Customer Reviews Of:
Outdoor Research Varia Jacket - Waterproof (For Women)

Closeouts. We heard winter was shaking in its boots when Outdoor Research created the Varia jacket; the waterproof breathable Pertex® shell and insulated, wind-resistant liner stand off against the cold and wind every time.

Average Rating based on 16 reviews 4.312500 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Reviewed by No more hat hair! from Minnesota on Sunday, November 10, 2013
    I love this jacket. Everything about it is perfect. It is sooo warm. I really like the length, too.
  • Reviewed by Kate from Colorado on Saturday, January 21, 2012
    This jacket had a strange fit. I purchased both the small and the medium size just in case they sold out and I needed a different size. Neither of them fit. I is usually wear a size small. The small was way too small all over and the medium was way too short in length. The style also is not flattering. The jacket looks boxy as it is not fitted at all. The neck area also in this jacket is very stiff. Not a comfortable jacket to wear at all for me. I returned them both.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Advanced
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PBA from Tennessee on Thursday, December 30, 2010
    I plan to use the water repellent shell without the liner in wet, warmer weather. As a winter jacket, it is perfect for me, and I love the colors. At first I was troubled by the liner sleeves coming out when I pulled my arm out, and then I realized that a cleverly placed loop at the end of the liner sleeve attached to a snap loop on the shell. Great design features and warm. The only downside is no hand warmer pockets in the rain shell.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Hiking, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Well designed, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dinkerdoo from West Sacramento, Calif. on Friday, December 17, 2010
    This is a poor fit, and not true to size at all. I think that instead of ordering a jacket based on what size I wear, I will physically try on jackets to see which brands do fit/and true size, etc. Sierra offers such great discounts, it was too good to pass up, but too good to be true.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Poor Fit, Poor Ventilation
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Winter Sports
    • Pros: Durable, Good construction, Warm, Waterproof
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jessica from Charlottesville, VA on Tuesday, December 14, 2010
    The XS was super small and the small seems a little on the large end of true-to-size. The colors are not at all like in the photo for the sky/expresso. The blue is more robin's egg and brown is a milk chocolate.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Too short
    • Describe Yourself: Intermediate
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Lightweight, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BlizzardWizzard from Cushing, WI on Sunday, December 12, 2010
    This jacket is really cute! It is super warm and durable! I wore it in the recent Midwestern blizzard. It is light weight and fitting. I'm 5'3" & 125 lbs. Fits me like a dream.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing, Snowboarding
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living, Winter Sports
    • Pros: Breathable, Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Anna from Philadelphia on Friday, December 10, 2010
    I needed a wind- and water-proof shell for all-weather bike commuting in a safety color, that was still stylish enough to wear during the day as I walk or take transit to other work sites. This jacket delivers! I love how I can take the liner out and just use the shell, or use the liner inside other jackets (like my reflective night-riding jacket). I'm 5'3 and 110 pounds and the XS fits perfectly, hitting me at the hips (slightly longer in the back, but not so long it looks silly off the bike), just past the wrists, and is a nice trim cut. I wish the lava color was a little brighter (and on the arms too), but this is the best combination of utility, style, and safety I have been able to find. It's comfortable for aerobic activities from 20-40 degrees (with the liner), might be comfortable at lower temps but it doesn't get any colder than that here!
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Lightweight, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mama Miia from Boston, MA on Saturday, November 20, 2010
    I had to return the product though I loved the color and style because it was too narrow in the hips for us hippier women. I had ordered the medium and it fit well and true to size everywhere but the hips. I do have trouble finding jackets that fit my hips (I am a true pear shape). I'm sure the large would have fit my hips but then it would have been too big everywhere else.
    • Best Uses: Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Too narrow in hips
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Good fit in chest, Stylish, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sazza from Atlanta, GA on Wednesday, November 10, 2010
    This is a nice jacket, stylish and lightweight. The sleeves were a little too short though so I needed a larger size. The body is quite square in shape and reached my hips.
    • Best Uses: Backcountry, Casual Wear, Hiking, Skiing
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Poor Fit
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Durable, Lightweight, Stylish, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenngo from Alaska on Saturday, October 23, 2010
    This is a great coat! I have received a complement from everyone who has seen it!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Hiking
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Gear Usage: Cold Weather Living
    • Pros: Durable, Stylish, Warm, Waterproof, Wind Resistant
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2