Outdoor Research Transfer Jacket - Soft Shell (For Women)

Closeouts. This jacket from Outdoor Research is designed with a lightweight, breathable and mobile soft shell that transfers moisture, so you stay cool, comfortable and covered during demanding adventure.

Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TV from CA on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    Very nice fit and good quality jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor gal from Corvallis, OR on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
    I bought this for the extended rainy days in spring to summer in Oregon. I am 5'2", average athletic build, wider shoulders, muscular arms and slim hips. The Small size fits larger than I was hoping, but will be good for winter with a sweater underneath. I could even use it back country skiing with a down puffy underneath during a sit-down lunch break. I have not tested it's water proof-ness beyond sprinkles and light rain (it was fine). The color is a quiet grey, the thickness is not too heavy, but feels durable and the cut is not the most flattering, but functional. Pockets are fine, no inner pocket. No pit zips. The hood would not fit over a helmet, but would fit under one. The bill of the hood is stiff and small and the hood itself is very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Crystal from Canada on Monday, July 9, 2012
    Thin fuzzy lining makes this jacket comfy. Arms are a good length - I'm 5'11
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Berns from Monterrey, Mexico on Thursday, June 7, 2012
    I bought this jacket in anticipation for a trip to Alaska this summer and after seeing hundreds of jacket, I settled for this one. It is perfect. It fits nicely and the length goes a bit below the waist which I like and is still thing and light enough so that you can have several layers of clothes and not feel bulky and overstuffed. The only thing I didn't like was that the sleeved are too long for me, otherwise I love it.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Trips to cold places
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Indicari from Maine on Monday, April 2, 2012
    Been looking for a quality soft shell for winter hiking and fall outdoor activity and this jacket received good gear reviews. The sale/discount sure helped bring this to my first pick. I ordered the large, at 150 lbs, 5.6 feet, and need to layer a few wicking and fleece layers underneath. This worked well on its first test to Tuckerman's Ravine. Soft, durable, and yet not super warm, so bring your puffy jacket to throw on when you each the mid to higher peaks.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cate the Hiker from Bend, OR on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    The pros: this does shed off water, it's well constructed, and the sleeves are long enough. Now, the cons. I'm 5'10", 145lbs, with a long torso and full bust. I don't like the fit of this. It's fine around the chest but the rest is bulky, and the pocket openings go up all the way to your chest in an awkward way. It's a little short. I thought form the description that there was also a drawcord to help it fit around the waist--not, just the hip. It also is not very fleecy...it's more like fuzz on the inside. It's warm simply because it closes in your heat and blocks wind. I'll be returning this, bummer!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Bulky, Constricts Movement, Poor Fit, Poor Ventilation
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by green finny from Spokane, WA on Monday, March 12, 2012
    I really like the simple, streamlined design and the fit is great for layering-- roomy enough for a fleece underneath without being boxy.

    I've had it out in wind and rain the past few days and it's doing the trick.

    The way the sleeves are lined makes it a little awkward to pull on and off, and I wish the pockets were lined with something cozier, but other than that, it's great.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by i love winter from SW Michigan on Monday, April 18, 2011
    This is a nice jacket - I like the fabric and the fit is not restrictive - HOWEVER - it would have been a better jacket if 2 things were changed: a slippery lining inside the sleeves (this can be hard to remove if you have bulky clothes on!), and a two-way zipper would have made it easier to sit. If you are long-bodied, you might not notice. I bought it for winter kayaking - it won't be comfortable for that, but I'll keep it at work for those rainy days when I have to be standing outdoors.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: No double zipper
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Samantha from Anchorage, AK on Monday, April 4, 2011
    I live in Alaska and was looking for a jacket that would be my essential jacket while hiking and camping in the summer. It beads water off very well, but I have not used it in a downpour. I am 5'5, 135 lbs. I bought a MEDIUM and it fits perfect for me because I can still fit a fleece or sweatshirt underneath it and can move around easily. If I were looking for something more form fitting, I could have also fit into a small, but it would have been a bit snug with layers underneath.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.