Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Transfer Jacket - Soft Shell (For Women)

Closeouts. This jacket from Outdoor Research is designed with a lightweight, breathable and mobile soft shell that transfers moisture, so you stay cool, comfortable and covered during demanding adventure.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews 4.153846 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Maine outdoors from Mass on Wednesday, February 8, 2017
    Not breathable. Went xc country skiing. It held in the sweat. So wet.
  • Reviewed by Brad from Oregon on Friday, February 3, 2017
    My has almost as many jackets as shoes. She can never have enough jackets and she loves this one. Surprisingly warm for a light jacket and seems to be well made
  • Reviewed by Catherine G. from Ohio on Saturday, November 28, 2015
    I bought this jacket years ago and recently needed to replace it. I'm so happy OR still makes the jacket, so I could just buy the same one again! I tried looking at other jackets, but this was all I wanted. The blue color is perfect, and the size medium fits very well with room for another fleece or thick sweater underneath (I'm 5'8",138 lbs). I wouldn't consider it to be a rain jacket, but rather a warm, cozy shell for cool temperatures in spring and fall. I also take it hiking and camping. A necessity in my wardrobe!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Terri North Shore from Minnesota on Monday, November 23, 2015
    This jacket is very comfortable to wear and to drive in. I have an issue with some coats and how they interact with seat belts. No worries here. I am 5'7" and 160 pounds. The XL worked well for me. I also have long arms and this coat has good sleeve length.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by TV from CA on Wednesday, September 3, 2014
    Very nice fit and good quality jacket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Outdoor gal from Corvallis, OR on Wednesday, July 11, 2012
    I bought this for the extended rainy days in spring to summer in Oregon. I am 5'2", average athletic build, wider shoulders, muscular arms and slim hips. The Small size fits larger than I was hoping, but will be good for winter with a sweater underneath. I could even use it back country skiing with a down puffy underneath during a sit-down lunch break. I have not tested it's water proof-ness beyond sprinkles and light rain (it was fine). The color is a quiet grey, the thickness is not too heavy, but feels durable and the cut is not the most flattering, but functional. Pockets are fine, no inner pocket. No pit zips. The hood would not fit over a helmet, but would fit under one. The bill of the hood is stiff and small and the hood itself is very comfortable.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Warm, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Crystal from Canada on Monday, July 9, 2012
    Thin fuzzy lining makes this jacket comfy. Arms are a good length - I'm 5'11
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Pros: Breathable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Berns from Monterrey, Mexico on Thursday, June 7, 2012
    I bought this jacket in anticipation for a trip to Alaska this summer and after seeing hundreds of jacket, I settled for this one. It is perfect. It fits nicely and the length goes a bit below the waist which I like and is still thing and light enough so that you can have several layers of clothes and not feel bulky and overstuffed. The only thing I didn't like was that the sleeved are too long for me, otherwise I love it.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Trips to cold places
    • Pros: Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Indicari from Maine on Monday, April 2, 2012
    Been looking for a quality soft shell for winter hiking and fall outdoor activity and this jacket received good gear reviews. The sale/discount sure helped bring this to my first pick. I ordered the large, at 150 lbs, 5.6 feet, and need to layer a few wicking and fleece layers underneath. This worked well on its first test to Tuckerman's Ravine. Soft, durable, and yet not super warm, so bring your puffy jacket to throw on when you each the mid to higher peaks.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cate the Hiker from Bend, OR on Sunday, March 25, 2012
    The pros: this does shed off water, it's well constructed, and the sleeves are long enough. Now, the cons. I'm 5'10", 145lbs, with a long torso and full bust. I don't like the fit of this. It's fine around the chest but the rest is bulky, and the pocket openings go up all the way to your chest in an awkward way. It's a little short. I thought form the description that there was also a drawcord to help it fit around the waist--not, just the hip. It also is not very fleecy...it's more like fuzz on the inside. It's warm simply because it closes in your heat and blocks wind. I'll be returning this, bummer!
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Bulky, Constricts Movement, Poor Fit, Poor Ventilation
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2