Outdoor Research Halo Sombrero Hat - Waterproof (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Your rain gear isn't complete until you add a waterproof breathable, wide-brim hat like Outdoor Research's Halo Sombrero hat to protect you from the downpour.

Average Rating based on 23 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Daria from az on Sunday, July 5, 2015
    I didn't test it so I'm not certain it's waterproof (only reason I deducted a star). I must have been out of my mind when I ordered it. I was really looking for a sun hat and this is much too thick, too heat retaining for that purpose. It's well made and I suspect it would be perfect for it's intended purpose.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Coco from NM on Thursday, July 2, 2015
    Comfortable, strap helps hat stay on in windy conditions. Kept head dry during mist on fishing trip. Very good product and easily cleaned.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rainbrero lovin this weather from Denver on Friday, May 15, 2015
    I was familiar with an older model... brim is not quite as wide- but still functionable. Love the magnetic piece to shape the brim if you want it looking more the shape of a cowboy hat- sides up.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hortnut from rainy Oregon on Sunday, March 29, 2015
    Comfortable, waterproof, stays on in the wind. What more could one ask of a rain hat? Well, how about stylish too? Got lots of compliments the first day I wore it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Janet from Florida on Wednesday, March 18, 2015
    Nice looking and works well.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pumpkins from CA on Monday, March 2, 2015
    I haven't had a chance to wear this in the rain yet, but it seems to be just what I was looking for. It's adjustable, and the brim is big enough to keep the rain off my glasses and back neck when my hands are too full for an umbrella.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sarah from seattle on Thursday, February 12, 2015
    A shallow crown, so it sits higher on the head than I care for. Now I know why a friend of mine's hat like this sits so oddly on their head! May suit many just fine, just not me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sparklepup from Pittsburgh on Tuesday, February 3, 2015
    The brim of his hat makes a lot of noise when touched. Would be too noisy for me in the wind, or brushing against a tree branch or a pack. It seems to be a problem of the brim lining. I have other OR hats and love them: good adjustable sizing, some waterproof, some with good chin straps, all nice colors and well made. This XL fit true to size on my 7 5/8 head. I agree with other reviewer, that a waterproof hat with a brim as large as this would be flapping in the wind which usually accompanies rain. If the brim flaps, it squeaks. If I hold it in place, it squeaks.

    I will look at STP for another OR hat with smaller brim (which I have but want another color).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rainy day hiker from central USA on Thursday, October 16, 2014
    Only used once so far, but it did work very well. Construction quality seems to be very good. I expect it to last a long time. XL is true to size. Like every other OR product I've used, I can recommend it without reservations.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Barbara B from Oregon on Sunday, October 12, 2014
    Great fit, looks good, packable.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 23 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #