought this jacket for work. I usually wear a heavy wool layer under it. I ordered a size small and it fits great. I like the fact that it is waterproof and its great for the elements. I would order another color if they were available in my size.
  • Reviewed by runner chick from Portland OR on Monday, December 08, 2014
    I let this sit in my closet for 2 weeks while I decided, and finally sent it back. It was so close to being right!

    Nice quality fabric - on the heavy side, but seems like it would last . I'm 5'5" 125, and small fit well. Fitted in the hips and voluminous in the shoulders and sleeves - seemed almost too big in the arms at first, but I'm sure that shoulder room helps with mobility in active pursuits. The fitted hips and waist might feel restrictive with a thermal mid layer, so I couldn't use it for skiing in cold temps. I'd like it to be a bit longer too, but the length is okay.
    Ultimately I sent it back because the zipper sticks and is very hard to use. That would drive me crazy over time. Blue color is fine - not really "sapphire", but more of a straight up plain blue.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jude from Ontario, Canada on Friday, October 03, 2014
    I've had Gore-tex jackets before, but many did not have pit zips, hoods that accommodate helmets, interior pockets or the roominess that the Enigma features. . This jacket has it all! I like all the features plus the fact that you can layer it over a heavy fleece. Other jackets are too tight in the arms, wrists and trunk, but the Enigma is very roomy. Might I also add that there are two vertical zippers at the back that run to you he bottom of the jacket. I am guessing it's to help fit over a bicycle seat or portable chair or sitting in the bleachers watching a football game.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mangrove molly from Florida on Thursday, October 02, 2014
    Very nice jacket. Double lined Gore tex so just a bit heavier than I had hoped for (use in Florida) but excellent rain gear nonetheless. Very fitted...medium fits like a tailored jacket on my frame (5'2" #125 36" bust )...Would have needed to size up for heavier clothes beneath.
  • Reviewed by Sierrashopper123 from California on Monday, September 08, 2014
    What I love:

    1. All Gortex
    2. Two-way zipper in the front - This is a must!
    3. Two way big zippers under arms, to the full length of the jacket.
    4. Two big zip pockets in the front.
    5. Two big zip pockets inside.
    6. I love zippers and Outdoor Research quality!!!

    What I don't like:

    1. The blue jacket, which is called sapphire, is an outdated color from the 1950's. It is just a generic,
    unisex blue jacket. I like more sophisticated colors.

    2. Dislike the waterproof zippers. They are very difficult to operate...don't slide easy.

    3. Really wish the jacket had some front snaps or velcro so that you can close it temporarily when the zips are not up.

    5. Would prefer a detachable hood or one that you can easily tuck away.


    End result - decided to return the jacket.



  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Huckleberry from Portland OR on Tuesday, June 24, 2014
    I stayed away from Gore-Tex for a number of years, wearing instead the various less expensive, sometimes lighter "water-proof, breathable" products. Eventually they failed me for various reasons, so I'm back to the gold standard. Have yet to test this jacket out but hey, its Gore-Tex. The design and quality are top-notch. I'm 5'5", 140 pounds and the medium fits fine on my pear shape.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lara from wisconsin on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    Style didn't look good on me. Shoulders/arms were too poofy and sleeves too long (I have long arms).
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 28 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #