Outdoor Research Exos Hat (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. It's all about functionality with Outdoor Research's Exos hat. This highly versatile cap features durable double-weave, stretch fabric, flip-up ear flaps for extra protection and a foldable brim for easy storage.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dihedral from Seattle on Monday, April 07, 2014
    This hat is made of a tight-woven thick material which makes it great for keeping the head warm in cold breezy weather. It could be used at some temperatures where a lighter cap would not be warm enough. As such, this hat is not a good choice for warmer temperatures where a hat is needed for sun protection but a lack of breathability would cause over-heating. I liked the built-in crease in the middle of the brim. I could fold the hat in half and stuff it into an outer pocket on my pack without mangling the brim.

    I wish the hat had a velcro strap in back for adjusting size. The hat is supposed to stretch to fit different sizes but the stretchiness is not enough. Sometimes it is nice to be able to wear a hat over a balaclava or in calm conditions to wear a hat loose for some ventilation. Also, I like to close the velcro strap around the retainer for my sunglasses to serve as a keeper in case a gust blows the hat off my head.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cyclety68 from Cincinnati on Monday, April 07, 2014
    I wore this hat this past weekend and I definitely give it a thumbs up. This is a great hat for the cooler weather for sure. I will say this, it's too soon to give it 5 stars but I will give it 4 stars at this point. The material is great - it has a slight rain shedding soft shell feel to it. The flip down ear flaps are nice to have and really shield the wind from your ears.
  • Reviewed by R from Adirondacks on Wednesday, March 19, 2014
    My head is size 7 1/8 and the L/XL is very snug on my head. It will be too small if your head is larger than 7 1/4. The S/M fits my 8 year old daughter. Decent product as with all OR stuff though. The cap is a little tall by today's standards - shape is high profile - closer to trucker cap than say, golf cap.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Armchair Caver from Indianapolis, IN on Tuesday, September 18, 2012
    The hat has a comfortable fit and casual style. With the convertible ear flaps it should provide adequate protection from wind and mild cold.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Travel
    • Cons: Not Adjustable
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Stylish
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by givemoretakeless from davidson, nc on Monday, April 30, 2012
    very useful hat - perhaps more for inclement weather. comfortable fit. cap style is a little military looking, a bit fidel castro-ish. i would have preferred a longer bill. fold-out flaps provide great ear protection
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Cons: Bill is too short
    • Describe Yourself: Outdoors oriented
    • Pros: Comfortable, Durable, Good protection
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jen from Key West, FL on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    I gave this hat to my husband because he goes through hats like crazy. He sails for a living but he does not like a hat that ties under his neck. His hair is long so he didn't really need the flaps. They look a little silly but with them folded up the hat was too small. He cut the flaps out and now it looks great and fits great
    • Best Uses: sailing
    • Cons: Flaps look bad
    • Pros: Fits Well, Good material
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sven from mn on Tuesday, March 13, 2012
    I bought it and skied the Birkibeiner trail in snow and it kept the flakes off my glasses. The flaps kept my ears warm in the high 20s temp. and it breathed/wicked decently. Not sure if it's waterproof in rain. Size large fits my large head comfortably. My wife thinks it looks OK, unlike some baseball type caps.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bibliophile from South Bend IN on Friday, March 02, 2012
    This is a high quality brand.
    • Best Uses: Around town
    • Pros: Can fold up hat
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-8 of 8 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.