Outdoor Research Tempest Face Mask Beanie Hat (For Men and Women)

Closeouts. Inside the fun, classically knit Woolmark® merino wool blend of Outdoor Research's Tempest beanie hat is the safeguard of cozy microfleece lining and an attached Radiant Fleece face mask for extra coverage.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Reviewed by JDawgWalker from Madison, WI on Friday, December 6, 2013
    I was a little surprised when I received this hat, expecting a thicker, denser face mask. I finally got a chance to use it, however, in single digit temps with windchills at zero, and was really pleased with how well it worked! This is just about the perfect dog walking cap/mask for me. The mask, while thin, does a great job of protecting your face, and "breathes" well without getting soaked. I wear glasses so can't wear it over the nose...but wearing it over my mouth worked perfectly and the shape of the mask didn't channel exhaled air up towards my glasses like some masks do, causing steaming and frost.

    The hat is small. I'm an adult who often wears child size hats, and this fits me perfectly.
  • Reviewed by Sportshawg from Sacramento on Wednesday, December 4, 2013
    a bit snug with the face mask inside, but otherwise...great quality and comfort
  • Reviewed by Jay from Portland on Thursday, August 29, 2013
    It keeps you very warm and the face mask feature is awesome!!
  • Reviewed by ND from CA on Tuesday, March 5, 2013
    Looks and fits great and I love the mask option!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NicO from Chantilly, VA on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    Very warm hat, I loved the built in facemask, you can either tuck it in and just wear the hat, which is what I thought I'd normally do, but found that the facemask was a real bonus, I didn't need to have extra gear, like scarf, etc. At first I thought the facemask was too loose, but realized it worked well, for protection, ability to push down on neck if not needed, and not too tight for breathing.
  • Reviewed by joe from upstate new york on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    For skiing/snowboarding, this is a fun hat. I used it several times in below 0 degree weather with no problems. The warmth is there, wind protection is there, and the pull out mask is great. It covers alot of the neck and face, and can be held in place with your goggles. Also, when in the lodge, you can simply pull the hat off and let it hang around your neck via the gaiter until you go back out. Other than being a little tight at first (this goes away after a few uses), I have nothing but compliments. One of my favorite snowboarding hats.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sunny CA from Milpitas, CA on Thursday, January 17, 2013
    The hat fits really well. The face covering is a little big, but having it attached to the hat makes it very convenient.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bill from Wyoming on Tuesday, January 1, 2013
    Bought this hat for myself, but it was much too small when I received it, so I gave it to a lady friend who really likes it. Also. the face mask appears quite thin, and I noticed on the OR web site they call it a womans hat, not either sex or mens.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Missy Lou from Monett, MO on Monday, December 31, 2012
    Love this hat! It is very warm. The wind does not penetrate, which keeps your ears nice and toasty. I bought it mainly for the facemask, which is terrific. You don't have to mess with a scarf while playing outdoors in the cold.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Momsie from Flower Mound, TX on Friday, December 28, 2012
    It would be nice if it had a little more "stretch" to the knit. Otherwise, it's a great product.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #