Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Speedstar Jacket - Polartec® Power Shield® (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Speedstar jacket is a unique lightweight hybrid that's effective across a wide temperature range. It combines Polartec® Power Shield® high-loft fleece and wind-blocking Polartec® Power Shield O2® fabric for improved performance during high-output activities in cold conditions.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 4.625000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hewei from black on Friday, February 5, 2016
    good
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NHDude from Nude Hampster on Tuesday, January 26, 2016
    I've used this jacket half a dozen times fat biking and hiking...I love it. Pit zips work well (no snags yet) as does the hood. Double zipper is great to keep my chest warm but vent from the belly area. I don't miss the hand warmer pockets at all. This is not a stand around in the cold jacket, it's a breathable jacket. I do wish it had internal pockets to stash my hat, mittens/gloves, map, whatever but that is minor. The zippered chest pockets are kinda small...not sure what I can use them for. Too small for Galaxy S5 phone
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Brigid from Washington State on Tuesday, January 19, 2016
    This is actually a really nice coat. Great for winter in the PNW, but with 2 kids, this wasn't a great option so we returned it. I know this is intended for Ice climbing, but it's also a perfect weight for everyday use. Unfortunately, the missing pockets were a deal breaker for us.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gu Jie from HangZhou on Thursday, January 7, 2016
    The jacket can be a little longer ,It will be perfect.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Matt from Colorado on Saturday, February 28, 2015
    I am 6'1 210 pounds and I ordered a XL. This is an athletic fit jacket, and so the XL fits great while allowing for layering. A base layer and an Icebreaker hoodie under the Speedstar kept me warm on my recent summit of Mt. Bross in Colorado. The temperatures ranged from 5-15F, but when the winds really kicked up I and things got cold at 14,000ft I did need to add a hardshell. The jacket was warm enough by itself below treeline. The stretchy material allows for a full range of motion in the shoulders and does not make any 'swishing' noises. The insulation is comfortable on bare skin, the jacket breathes very well especially if you use the pit vents, plus is surprisingly compressible. The hood is the best hood I've ever used, it's large enough to fit over a helmet while being easily adjustable for normal wear. The small touches really shine on this jacket, suck as the harness loops to keep the jacket from riding up, or how the sun visor on the hood conveniently flips up and out of the way when not required.

    Cons:
    There are no hand pockets (not useful when wearing a harness or backpack) or inside pockets. This jacket is not ideal for wearing around town for that reason, although the chest pockets will fit a cell phone, car keys, and a wallet just fine.The insulation means that the jacket will not be useful over as wide a temperature range as a non-insulated jacket. Expensive.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snow RIder from North Tahoe on Sunday, February 1, 2015
    This is a jacket that you will use a lot! I was surprised at the warmth this jacket provides along with the temperature range in which it is comfortable. It is an alpine climbing piece, but usable for most outdoor activities. I am 6' 4", 205 # and the XL fits nicely. No room for a mid layer for me. THE only drawback, as previously mentioned, is the lack of hand pockets. The newest version has both pit zips and hand pockets, but the price is very high. It does come in XXL, too. The Lodestar jacket on STP has pockets, but no pit zips. I chose the Speedstar for the pit zips, because I usually use this jacket for skiing/hiking with a small pack and need pit zips more than pockets.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jarrod7219 from Idaho on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    The jacket could be a little longer, but I do have a very long torso so I have become accustomed to this. The warmth is great, and the slim fit is perfect. The hood feels oversized, but I guess it would work well with a helmet if that is what it is being used for.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by El Presidente from Lake Tahoe on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    Perfect for an ice climber, which I am not. Well made, good looking, just not for every sport. Tailored in the stomach area with no hand pockets. Don't get me wrong. OR is stellar. Just not what I was looking for.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bikin' barry from NY on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    Synthetic jackets seem to be the rage this year so I bought this to replace my 15 year old 300 weight fleece "under layer." This is about the same warmth (fine at 20 degrees with a thin wool sweater or long undershirt (poly). The trim fit should be good for ice-climbing--and it's less slippery than my gore-tex jacket. Nice to have pit zips! Will try it ice-climbing in a few weeks--carrying down as over-layer when finished.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from Tennessee on Monday, December 15, 2014
    Bought as gift but appears to be made for COLD weather.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2