Outdoor Research Inertia Gore-Tex® Pro Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Inertia jacket delivers top-tier performance in a packable design for serious powder hunters. The Gore-Tex® Pro Shell delivers has a zip-off hood and welded, water-resistant zippers for outstanding protection and breathability in severe weather.

Average Rating based on 34 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by idaho Bob from Boise, Idaho on Monday, April 6, 2015
    It's April, so I don't get to use the jacket until next winter. Since I do a lot of resort, side-country and back country skiing, I know a quality jacket build when I see one. Outdoor Research has a solid reputation and a life-time warranty is fantastic. My price-point goal was under $300 and a bought it for $260. I will retire my current goretex jacket I bought in 1998 from Sierra Trading Post for $140, about $9 a year.
  • Reviewed by ousuxndallas from Texas on Friday, February 13, 2015
    I am 5'10", 195 lbs, and ordered the Medium - it fits perfect. As others have stated, this jacket runs a bit large so size down. The zippers are very stiff to use out of the box, but should loosen over time. Love the pit zips and their location. Finally, this jacket is very light which is preferable in a shell. I wore this jacket in spring like conditions in Colorado (35-40 degrees and sunny) with just a base layer underneath and it was great (100% wind proof while doing Mach 2 down groomers). Wore it with a mid layer fleece vest and it was also great - if I got a little hot, I used the pit zips to vent. I highly recommend this jacket, and look forward to putting it to a true test in snowy, powder conditions.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by jg_cool from Germantown, WI on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    There really isn't anything about this coat I don't like except maybe the zips for venting are a bit hard to work. Lots of pockets, roomy fit which I like. Features are second to none and Gore-tex Pro is a plus as I release a lot of water vapor (sweat).
  • Reviewed by jg_cool from Germantown, WI on Friday, January 16, 2015
    One last thing I forgot, I love where the vent zips are on this coat: up high and accessible versus in hard to reach pit areas. They vent better too being high up.
  • Reviewed by jg_cool from Germantown, WI on Friday, January 16, 2015
    This coat is just what I was looking for, after many attempts with other coats at local stores. Great, great features for a wonderful price. And I can't tell you how nice and helpful the STP staff is to work with and have a nice chat. This coat has great selection of pockets for hands, vest and inside the coat. One vest pocket is accessible from inside and out (not sure why though as one way is good enough for me). I have the red version as black wasn't available when I bought, but this particular red is just fine. Gortex Pro is great to have as I wanted max breathability. I am 5'11', 225 and the XL fits as I would want it. I first thought it was going to be a bit snug around the middle (most coats are outright tight) but once zipped, with two layers it was great. I would change a thing about this coat at all. Very happy.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gear horder from 2 hours to the mountains on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    My definition of a great piece of gear is not ever noticing the piece of gear when using it. If I don't notice the pieceof gear it is doing what I need it to do.

    When I first held this jacket I thought the construction looked great. When I tried on the XL sized jacket I loved the very roomy fit. I am 6 feet tall and weigh about 230. I wear a 46 long suit coat. This jacket gave me all the room I needed to move freely without constriction. That said, understand this coat runs big, probably a full size big. Given the fit of the extra large I could probably wear a large comfortably - something I have not done since 10th grade.

    I am sending this coat back for 2 reasons. The coat is noisy. Every movement is accompanied by a rather loud chronicle sound common to certain shells. This shell happens to be the loudest I have tried on in years.

    The sound would take a little getting used to but was not a fatal flaw for me. The tightness of the zippers convinced me to return this shell. The waterproof zippers look great and form a great seal. But they are tight and difficult to open and close. I felt I had to pull the zipper pull to hard to open and close the pockets and often found I needed to hold the material around the zipper with one hand to be able to pull the zipper open or closed with the other hand. Perhaps the zippers would loosen up with use. I they do loosen up I would strongly recommend this shell. If they dont loosen up they would be a PIA in my opinion.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mammoth Mike from mammoth lakes on Tuesday, December 9, 2014
    This is a functional light weight jacket. It has no insulation and the gortex fabric is stiff not supple and wringles easily. I had it out on a storm day and it is wind and water proof.
    The collar and pockets are functional and the pit zips coming around the front are a great idea. The hood easily fits a helmet and zips off as well as does the powder skirt.
    The back is longer than the front for more rear protection.
    They are sized very large. I am 6'1" 185lbs and broad in the shoulders, always wear an xl and a large fit just fine.
    Best uses are for back country skiing where you need a lightweight packable coat.
  • Reviewed by Matthias from Layton, UT on Friday, November 7, 2014
    Pros: Great quality based on 3L Gore Tex material, vents in the front above the chest should work v (likely to be more efficient than am pit vents), very functional shell

    Cons: None that I know of yet

    Neither pro nor con: Many reviewers mentioned the more baggy fit, which is probably true for a skinnier version of me. I'm 5-11 and 215 lbs. and the shell fits well but loose with plenty of space to layer for the cold winter days. Length of the sleeves is perfect. Not sure if a buyer who usually wears L should go for M as the sleeves might not be long enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Monte from Virginia on Tuesday, October 28, 2014
    I ordered mutliple ski jackets to compare, and this one was barely beat out by my new Marmot Cerro Torre jacket. A truly hard decision. This jacket is great, has a ton of great ski specific features. The left breast pocket has a zipper inside that allows you to get inside of the jacket without having to unzip, have never seen that feature before. Powder skirt with loops to connect to your pants. And the best feature is the pit zips actually come up on to the chest of the jacket, very easy to operate. The decision to go with the other jacket was based on the fit, this was a little boxy by comparison. However, compared to the four other jackets, this one wins hands down were it not for that. Great jacket!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DD from Durango on Monday, October 20, 2014
    This coat has more features than I had realized when I ordered it. Sharp looking. Lots of pockets and high quality through and through.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 4 »
  • 1-10 of 34 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #