Outdoor Research Intuition Jacket - Waterproof Shell (For Women)

Closeouts. It doesn't take a sixth sense to know that Outdoor Research's Intuition jacket is the ultimate in waterproof breathable shell jackets, designed with taped seams, water-resistant zippers and extra-long pit vents to keep you cool.

Average Rating based on 53 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 53 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by N Cal Outdoor Gal from Santa Rosa, CA on Monday, December 3, 2012
    This is a great jacket, very functional, sturdy, waterproof, good fit. It's got no feminine features at all, so hard to be excited to wear it, but love the waterproof shell. It will be great for all outdoor wet/snowy weather activities, skiing, Search and Rescue Team, etc. Excellent technical jacket, excellent hood, too!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Women can climb too from Auckland, New Zealand on Monday, July 23, 2012
    Bought this shell after having my softshell and hardshell stolen and needing a replacement for the winter alpine season. Found this two-for-one product, and it is great for cold-weather ascents. Blocks wind and rain exceptionally, and is a warm enough layer that you need fewer base layers underneath. Wouldn't be great in warm weather because it is so well insulated, but is perfect in wet, windy, and cold conditions. Plenty of room for a helmet, but cinches well without a helmet. Much more feminine fit than other shells I have had as well, very pleased with cut and look. Just because I run around the hills with the boys doesn't mean I have to look like one!
    • Best Uses: Outdoor Activities
    • Pros: Comfortable, Good Cut, Versatile, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cai from china on Monday, October 17, 2011
    just so so
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wet in WA from Yelm WA on Tuesday, October 11, 2011
    high quality. well made and comfortable. Front waterproof zipper is a little stiff, will probably get better with use. Highly recommend!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by stacynight from Oregon on Sunday, May 8, 2011
    I bought this to replace a 5+ year old Outdoor Research softshell that I have used and abused. My old one did not even has 10% of the features of this one and I am very pleased with the quality and fit and the great hood. As far as I am concerned it is true to size. Excellent product and waterprrofing. This has kept me warm and dry in a wide range of weather conditions and is very durable as well!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Hiking, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by amazon from NJ on Sunday, February 13, 2011
    Lots of great features for a great price, but fit trumps all. Large was snug for 38B chest, really loose around waist, but too tight around my unusually large shoulders, so I opted to pay $150 more for the Arcteryx Venta SV. Bottom line: great deal for backcountry divas with a more feminine physique who want a softshell with good snowshedding and ventilation capabilities.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Bulky, Constricts Movement, Shoulders were too tight, Slightly heavy
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Waterproof front zipper, Waterproof pit zips
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wonderful Wisconsin Winters from Wisconsin on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
    This is my favorite jacket right now. The jacket does run small, so size up. I am a fairly curvy person with hips and did not run into the problem others had with this being too tight after I sized up.

    My intent with this jacket is to fit a down sweater underneath for an insulating layer during the winter, my main reason to size up. With the insulating layer on it fits great, not too snug anywhere and my curves show through (not a plump round ball). The jacket is not too large without the down sweater either.

    This past week I have had an opportunity to test this jacket in a massive blizzard that just came through (one of the strongest we have seen in over 10 years). The jacket was water and wind proof. I stayed warm with proper insulation underneath. The hood performed beyond my expectations. Strong gusting wind stayed out.

    I went back and forth between a hardshell jacket and a softshell, and I am so glad I went with this waterproof/windproof softshell. The slight stretch does not make me feel confined (especially in the arms and shoulders) like other jackets I had tried.

    The hood is amazing. When you get it situated right, you can look to the left and right and it will move with you. The zip off powder skirt is a plus. Pit zips are nice and long; they zip open from both ends.

    This is a streamlined jacket. There is a small pocket on the chest, two small hand warming pockets, and a small pocket on the inside of the jacket with an outlet for headphones.

    I am tempted to purchase a second jacket just because I know this is a closeout product by Outdoor Research and it won't be available anymore once it's gone.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Anytime
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Fall Sports, Spring Sports, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Amazing Hood, Breathable, Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by ski mom from Colorado on Monday, December 6, 2010
    I have been searching forever for the perfect ski jacket. My husband has an Arc'Teryx Stingray that he was lucky enough to find on sale, but I was not so lucky and not willing to shell out that kind of cash...we both agree that my OR jacket is better. I recently skied on a subzero day. With a down sweater layered under this jacket, I was toasty. I demand a lot from my gear, and this jacket meets every single criteria. I am 5'9", size 12, and ordered an XL in this jacket. I have very long arms, & the sleeves are long enough with a little to spare. the hips are narrow, but in an XL it's not a problem. Even though there is no insulation, this jacket is a furnace. I wore it skate skiing with just a base layer and power stretch vest on a 20 degree day and I was way too hot, so i think it's best for downhill skiing and not highly aerobic activities. The hood deserves special mention.....I have had 3 other jackets that claimed to have "helmet compatible" hoods, and this is the only one that really works. You can actually ski with the hood up and you don't even know it's there....that is until you get too hot and need to take it off. This jacket is a winner. I am seriously considering buying another one to tuck away for when this one wears out (if ever).
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: On The Mountain
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fiddlemom from Glenwood Springs, CO on Saturday, November 27, 2010
    I get lots of compliments from all ages. The color purple was not my first choice, but it is rich and fairly uncommon. The pockets are not as deep as on a very technical shell, but there are plenty of them in all the right places. Fit is trim, and it stretches just a bit so I'm always comfortable--even with my OR synthetic down jacket underneath.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Snowshoeing, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Well built quality, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Northwest Mama from Portland, OR on Sunday, October 31, 2010
    I really, really wanted this jacket to fit! I thought it was the perfect combo of high-tech performance and style, and I had hoped it could be my everyday jacket for cold, rainy days in the Northwest. I even ordered a small and a medium to make sure one would fit. Well, neither fit. I'm 5'4", 135 lbs, and somewhat busty. The small was too tight in the hips and the chest, but fit well in the shoulders. The medium was looser in the hips and chest, but bulged unattractively at the shoulders and was too sloppy in the arms. I'm totally bummed...this would be a great jacket, but it seems the cut makes it so you have to be just right in sizing. For the value and the quality of the jacket, I really hoped it would work, but not for me.
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Anytime
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 6 »
  • 1-10 of 53 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #