Outdoor Research Mithrilite Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Men)

Closeouts. Top-notch body armor without the weight or restriction, Outdoor Research's Mithrilite jacket provides sleek, durable and complete waterproof protection with its Ventia Dry soft shell fabric and exterior seam tape.

Average Rating based on 18 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by utah john from utah on Wednesday, January 28, 2015
    was looking to replace a 17 yr old ll bean hard shell with aging zippers (what 600+ days of touring will do...) Anyway, wanted good water/wind resistance, and good ventilation, and tough but not too tough exterior. All is delivered with this OR shell. The pockets are well positioned- love the Napoleon chest zip and the two hand pockets, plus the inside zippered stash. Finally, the double zip sides allow for super ventilation control. The size L on my 6'/ 185lb/43" chest frame is just right/ Just right to layer under if it gets cold. Hoping the durability is as good as I have read in other reviews- since i still have another 15 yrs or so to keep skinning....
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Christmas Shopper from Washington on Saturday, December 27, 2014
    I purchased this jacket for my husband for Christmas. It was exactly what he wanted, and a bonus to find a soft shell jacket with a hood! He is about 5' 9" and 225 lbs and the XL fit perfectly.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TEEJ from Utah on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    great shell jacket - water (ventia dry) & wind proof. Comfortable hiking in 40deg and light rain as well as with base layers skiing in 15-20deg temps. Oversized hood accommodates a helmet so a bit large if not wearing helmet. A quality technical shell and great overall value.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PNW Hiker from Seattle, WA on Friday, November 07, 2014
    This jacket is as advertised - a waterproof and breathable softshell. I haven't truly tested the breathability yet, but it withstands water very well. The hood is roomy and easily adjustable and the pit zips are helpful. My only small criticism is that the sleeves are a little baggy, but this is minor and is probably to allow for easier layering. Overall it's a great jacket and at discount, quite a bargain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jeremy from Seattle on Wednesday, October 22, 2014
    Great fit, nice weight, and waterproof to boot. I haven't tested it yet in a major storm but it's held up in light Seattle rain.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Randy Savage from Michigan on Saturday, September 13, 2014
    I haven't gotten to take it out in the extremes yet, but it did keep me warm and dry during very constant rain. This jacket is very comfortable and feels quite interesting to the touch. I saw other reviews say that it doesn't provide any warmth, but I found it kept me very warm (although I do tend to run on the warm side) on a blustery and rainy day. Pockets are nice and roomy, and kept things dry in the rain. I am 5'9 and 200 and went with the large. The medium size fit, but didn't leave much room to layer underneath. I have other OR products, and this fit was similar to those. The only small problem I have with it is that the hood is very large if you aren't wearing a helmet, but that is really just splitting hairs and I am sure I will appreciate that when I do wear a helmet. Overall I am extremely pleased with it and would happily suggest it.
  • Reviewed by Joe Vitessa from Baltimore on Friday, September 12, 2014
    I don't know of too many soft shell jackets with pit zips, which is what attracted me to the Mithrilite. It also claims to be waterproof--and it certainly did bead water nicely when I gave it the faucet test. I ordered a large, which is my usual size and it's definitely meant for layering. I thought the extra room, while helpful for the trail, looked a little unkempt for use around town so I sent it back. (If I had a beer gut, this thing would be great!) It's also a bit heavy for backpacking; although, probably great for day hikes in the cold. Tough call. Might reorder if I gain some weight this winter...
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Delaware on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    I interested products of Outdoor Research.
    Because they produced with reasonable price and good quality.
    This jacket also did not let me down.
    Waterproof and vaporproof is good and ventilation zip provides to me cooling.
    If U want to good outdoor jacket, mithrilite soft shell is good choice.
  • Reviewed by Rhino from Oregon on Saturday, August 30, 2014
    This is a great jacket. Sizing seems to be a bit on the large side, but I don't mind as I'm using this in colder weather when I'll be layering anyway.

    I think some people order jackets like this and expect to simultaneously feel every breeze when they want to while being impervious to moisture. That's not the way it works. I have both the OR Mithril and Mithrilite jackets. Both, as waterproof soft shells, are heavier than my more technical GoreTex or eVent shells, but they breathe well, are warmer and ARE waterproof. My favorite use for them is in the winter. That extra breathability helps when working hard in snow, and they both handle any snow accumulation very well. I use them around town for rainy days occasionally, but generally prefer a Paclite or Pertex Sheild fabric for that. If you're not a jacket fiend like myself, you could do much worse for a general-use waterproof shell.

    The hood on the Mithrilite is easy to adjust and I really like the full side-zips. I bought my Mithril jacket before OR introduced that feature, and it really adds to the versatility of the Mithrilite. Highly recommended.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Taurren from south korea on Wednesday, August 20, 2014
    fit well.feel so good as to cloth

    suitable for mild winter circumstances

    satisfying price and quality

    i'm 5.8 ft and 185lb. M size is perpectly fit to me
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 18 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.