Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Frostline Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. The Outdoor Research Frostline jacket is lined with high-loft fleece for excellent warmth, and features a Pertex® Endurance shell that seals out wind and moisture while maintaining its breathability.

Average Rating based on 8 reviews 4.375000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • Reviewed by Vinney47 from SLC, Ut on Monday, December 17, 2012
    This jacket is like having super soft shag carpet from the 70's keeping you warm. Hand pockets are also lined with the stuff. It's like having a MH monkey man with a windproof outer that's easy to layer over. This jacket is the envy of all who see it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MTtrailrunner from MT on Sunday, December 2, 2012
    I like this jacket the more i wear it. I was a bit indifferent about it at first, mostly because I didn't know exactly what I'd use it for. It's not quite warm enough for the bitterest of cold and it doesn't have a hood, yet it's a bit too heavy to be a real technical or layering piece for packing away on athletic pursuits. But it is very soft and comfortable, the pertex outer material does a great job of shedding wind and water, and the pockets are well placed, well sized, and seem to run well. The shag fleece interior is embarrassingly soft, and while not exactly an athletic fit, it's not too poofy either. Arms aren't crazy long like a lot of pieces, which is good as I have very average length arms and build for someone my size. I'm 5'11 185 and got the large and I have plenty of room for layers. I'd need a medium if I had a notion to use this jacket under something else, but it seems a bit too bulky for that anyway. I'm often between a M and L in outerwear. It's a bit longer in torso length which is kind of nice for casual use in colder weather..just that inch or two extra length helps with drafts. Personally I like the elastic cuffs and lack of velcro. Nit picks..I'm not really big on hem cynch cords..they seem more of a bother and something my hands uncomfortably rub over far more than I actually need to cinch the hem. I also wish it zipped up just a bit higher on the chin for warmth or, even better, had a hood. Some might like that it doesn't really zip up very high, but I find the higher collars a nice warmth saver in windy conditions. All in all, a good all around jacket, with nice details like fuzzy hand pockets and well placed stash pocket inside. I haven't done any real aerobic activities in it to see how well it truly breathes...it claims breathability, so I'm curious how all that posh fleece and such will perform. But, that'd just be a bonus, as this doesn't seem the kind of jacket you'd be using for high output activity.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by russell from Laurel Highlands on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    The OR Frosty jacket is a outerwear piece with fleece laminated under a pertex shell. The fleece is thick. The jacket is snuggly and warm. The collar is tall and snug. Pockets and sleeves are warm and ample, not roomy. It is not an athletic cut. Straight up/down. Waist length cut, but ample. Rec'd. A 4 because I would like more room to stuff gloves and hat into pockets. Otherwise a going out in winter type of jacket. I'm 6' 3" 200 lb. Chest 42. Took an xl.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dylan from Charlotte, NC on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    I wear this jacket everyday and it keeps me warm and comfortable
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Wet Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nevermorebrown from Chicago, IL on Sunday, October 7, 2012
    Nice casual coat! Stylish enough to wear out, but serious enough to keep the cold off you. Furry interior and pockets are nice touch. This coat will be getting some playing time this winter.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Cold Weather
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Fit: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Comfortable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Windproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ben from chicago, il on Wednesday, June 27, 2012
    I got this jacket to be a mid-layer underneath a shell, and I'm really impressed with it. Simple, solid design. A bit bulkier than I expected, but still fits under my shell, & the smooth pertex outer fabric means that the layers glide well against one another. I'm 5'6", 138lbs, & 36" chest, & the small fits well--no loose material but able to wear a thick base layer underneath if needed. It's also more versatile than expected. The fleece interior is plush, warm, & comfortable while the pertex endurance outer layer is a bonus compared to other fleece jackets as it provides some degree of water repellence, great protection against the wind, & a nicer aesthetic (I'm personally not a huge fan of the shaggy fleece look). This jacket could stand alone on a dry to mildly damp winter day or be a great mid-layer piece to add warmth on a serious adventure. However, if you're looking for something light-weight & compact (along the lines of a Patagonia R1 or R2), you will likely find this piece to be a bit to heavy & bulky.
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chumley from Savage, MN on Tuesday, June 5, 2012
    This jacket may be more usefull than a lot of the soft shell jackets in nasty weather for a a lower price. The fleece insulation is thicker than any soft shell I've seen yet. I haven't had an oportunity to test in winter conditions, so I'll have to wait for bad weather.
    • Best Uses: Going out in wet and cold
    • Pros: Lightweight shell, Thick fleece unsulation
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by a from a on Thursday, March 29, 2012
    This is a very nice jacket, well made with some great features. Inner fleece is lofty and soft. a bit thicker than I was expecting looking at the photos. This fleece is also included inside the handwarmer pockets on the back of your hands.
    Exterior chest pocket and another inside on the opposite side both have soft brushed fabric.
    Sleeve length is 'fashionable' which is to say, not long for reaching above your head, but just right for around the city.
    The only drawback is the fabric has a slight crinkle to it.
  • Sort by: