Outdoor Research Gaiters - Gore-Tex® Crocodile (For Men)

Closeouts. Meet the ultimate: Outdoor Research gaiters with Gore-Tex® waterproof, breathable technology. Durable Taslan® Gore-Tex® leg section keeps wetness outside while allowing skin moisture to escape.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Reviewed by CBGBsOutdoors from RI on Thursday, March 20, 2014
    I just got to try these last week in the NH snow. Light weight, completely water-proof. I couldn't be happier and the price rocks! I don't yet know how durable they will be, but OR has a lifetime warranty, so I am not concerned.
  • Reviewed by brad from TC Michigan on Friday, December 20, 2013
    Nice fit, quality
  • Reviewed by Mountain Goat from Pacific Northwest on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    I've used Crocs for many over 15 years now and for all around use they are the best available. I use mine probably 30-40 times per year in all conditions and my feet will stay dry when wading for short distances through stream to all day post+-holing in snow. The trick to using Crocs, however, is to make sure they fit very tight around the boot. This means that you want to error on getting a smaller size than what might be recommended. I use a medium on a size 10.5 boot. The other thing you need to do is to tighten the strap each time you put them on and in heavy rain or when crashing through wet brush the pants need to be on the outside of the gaiter to keep water from getting into your boot. The only complaint I have is that they are not very breathable so that by the end of the day my feet are often wet from sweat. Going to a lighter weight, more breathable gaiter is not practical, however, since they are not as waterproof or as durable.
  • Reviewed by Mountain Goat from Pacific Northwest on Wednesday, December 18, 2013
    I've used Crocs for many years now and for all around use they are the best available. I use mine probably 30-40 times per year in all conditions. My feet will stay dry when wading for short distances through stream to all day post+-holing in snow. The trick to using crocs, however, is to make sure they fit very tight around the boot. This means that you want to error on getting a smaller size than what might be recommended. I use a medium on a size 10.5 boot. The other thing you need to do is to tighten the strap each time you put them on. The other thing is that in heavy rain or when crashing through heavy wet brush, pants need to be on the outside of the gaiter so that water doesn't funnel down inside the gaiter. The only complaint I have is that they are not very breathable so that by the end of the day my feet are often wet from sweat. Going to a lighter weight, more breathable gaiter is not practical, however, since they are not as waterproof or as durable.
  • Reviewed by gm0n from Missouri on Monday, December 16, 2013
    I've been looking for a replacement for a thirty year old pair of North Face Goretex gaiters for the past couple of years (yes I managed to not stab my ankles with my crampons for thirty years). Consequently, I started noticing what gaiters people were using. I was amazed, everywhere I traveled, where people had a genuine use for gaiters, 100% of them were using Outdoor Research and the vast majority of them were Crocodiles. Several hundred North American alpine nuts couldn't be wrong, so I finally broke down and bought a pair. They were right! They're easy on and off, seal great on a variety of boots, front closure, instep strap (no cord), all in all a great gaiter. Now, if I can only go thirty years without harpooning this pair ...
  • Reviewed by Tracy from Michigan on Monday, December 16, 2013
    I bought these for my husband who wears them when he snowshoes. They fit well and are high enough to cover most of his calves so he stays dry.
  • Reviewed by Andy from Japan on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    The world needs no introduction to this pair of gaiters from OR.
    Definitely one of the best around.
  • Reviewed by A guy and a backpack from New York on Monday, December 2, 2013
    These gators were purchased so I can use them in the Adirondacks on winter hikes. They perform very well. Kept my legs dry and protected from the mountain. They also add a layer of warmth protection as the wind and air cannot enter through the pant leg.
  • Reviewed by Mtn man from Washington on Wednesday, November 20, 2013
    Last time out before I purchased these I came back with mud on my jeans that did not come out after 3 washings. Ran the same trail with these last weekend and the jeans came home clean. And, the mud that would not come out of the Jeans washed right out of these. literally rinsed off. And they protected my new boots pretty well too. Certainly a great deal on STP. I got the OR Vergales for my wife as they did not have these in her size…. But the mud rinsed out of those real easy too. I highly recommend either.
  • Reviewed by Marilyn from Sedona on Sunday, November 10, 2013
    The gaitors worked fine for light misting rain, or a light gentle rain. But when we were caught in a downpour for 4-5 hrs at a time, they did not keep my waterproof shoes dry.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.