Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Essence Shirt - Zip Neck, Long Sleeve (For Women)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research took the comfort and ease of a zip neck shirt and gave it a powerful punch o' performance to make the Essence. Made with Dri-Release® moisture-wicking fibers and non-restricting raglan sleeves, it's the perfect stand-alone or layering piece.

Average Rating based on 20 reviews 4.100000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gimpy from PA on Saturday, January 2, 2016
    Nice style. Good quality fabric and craftmanship.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Happy Camper from NoCal on Sunday, December 6, 2015
    I buy these every time a new color is released and I also have 3 of them in black. Super light weight. Perfect underlayer on chilly days or stand alone for warmer days. Combo of poly and wool is not scratchy or itchy. Great to wear under scrubs when you need an insulating layer that isn't bulky. Sleeves stay up when pushed up over elbows. So far all the ones I've purchased have been true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fran from Massacusetts on Saturday, November 29, 2014
    This is a nice 1/4 neck zip. Nice fit and good quality.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hiker girl from Sacramento CA on Tuesday, April 15, 2014
    I ordered a large and love it. It's a bit snug but great as a warm base layer. I also appreciate the length of the sleeves. I am 5'8" and 170 lbs. I have a narrow back and larger breasts. I normally wear a large to extra large shirt size. It is bit shear as a stand alone so a tank underneath for the modest is recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CSE from Grand County on Saturday, April 5, 2014
    This top is extremely light, but warm and breathable. It has a nice weight, hangs well, and is very comfortable. I can't believe how warm it is considering how thin it is. I teach kids skiing and it became my favorite under-layer. It will be a nice layer for summer in the mountains as well.
  • Reviewed by CSE from Grand County on Saturday, March 22, 2014
    I love this top. It is really light and incredibly warm. I normally would not wear wool as a base layer, but this top isn't scratchy at all. I have the top in blue and in black - perfect.
  • Reviewed by ara from Central PA on Thursday, February 6, 2014
    This is the second I have ordered! I love the feel and weight. It is cut a little bigger than some underlayers, but it isn't so big that I get cold. I love it - label says to hand wash/delicate and hang dry, but I accidentally washed it in the regular load and dried it in the dryer . . . it survived. Just ordered another for my daughter!
    Great shirt!
  • Reviewed by ara from central PA on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    I love this shirt! It is smooth and easy to layer, sturdy but not bulky fabric. An excellent layer and casual on its own. I ordered another because I like it so much!
  • Reviewed by FlyGirl from New Hampshire on Friday, January 17, 2014
    Great looking shirt, but I was surprised to see how thin (almost see through) it was. I was hoping to use it as a base layer for skiing, but I'll definitely need another wool shirt under. The price was good, but personally, I'd prefer to pay more for a more quality product like SmartWool & IceBreaker. Those brands never fail...and they last.
    Sorry OR :(
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hiker goddess from boise id on Monday, November 5, 2012
    good as a base layer in spring and fall. not a lot of insulation for the weight. nice enought looking to wear as casual
    • Pros: Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2