Outdoor Research Mithril Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Mithril jacket provides protection from cold and wet conditions thanks to its Ventia Dry soft shell fabric, exterior seam tape and warm fleece lining.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CREDTO from MONTESANO on Sunday, November 30, 2014
    I love the feel and quality of the material. At 6" 2" 205# the XL fits in the shoulders and arm length. The hood fits with complete coverage of the head area. The zipper is reals smooth and the colors are the same as pictured too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Row2k from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, November 5, 2014
    As our rainy season began here in the PNW, I finally got to try this jacket out. It performs very well in the constant light rain that we get here. The hood fits nicely and doesn't constantly blow off my head as many other jackets have. It has a more close fit but still allows for easy movement. I'm 6'0" / 170lbs and a medium works just fine for me. Another good Outdoor Research purchase!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bix from California on Friday, October 31, 2014
    The jacket fits great, waiting for it to get cold and rainey so I can wear it.
  • Reviewed by Cleveland Biker from Cleveland on Thursday, July 17, 2014
    I'm 5'8" and 140 lbs. I ordered a medium and returned it. This jacket is cut too high in the waist to provide any protection from wet conditions. When wearing a fleece underneath, it didn't cover it. Also, the lining is not thick enough to provide any warmth. As an alternative, I'd recommend the Mithrilite. The cut is longer, it fits better in the shoulders and arms, and it has better ventilation. There's no fleece lining, but like I said, it's not thick enough to insulate, so you won't miss it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jon & the outdoors! from Minnesota on Sunday, June 1, 2014
    This coat can be worn in any conditions! Excellent warmth, lightweight and very comfortable. Great quality in design and looks. This will be the coat I wear for everything!
  • Reviewed by outside adventurer from Woodbury, MN on Monday, March 24, 2014
    This jacket was meant to replace a delaminated Mtn hardwear jacket (they dont honor their warranty, FYI). It was also meant to sort of replace an old, but slightly worn, and non-waterproof, softshell jacket from Black Diamond (they DO honor their warranty, FYI). I finally had the chance to take it out skiing this past weekend in 20-degree weather with a slight wind. With a patagonia down sweater underneath, it was toasty warm. Also, when it came time to take my 2 year old on some bunny slopes, I did not overheat as I began lifting/carrying/escorting the 2 year old. I bought a large in order to layer underneath, and that was the right choice.

    My only minor critiques are as follows:
    1. The front of the coat, even a large, is about 1/2-3/4 inch too short to cover the otherwise short down sweater.
    2. The zipper is a little stiff when you finally get it all the way up to your chin. If you have a neck gaiter underneath, the stiffness makes it even trickier
  • Reviewed by Avid camper from Indiana on Wednesday, September 25, 2013
    I am new to the outdoor research brand but if this jacket is any reflection to the rest of their gear, I am sold. This jacket does everything. It's not too bulky but packs plenty of warmth. It's also truly rain proof. I got caught in a couple down pours and I stayed completely dry. It is true to size (I am 5'11", 180 lbs and ordered a medium). It is snug and an athletic fit so if you are wanting to layer, I suggest ordering a size up. Great product at the great STP price.
  • Reviewed by Dan in Seattle from Seattle on Thursday, September 12, 2013
    The Mithril is a well documented winner. A medium weight waterproof softshell outer layer with some minor insulation inside (think polartec 100). The outer layer sheds water easily and does not absorb anything. No wind gets through. It is soft and flexible without being too soft. The inner side provides some minor insulation and functions well as all conditions jacket down to 32F. The hood fits well and stays out of the way when not needed. Workmanship appears solid; zippers work well and there are no loose ends. Fit for this 5'10" 165 lb male running 33-34" waist and 40-42" chest ran "athletic" for Medium working well if you only wore a shirt under would work. Chose to jump up to a L for more flexibility when adding more insulation like a down vest or fleece jacket. A keeper!
  • Reviewed by David from Florida on Sunday, August 4, 2013
    This jacket is very nice. Its well made and light. It provides a nice amount of warmth as well. I haven't had a chance to see how water proof it is yet, but from all indications, it should be great.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.