Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Mithril Soft Shell Jacket (For Women)

Closeouts. When you're walking through a cold rain on the trail or moving through snowy mountain terrain, the waterproof breathable soft shell fabric of Outdoor Research's Mithril jacket provides comfortable wet weather protection.

Average Rating based on 38 reviews 4.236842 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Reviewed by tambli from Bend, OR on Sunday, April 24, 2016
    I bought this jacket for x-country skiing and cold, rainy hiking in the PNW. The jacket works well in these conditions and breathes pretty well. The fit did not end up working very well for me. I'm tall and slender (5'7" 130 lbs) so buying jackets can be a little rough. I bought a small and it fits my mid section and hips well but is a little short in the length and arms. It also has an excessive amount of material in the upper arms. Overall it's a good jacket just not the best fit/design for me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by alpinemtngoat from alpine utah on Wednesday, February 17, 2016
    the jacket material looks well enough, did not try it on as picture showed nice muted pink & it came a flaming hunter orange, sending back
  • Reviewed by alpinemtngoat from alpine utah on Sunday, February 7, 2016
    I own an OR Mithril & love it, beautiful blue - even matches my DPS skis & poles. I have had it many years & it is showing wear so I was excited for this beautiful color shown on STP. I was so disappointed that the color was so off, a bright neon orange that would be perfect for hunting season but nothing like this pretty soft pink shown in the picture. I am disappointed to get such a contrast in color from the picture. It is going back. Plz STP, do better with your pictures to reflect the true color. I do ? STP.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gardener from Arkansas on Saturday, February 6, 2016
    The jacket was well made , but the color was unbearable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cg- dogwalker from petaluma/bear valley on Wednesday, February 3, 2016
    I just got this jacket, but got caught in rain showers in deep snow. This jacket kept me totally dry; I was pulling a sled and did not overheat; and it was roomy enough for my 2 layers underneath. I think this is a keeper! I ordered a med. and am 5'8'' 150lbs. It was fairly roomy; it is not very fitted?; but the sleeves can cinch down and the length was good. I ordered the "red" which is much more orange, but I do like a visible color. Awesome jacket- no pit zips- but perhaps breathable enough.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ashley K. from Maryland on Tuesday, September 22, 2015
    I needed a waterproof, windproof, breathable jacket for late November travel to Europe, where I could layer easily and not look or feel like the Marshmallow Man. I'm very happy with this jacket, and I expect it will easily serve as a primary jacket for me this winter, even in the mid-Atlantic. I ordered both a S and a M, as I originally thought the medium was a bit too large. There is a significant difference in the sleeve length between the S and the M. I have longer arms and am 5'9, 130 lbs, and I am keeping the medium. The jacket has a light brushed fleece lining, adding an extra bit of softness and warmth.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary the hiker from Utah on Sunday, July 12, 2015
    It's summer, so I haven't tried this out yet. I am hoping this will be a backcountry touring item this upcoming winter. I have the black, size small. I'm 5/4", 120 lbs., and this fits perfectly. Not too bulky, but definitely room for a layer or two. (I first ordered the "flame" color, which I had to return because it was almost a florescent red--way brighter than the catalogue photo).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mary the hiker from Utah on Tuesday, July 7, 2015
    It's summer, so I haven't tested this out yet. Jacket is well-fitting and comfortable, and appears to have great features that will enhance outdoor winter sports. Great length, roomy enough for layering (but not too bulky)--I am 5-4", 120 lbs., and the small fits just great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Thorne27 from Everett, WA on Thursday, May 21, 2015
    I got this for my wife. This is the perfect jacket for our climate, Western Washinton. It is insulated to provide some warmth and waterproof for the rain we get. The fit is casual enough for around town and fitted enough for snowshoeing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by VT Mami from Vermont on Tuesday, February 24, 2015
    Love the color, detail, and the feel of the lining. Had to go up a size in order to layer clothes underneath.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4