Outdoor Research Speedstar Jacket - Polartec® Power Shield® (For Men)

Closeouts. Outdoor Research's Speedstar jacket is a unique lightweight hybrid that's effective across a wide temperature range. It combines Polartec® Power Shield® high-loft fleece and wind-blocking Polartec® Power Shield O2® fabric for improved performance during high-output activities in cold conditions.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ???? from China on Wednesday, March 4, 2015
    OR??????????,??Polartec Power Shield?????,????,??,??????!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mountain Matt from Colorado on Saturday, February 28, 2015
    I am 6'1 210 pounds and I ordered a XL. This is an athletic fit jacket, and so the XL fits great while allowing for layering. A base layer and an Icebreaker hoodie under the Speedstar kept me warm on my recent summit of Mt. Bross in Colorado. The temperatures ranged from 5-15F, but when the winds really kicked up I and things got cold at 14,000ft I did need to add a hardshell. The jacket was warm enough by itself below treeline. The stretchy material allows for a full range of motion in the shoulders and does not make any 'swishing' noises. The insulation is comfortable on bare skin, the jacket breathes very well especially if you use the pit vents, plus is surprisingly compressible. The hood is the best hood I've ever used, it's large enough to fit over a helmet while being easily adjustable for normal wear. The small touches really shine on this jacket, suck as the harness loops to keep the jacket from riding up, or how the sun visor on the hood conveniently flips up and out of the way when not required.

    Cons:
    There are no hand pockets (not useful when wearing a harness or backpack) or inside pockets. This jacket is not ideal for wearing around town for that reason, although the chest pockets will fit a cell phone, car keys, and a wallet just fine.The insulation means that the jacket will not be useful over as wide a temperature range as a non-insulated jacket. Expensive.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Snow Rider from North Tahoe on Sunday, February 1, 2015
    This is a jacket that you will use a lot! I was surprised at the warmth this jacket provides along with the temperature range in which it is comfortable. It is an alpine climbing piece, but usable for most outdoor activities. I am 6' 4", 205 # and the XL fits nicely. No room for a mid layer for me. THE only drawback, as previously mentioned, is the lack of hand pockets. The newest version has both pit zips and hand pockets, but the price is very high. It does come in XXL, too. The Lodestar jacket on STP has pockets, but no pit zips. I chose the Speedstar for the pit zips, because I usually use this jacket for skiing/hiking with a small pack and need pit zips more than pockets.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jarrod7219 from Idaho on Tuesday, January 27, 2015
    The jacket could be a little longer, but I do have a very long torso so I have become accustomed to this. The warmth is great, and the slim fit is perfect. The hood feels oversized, but I guess it would work well with a helmet if that is what it is being used for.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by El Presidente from Lake Tahoe on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    Perfect for an ice climber, which I am not. Well made, good looking, just not for every sport. Tailored in the stomach area with no hand pockets. Don't get me wrong. OR is stellar. Just not what I was looking for.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bikin' barry from NY on Thursday, January 15, 2015
    Synthetic jackets seem to be the rage this year so I bought this to replace my 15 year old 300 weight fleece "under layer." This is about the same warmth (fine at 20 degrees with a thin wool sweater or long undershirt (poly). The trim fit should be good for ice-climbing--and it's less slippery than my gore-tex jacket. Nice to have pit zips! Will try it ice-climbing in a few weeks--carrying down as over-layer when finished.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from Tennessee on Monday, December 15, 2014
    Bought as gift but appears to be made for COLD weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lovelennon from well on Monday, November 24, 2014
    i buy six one for my chinese friends ~they like it very much ~
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Here comes the snow! from Michigan on Monday, November 17, 2014
    Great detailing, blocks the cold Michigan wind and snow, great fabric inside and out and the quality is terrific. My husband just loves this coat! A lucky find !
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Floodwater from North Alabama on Saturday, November 1, 2014
    I wanted a good jacket this year, one that could stand the elements. I spend all my time outdoors either whitewater kayaking, backpacking or climbing. I got the Speedstar and I like a lot of things about it so here goes my true review.
    I live in North Alabama, we might get an inch of snow one weekend, me might get a foot once every blue moon. The speedster is light weight yet warm enough to use as an outer layer. I would compare it's warmth to that of a light jacket. It is very comfortable after a week, even more comfortable after a month. It does need some breaking in. The outer shell is tough against limbs and rocks, I haven't torn it yet.

    What I don't like about it is that it does not have pockets at waist level, only on the chest. Who does this serve? Not me. I am tempted to buy some material and have it sewn on the bottom portion by a professional so I will have some pockets. I get it, its an ice climbing jacket, and ice climbers don't have hands so they don't need pockets whilst strolling around town on a crisp night. Well, if they had put pockets on the bottom it would serve as a wonderful everyday jacket, then I would rate this a 5 star jacket.

    All in all its a good jacket that looks cooler than it functions. I get compliments every time I wear it, and usually by some pretty good looking girls.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #