Customer Reviews Of:
Patagonia Scree Shield Mid Hiking Boots - Suede (For Men)

Closeouts. With a full rubber rand surrounding the suede upper and Vibram® Trail rubber outsole, Patagonia Scree Shield mid hiking boots provide the support and protection you need to tackle talus and handle rugged terrain with confidence.

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.363636 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Framedinduluth from Duluth,MN on Wednesday, January 9, 2013
    Casual office,Day hikes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by howqua from australia on Friday, December 21, 2012
    these boots are 2 sizes to small i ordered size 11 to wear as wading boots over my stocking foot waders but they were much to small lucky they are good fit to wear as noral boots
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by J from Sault Sainte Marie, MI on Sunday, December 2, 2012
    Haven't given them much of a workout yet, but liked them out of the box. Order a half size up.
  • Reviewed by Rob from Colorado on Sunday, December 2, 2012
    Simply put...these boots ROCK!!! I adore Patagonia products but had never tried their footwear...I usually go with other proven (to me) brands. I'm glad I took a chance on these as they are nearly perfect. "Nearly" because...as the description says they run small. I usually wear a size 10 but took the STP advice of ordering a half-size up (10.5). In that sense they feel "true to size" as long as you order a half size up from normal. They feel a little roomy in the toebox but this is far lesser the evil (to me) than having my toes hit the front of the boot, especially whilst going downhill. Other than that they are SUPER comfortable and the soles have awesome traction. They are water-resistant but not waterproof...I prefer this as the environment I spend most of my time tends to be dry and I'd rather have breathability than have my boots definitively waterproof. Finally...although I've not yet worn them in the dead of winter...so far this year they have kept my feet quite warm and comfortable and it's gotten cold in the mountains so they definitely have a useful temperature range beyond Spring, summer and fall.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by firecapt from new york on Thursday, November 29, 2012
    great allaround boot
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sophie's Dad from Saltspring Island, BC Canada on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    Hike 3 or more hours every day and these boots are perfect!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by pelhamlegal from alabama on Monday, November 12, 2012
    I need a lot of ankle support. This seems to work but the laces too short and a lot shorter than my other boots including my other patagonia boots. I ordered larger and glad I did
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday
    • Cons: Difficult Laces
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm
    • Sizing: Feels full size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too narrow
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Scorpio from Saratoga Springs, NY on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Tough to beat Sierra Trading Post's deals and Patagonia quality.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Any And All, Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Adventurer
    • Pros: Ankle Support, Comfortable, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Warm, Water Resistant
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RangerKG from Nevada on Wednesday, October 24, 2012
    I am a big fan of Patagonia footwear. These boots did great right out of the box on a 20 mile day hike. Very comfortable and no real problems. Nice lace system and the full rubber rand is great for scrambling and hiking in jagged or varied terrain.

    The only issue I have with them is they seem a little too wide or possibly too tall. It almost looked like my foot wanted to ride over the instep. I added a thicker pair of insoles and that seems to have solved the problem.

    The descriptions said order a half size up- I had to order a full size up because there is no 12.5. That may be the cause of the instep problem.
    • Best Uses: Day Hiking, Everyday, Harsh Terrain, Light Loads, Long-Distance Hiking
    • Cons: Not Water Resistant
    • Describe Yourself: Professional/Guide
    • Pros: Comfortable, Full rubber rand, Great Traction, No Break-in, Sturdy/Durable, Vibram soles
    • Sizing: Feels half size too small
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels too wide
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Adirondack Adventurer from Saratoga Springs, NY on Tuesday, October 9, 2012
    An undiscovered gem!!! Only 4 stars because I own Patagonis's Das Boot, a really great product. Sierra says order 1/2 size up, true. Such a great boot, I'll be ordering another pair for a little over $60.00.....What a deal, again!!! Fashion and function, quality, and value. Don't let this boot pass you by. At this price i think I'll get my nephew a pair too.....Before it's too late and Sierra Trading Post runs out like they did the last time. I'm still looking for that deal on another pair of Das Boot.
    • Arch Type: High Arch
    • Best Uses: Cold Weather, Day Hiking, Everyday, Great all around boot, Hunting, Long-Distance Hiking, Wet Conditions
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Comfortable, Great looks, Great Traction, No Break-in
    • Sizing: Feels true to size
    • Was this a gift?: No
    • Width: Feels true to width
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2