Outdoor Research PrimaLoft® Neoplume Jacket (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research Neoplume jacket features PrimaLoft® ECO synthetic insulation, the premium down alternative for wet climates. PrimaLoft® ECO insulates when wet and is nearly as compressible as down to pack small.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kakinuma-kun from California on Thursday, February 12, 2015
    I'm 5'10" and wear a 42-R suit. I bought the medium-sized Neoplume jacket and it fits perfectly in a trim fit. It is lightly insulated and perfect under waders in winter.

    I wish it were a bit more technical, like offering pit zips.

    But, overall a good value and function.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lynskeyiii from Pennsylvania on Monday, September 22, 2014
    I'm 6', 220lbs. I'm usually a large is most brands, but went with an XL in this case. After trying on similar jackets in the store, I realized that most of them have a somewhat trim fit. Since I wanted to use this jacket as an extra layer for sitting around the campsite, I decided on the XL. The XL is a little baggy, which will allow it to fit over lots of other layers, and the arms/waist fit me well. Sizing up in this case doesn't make it ideal for use as a mid-layer. I really like that it stuffs into its own soft lined pocket, which makes a great camp pillow. The quality is good with one exception, I noticed that the loop you use to hang the jacket is already pulling out after one use, it also appears to be sewn in upside down. Its not a big deal, but something to look at, especially if you plan to hang it on a hook vs a hanger often.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jim the canoer from Ohio on Sunday, August 3, 2014
    Excellent product; warm, lightweight, packable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joe from Illinois on Wednesday, July 23, 2014
    Quality and size were good and liked the color, but my wife thought the front looked too short so I returned it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DL from Illinois on Thursday, May 8, 2014
    Super light and packable. ...but still tough. Block's wind and rain.
  • Reviewed by Rob the Renovator from MPLS, MN on Wednesday, April 17, 2013
    I love this jacket, very versitle and well thought out. It packs into its own pocket (maybe 5x3 or 6x4, very small. It is light but very warm for its weight. the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that the carob color is pretty ugly in person (great color for the outdoors, not so much for life in the city), also I wish the zippers were a little higher quality. Still great, I will probably buy a second one in grey for a day to day jacket.
  • Reviewed by Dave B(ike rider) from Mass on Thursday, April 11, 2013
    This jacket is as advertized: great color, warm and light, and has more pockets than I thought it would, i.e. one inside that fits glasses. I like the look so much that I want the cool transition days of Spring to last.
  • Reviewed by Kelbad from Colorado on Tuesday, March 26, 2013
    I have had this jacket for almost two years now and have not torn it yet. That has surprised me due to the light material in the shell. I got a Large which is one size above my normal medium size so i could use it over my softshell jacket (a medium). It is very warm in this config. It is not warm enough to keep you toasty on a windy 30 degree day when sitting on your rear for awhile.
    I bring this jacket everyhwere because it is so versital.

    Pros
    The features of this jacket will surprise you for the price, especially when using a coupon.
    Micro fleece used in the collar and in the hand warmer pockets is durable. I have a short beard and the collar has not pilled.
    It folds into it's hand warmer pocket, and the pocket has a clip to attach to your harness. (You can also clip your keys to it so you don't lose them on the hike in)
    Drawcords at the bottom seals out the wind. You can adjust each one using one hand.
    It slides on over your fleece easily because the sleeves are lined with nylon! This is a joy! Sliding fleece jacket over a fleece baselayer sucks.

    Cons
    It only has 60grams of Primaloft eco. It could definitely be warmer. If it had more Primaloft i would give it 5 out of five stars. (I would love 80g of Primaloft One!)
    You must reapply the DWR to the shell every now and then or it will wet-out.
    It is not totally windproof (but it does a good job.)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wago from Evansville, IN on Tuesday, September 22, 2009
    I believe this light jacket will work well as a cool weather riding (motorcycle) jacket and cold weather liner in any of my riding jackets. It's light, easily stowable and seems to block wind and insulate well. Have used twice for cool morning rides.
    • Best Uses: Motorcycle apparel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Gear Usage: MC jacket liner
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stows tight, Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #