Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Incandescent Down Hooded Jacket - 800+ Fill Power (For Women)

Closeouts. With its DWR-treated Pertex® Quantum ripstop shell and 800 fill power goose down insulation, Outdoor Research's Incandescent hooded jacket offers featherweight warmth and outstanding durability for cold conditions in the high alpine.

Average Rating based on 14 reviews 4.142857 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Elena from Seattle on Friday, May 22, 2015
    This jacket was really great for the price. I don't know of another $139 retail $350 800 fill power alpine down jacket for women. It feels kind of cheap though and isn't as warm as I was hoping. It was an excellent buy if you can't afford a warmer nicer one.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Satoricat from Washington on Thursday, March 19, 2015
    I have not had a chance to use this on a trip yet but will say that I absolutely Love the fit, the packability is awesome, and the sleeves are long enough and than some for the first time ever on a down jacket. I was worried about some reviews I had read complaining that the look of the jacket was an appearance of being wet-perhaps with the other color options this is true but not with the black.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Libby from Aspen, CO on Monday, March 2, 2015
    This is a very functional and fashionable layering or outerwear piece. Extremely light and packable. Will keep me warm on my safari this summer! Is true to size, maybe a little roomy as compared to some out there. Plenty of room to layer under and move. The lacquer finish is rare in this type of piece, lending a high fashion touch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cold Feet Warm Heart from Alaska on Sunday, March 1, 2015
    This is my favorite coziest jacket! I love to wear it on the plane :) Also on outdoor excursions for hiking in snow, backcountry skiing, ice climbing and general AK adventuring. Highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amanda abroad from Texas on Tuesday, February 10, 2015
    I wanted a coat to stuff for backpacking and I thought this one was just a little too bulky but a great quality!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from Teton Valley on Thursday, February 5, 2015
    Warm and light, the dark purple color is beautiful. I have been getting lots of compliments. Very high quality materials and workmanship, the zipper is especially nice. The slightly see thru nature of the fabric is actually a sign of the top of the line outdoor gear, at least in the circles I move in. Just so you know, there is no hood adjustment, and i wish it had large inside pockets. I wear s or m, bought m to layer, and it fits perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by justmeinME from in ME (Maine) on Sunday, September 21, 2014
    Wanted something mightier than my light 'down sweater' but, I wasn't crazy about the blotchy looking visible down (it looked like I got half rained on) or the hot-candy color when I was expecting more like cranberry, but the fabric making a soft but continual crumpling crinkling sound would be pretty annoying to me. That said, I liked how the hood fit, I liked the sleeve length (plenty) and body length but the body was too big and I'm afraid if I sized down the arms would be too small. The age-old dilemma of the lanky. But if it had been different fabric, softer and more opaque (or at least a darker color), I would have kept it. A great jacket in many ways.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Antarctician from Australia on Monday, September 15, 2014
    Great, but you can't tighten the hood around your face (may blow off in enough wind) and you can see the down through the outer layer fabric - I am not wearing it for fashion so I don't care, but if you were... well it doesn't look great.
  • Reviewed by KeepingWarm from Oregon on Friday, August 29, 2014
    I liked a lot of things about this jacket, although the sleeves on the Medium were way too long, but the real problem was the jacket's fabric. Not only is it very, very thin, it is so see-through that it creates a very odd appearance. It's a bit like seeing an x-ray, but of down showing through fabric instead of bones showing through skin. Really weird and very unattractive.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CiCi from Maryland on Tuesday, April 29, 2014
    Purchased this for my high school senior daughter who is gearing up to climb Mt Elbrus (18,500') in Russia this summer. Weight and warmth are top variables and this jacket is a 5 star in both. Fit is essential too. It is long enough that it will keep torso covered even if reaching above head during ice climbing. Not too tight for mid weight thermal layer underneath and not too bulky for Gortex she'll over it. Perfect for layering. Medium fit her great (5'8 and 135 lbs). Only negative is aesthetics given down is visible through the jacket. No big deal to her. She wore it hiking the APpalachian trail where nights were in the 30s and she was toasty. Hood is another great feature.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2