Outdoor Research Mithrilite Soft Shell Jacket - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. Constructed of surprisingly lightweight and functional Ventia fabric, Outdoor Research's Mithrilite jacket is fully waterproof breathable, begging you to put its durability to the test. Hem-to-pit zips let you dump heat quickly on the go.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by kzissou from Oregon on Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    I'm 5'5" and 115lbs, usually a S or XS. I went with the S so I could layer with a light-weight down or fleece. This jacket is a great fit and true to size. I'd buy again!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leo from Hong Kong on Wednesday, April 30, 2014
    but nice color
  • Reviewed by STP Shopper from Minnesota on Monday, March 31, 2014
    Nicely made, nice weight for late winter or spring. Fits well, like the side zippers especially since the front is one way zip. Soft quiet material.
  • Reviewed by mtngrrrrl from NC on Wednesday, March 12, 2014
    I ordered the large to fit over my down (5'10", 150) and it's perfect. I probably could have worn a M but I like room to move. The first one got lost by UPS and Sierra's customer service couldn't be better- they were all over it and shipped the replacement in time for the last weather event which stayed warm and dry through.
  • Reviewed by John Doe from Colorado on Saturday, February 22, 2014
    My wife loves it, I have the same jacket and I love also.
  • Reviewed by Lisa B. from Wilmington NC on Sunday, February 09, 2014
    I am 6'0" at 165lbs with long arms. I ordered a Large. It's generous in the body, and fits just perfectly on my arms. I normally wear Medium for t-shirts (29" waist), but I am glad I went up a size for the sleeve length. It has a great cut. The Flame color is much more intense than the picture, but I have gotten a lot of compliments on this jacket. This is by far the most comfortable and versatile rain jacket I have ever owned. I am extremely impressed with the features and comfort it offers.

    Okay, so on with the features. First thing I love is how flexible it is. I can cinch it down at the cuffs and chop away or scramble through brush and not worry in the slightest on a constricted motion or the cuffs hiking upward. I didn't even know a flexible waterproof fabric existed! So, I was a little skeptical of the waterproofing of this jacket. We get quite a bit of rain here in Wilmington, NC. My doubts were squashed after being out in a downpour. I thought it would be soaked through, but I suppose this jacket never ceases to amaze. It did an excellent job stopping the wind and the rain. It has a pretty tough fabric. I have definitely gone through some briars and got it pretty filthy from coals. All the charcoal washed off thankfully! It has a pea sized surface scratch on the elbow which is pretty amazing considering what I went through. It breathes okay (pretty well for a rain jacket in my opinion, most are awful) except when working up a sweat like jogging or cycling. Though, the incredible thing is there are two double zippered sides that go from the pit to the hip. I can zip it upwards so it's loose like a poncho (superb breathability and it can drape over a lumbar pouch), or just zip it down from the pit to get a draft going and let out some hot air. This method kept my baselayers really dry which is tricky in the eastern humid winter weather. This was also a fantastic feature in the winter months in that I could zip it down a bit and put my hands in my warm fleece pockets of my fleece underlayer and keep the hole small just large enough for my hands. I also kept my phone/batteries in there to keep it warm, yet still extremely accessible (electronics drain faster in the cold). The hood design is fantastic. I find it to be a little too long if my hair is down. I just fold the brim up (they stiffened the brim some, so it easily stays folded up when flipped) or cinch the hood up tighter and it seems to do the trick. Otherwise, I have my hair in a bun or ponytail, and it's fitted just perfectly. It's got plenty of room to wear over a cycling helmet. The front pockets are incredible! they go from the bottom all the way to the top. I was able to stick my sheathed camp machete in there without a problem. The Napolean pocket is generously sized and also has a fleece lining for electronics or glasses. There's also a second fleece lined pocket with an audio port on the inside where the right pocket is located. The zipper pulls are very easy to use. There are two cinch cords around the waist and two up around the face for the hood with an additional one behind the back.

    The only qualm I had with this jacket is the two cinch pulls near the face are a little annoying when it's completely zipped up. There is a thin fleece lining around the face, but the little cinch pulls have a textured backing that irritates my chin. It' only happens when the cinches are completely loose.Also, if I have the bottom cinched down, the side zips do sneak up about a quarter inch to a half inch over time. It's not a major issue and I love the option of being able to unzip it upward, so it's well worth this little flaw. It's the OCD side in me that keeps zipping it back down.

    All in all, it is an amazing performance soft shell jacket. I'm really glad I made this purchase. I hope this product line lasts, because I will happily purchase this jacket again many years in the future after it falls apart.
  • Reviewed by tresor from California on Tuesday, February 04, 2014
    Lots of features, good fit. This is a winner!
  • Reviewed by Shay from Canada on Wednesday, January 22, 2014
    The jacket is nicely body shaped and there is still room for a fleece top or liner to wear under it, which would be a requirement for colder days.
  • Reviewed by StormySaurus from Colorado on Friday, January 17, 2014
    This jacket fulfilled my intent to have a piece that is snug enough to be somewhat form-fitting with medium-bulk layers, but also to go over my super bulky motorcycle jacket as needed. I'm 5'7", 135lb, with a 35" bust, 29" waist, and 39" hips, and ordered the small. If I had wanted it to go over regular clothes only, then I would consider sizing down to XS (provided the sleeves would be long enough) since the sleeves and bust on the Small are the least form-fitting areas for me. The waterproofing is excellent. My husband has had a Ventia OR jacket for several years and its waterproofing ability is still really good, so I expect this one to do great over the years as well.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.