In 1981, physicist and mountain climber Ron Gregg witnessed his planned summit of Denali go horribly wrong when his partner was airlifted from a glacier due to frostbite caused by a faulty pair of gaiters. During the descent, Gregg refused a helicopter ride off the mountain in order to reflect. The philosophy behind Outdoor Research gaiters and outerwear was born that day and the idea to create outdoor gear with a simple, innovative, function-first approach was forged. Since that time, Outdoor Research gaiters blazed the trail for a legendary line of products ... Learn more about Outdoor Researchthat now includes Outdoor Research hats, gloves and jackets designed for backcountry enthusiasts and engineered to meet the demands of a passionate outdoor community. ... Less
Average Rating based on 5356 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 536 »
  • 1-10 of 5355 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gman80918 from Colorado on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    Our twins do not always like to wear the same clothes so we purchased on Marmot PreCip jacket for one daughter and this jacket from OR for the other. She loved the color and it was a great fit for her. Got it a little big for layering. Well made with smooth zippers. Very happy with he purchase.
  • Reviewed by Trekker from Utah on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    I really like Outdoor Research - great brand. They make really thoughtful designs. Was really excited about the jacket. GREAT DESIGN, excellent features! I got the Bluebird Blue. Pretty color. Unfortunately they must have NOT treated that batch of cloth, because it did not repel water. Sierra Trading Post is great about returns, so I could get something else.

    If the waterproof treatment had worked this jacket would have ROCKED. :(
  • Reviewed by T from Upstate NY on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    Received this hat, tried it on, and refused to take it off for the rest of that evening. It is so stinkin' cute! And comfy! And warm! I'm a relatively petite female and ordered a S/M. It's a little loose fitting but not problematically so. The style is both unique and functional. I love how the ear flaps fit and keep my ears toasty warm, with no adjustments ever needed. And the brim helps protect the face from precipitation as well as the sun. The fleece is substantial in weight and perfect for cold winter weather. Such a nice and fun alternative to other typical hat styles. Very highly recommended!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rachel from Ohio on Saturday, January 31, 2015
    It just barely fits over my ears but is snug and warm. I thought the facemask portion would be detachable but it is sewn in so you can't remove it for times you don't want to wear it. Probably best as a secondary beanie for really cold days or skiing.
  • Reviewed by efree from Colorado on Friday, January 30, 2015
    I am delighted with the way this shirt fits me. I am petite (5'4", 110 lbs) and it is super difficult to find tops that are not ridiculously long. Size XS is a teeny bit longer than I like but overall it is very flattering. Pretty color. The fabric is thinner than I would've liked -- I get cold easily and prefer a warmer top. It doesn't work with silk long underwear underneath it (the fit is already fairly snug and adding the silk under it was just too bunchy.) It would work well as a bottom layer, but it is also great just as a stand alone top with jeans or nice slacks, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Norwegian Who Would from Portland, OR on Friday, January 30, 2015
    I bought three jackets that were about the same price, men's and women's, from OR, RAB, and Columbia. This jacket hit a sweet spot for me. It didn't have a nice shapeable wire in the visor like both the Columbia and the RAB jacket had. But it fit over my helmet and hat easily, it had nice, comfy wrist cuffs, waterproof hood/shoulders, ample pockets, a nice roomy fit in the shoulders, a good length for me (I'm 5'6"), a nice color combo, and it was a bit thicker than the RAB, though it was less cushy inside than the Columbia men's jacket and did not include a powder skirt. The additional light mini-hood that you can fold away into its own pocket was a nice feature just in case it gets really rainy or cold.

    It has nice, easy-to-use side ventilation zips that kept me cool and comfortable on a 50-degree skiing day but kept me warm when I zipped them up and battled the wind chill on the lift ride up. I appreciated the front breast pocket for a phone or my electronic ski pass. The side zip pockets were well placed and roomy. The inside zip pocket kept my money and keys safe.

    This jacket fit me better than the RAB women's jacket, and it was not as huge as a Columbia men's medium. I got women's large, and I found that it was just the right size--big enough to layer but small enough to wear alone with just a midlayer underneath on a warm day.

    Everyone in my family also picked this out from a group of four jackets total. It's nice looking and functional, and it's worth the price I paid for it. It has all the features I truly need, and although I was hoping for a slightly cushier inside, this one was cushier than the RAB and fit the bill, especially for those of us who layer.

    So far, I don't have any issues with this, though I've only worn it three times on big outings--one an all-day ski extravaganza, and I have to say it beat my old skiing solution--a hard shell over a down sweater. These new down jackets are too delicate to bang up while carrying skis and really working out, and it was softer, more flexible, and more comfortable than a hard shell over layers.

    I'm sold! I'm glad I bought this jacket and would make the same choice again.
  • Reviewed by Flyfishin from South Carolina on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    Ordered this jacket to replace my tired North Face shell. Very happy. Ordered the large which turned out to be a great fit for me (5-10, 175 lbs, 42R, 34 waste). I wanted something that I could wear over a down jacket if the weather got squirrley and this is perfect. Medium would have been too small. Sleeves are a little long but not as much as other jackets that I tried such as Arcteryx. This is an awesome deal for such a technical jacket with Gore-tex pro.Super light weight and love the pockets. The cinch cord for the waste is a little fiddly but this is really nit-picking the jacket. Hood cinches down well if you are not wearing a helmet. This is my second OR jacket. I also have the Foray for warmer weather. Really impressed with what they are putting out now and at prices that don't make you cringe. Highly recommend!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CT skier from Connecticut on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    Great product. True to size and great looking too. I would recommend this jacket to skiers or anyone who's looking to stay dry and warm. Note: You need a base and mid layer.
  • Reviewed by Cliff from NC on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    I can't say enough good things about this jacket. Great looking and gets compliments every time I wear it. It's quite thin and not much more than a wind breaker someone recently called it a shackit for half shirt half jacket. It's 100% windproof and has a bit of stretch to it making it even more comfy. This will keep you warm with a light long sleeve shirt down to the 50's but nothing lower than that. This jacket is consistent with OR sizing, I am 5' 8" and 150 pounds and this fits perfect but it's not big enough to fit a sweater under it, but I wouldn't want to.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Susie, the Outdoor Enthusiast from Upper Peninsula of Michigan on Thursday, January 29, 2015
    This jacket serves all of my needs. I can dress it up (wear it for work, with dress clothing) or dress it down (wear with sporty attire). I love the design and the color (maroonish color) is superb. The other colors to choose from looked to be very nice as well. The detachable hood is a definite plus and soft plush lining scored high with me. The only negative would be that the zipper tends to give me trouble if I don't take my time when zipping up! I got a super great deal from STP, which was why I purchased it!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 536 »
  • 1-10 of 5355 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;