Pearl Izumi Amfib Running Tights (For Men)

Closeouts. Pearl Izumi takes performance to a whole new level with Amfib running tights. A full leg and a protective soft shell design lends optimum performance.

Average Rating based on 22 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
  • Reviewed by The Squirrel from Ohio on Friday, February 28, 2014
    I'm 5'7, 140 lbs, 29-30 waist. Lean and fit. Longer torso, shorter legs (29' inseam) I ordered the small. Fit is a little tight, takes some work to get into, but that's okay since they are tights. Legs come down to my heels, but that's due to my physically short inseam rather than the product. Rest of the tights fit like a glove even with padded bicycle shorts beneath them.

    These tights are built to absorb a nuclear strike. They look and feel like body armor and function like it. The material is thick and shielded from the wind in the right areas. The fleece lining preserves body heat. They keep you toasty below freezing in a good headwind. I cycle and run in them.

    I picked these up on sale. They were worth every penny and probably worth the typical "closeout" price as well.

  • Reviewed by MT from Montana on Wednesday, February 26, 2014
    I purchased these for a Montana winter which has no end in sight. They are warm, waterproof, and well made. I ordered a large which are a bit long for my 6 ft 200 lb frame. I have used them for hiking, snow shoeing and shoveling snow. I am glad I have them especially at the price I paid.
  • Reviewed by Mountain runner from Maine on Saturday, February 08, 2014
    Wow - these tights are really in a class all their own. I have many pairs of tights - CWX, Asics, Salomon - and use them for nordic skiing (primarily skate), trail/mountain running, as well as both road and mountain biking. I have found that each tight - by manufacturer as well as by the tight itself - seems to have a niche for which they function best.

    First of all these are made with bombproof construction. They should be classed as 'super-heavyweight' as they make even CW-X Insulator tights seem flyweight. The sheer weight of materials is substantial and so offers incredible protection from all manner of elements - wind, snow, rain, ice, etc... They are so warm in fact, that on a 25 degree winter day while nordic skiing hard, I had to change out of them for a lighter pair of tights as they were just too warm!

    The fit was true to size. I am 6'0" and lean at 150 lbs - with a 32-33" inseam. The tights are constructed with a very high lumbar spine area so cover one's back nicely while cycling (leaning forward). The calves are slightly tighter than the thighs which provides a modest compression-type of fit - an unexpected and unadvertised benefit). The ankle zips are well-positioned and are housed out-of-the-way in a nice pocket. The reflective stripes on the back of the lower calf areas is a thoughtful, safety measure.

    My only criticism - which really isn't a critique - more of just being clear for other potential buyers - is the weight and consequent warmth. These are NOT tights to think about when shooting for a fast winter run on trail or road - they are just too heavy, too windproof, too warm. But...as a versatile piece to have in one's winter sports arsenal they are the bomb - incredibly well-constructed, will likely last for years and years, and offered on Sierra Trading Post at an amazing price!

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed by Di on the go from South Jersey on Sunday, February 02, 2014
    Nice, soft inside and WARM. I used them for skiing, under ski pants at -20 and survived! Great for biking now. (winter in South Jersey.) Order size larger,
  • Reviewed by atlanta STP junkie from Atlanta on Monday, January 20, 2014
    If you live in Georgia like me or another warm climate, these tights are overkill unless it is unusually cold or cold and raining. Even though they feel a bit stiff compared to "normal" running tights, they are quite soft on the inside and plenty flexible once you get going. They are also incredibly breathable given the warmth they provide and (although I haven't tested this part out yet) the waterproofing. On the other hand, if you live in a cooler geography than me -- buy these tights at these great STP prices - you won't be disappointed. By the way, I'm 34 waste and 32 inseam and a size L fit me well --- after I roll the cuffs up one turn. Not absolutely necessary, but they are a tad long for a 32 inseam and the roll makes them perfect.
  • Reviewed by Tony from Anchorage, AK on Saturday, January 11, 2014
    Very warm-- used them here in Anchorage for both cross country skiing and running- temps were rather mild 20-30 degrees. I'm 6' 190 lbs and ordered the large. They fit well, though not as tight as other tights I have, which is fine. The windproof fabric, while stretchy, isn't as stretchy as most tights, which is likely why they don't fit super-tight. They also seem a bit long-- but I appreciate that- the bottoms can be either zipped over a Nordic boot. The fact that they aren't super tight suits me well-- I can put a pair of performance long johns or underarmor under them for runs when temps dip below 5. Overall very happy. I rarely give a 5 star-- they'd have to be perfect, but they are pretty close.
  • Reviewed by Patapsco MTB'er from Maryland on Friday, January 03, 2014
    I use these tights for cycling and thought how great they are, with a high back, and pre-curved knees. Hard to believe they are not cycling-specific tights. Then, I googled the item number from the tag and it turns out what I received was cycling-specific indeed! So, I don't know if these are mislabeled on STP, or if an error was made in my shipment, bu tif you are looking for cycling tights, these are it. If you want running tights, then I'd confirm what you are going to get before ordering.

    Re: performance as cycling tights- they are awesome. Keeps my warm in 20* temps, and sheds water with stream crossings.
  • Reviewed by Patapsco MTB'er from Maryland on Thursday, December 19, 2013
    I am 5'7" 150 lbs and bought this looking for cycling tights. They were $30-40 cheaper than the "cycling" version but work just fine with some lycra bike shorts underneath. Good water/splash protection with stream crossings. And the back even comes up a bit, making these really good for cycling. My only problem with these shorts isn't necessarily a defect, but most everything else I wear is a small. I have a 30" waist and ordered the smalls first. The waist fit fine, but the thighs and calves were so tight I had to exchange for a medium. The waist still fit fine, the thighs much better, but the calves were still so tight I could barely zip the ankle closures. And, they are a bit long for my 30" inseam. But that's my problem, I need longer legs ;)

  • Reviewed by John from Chicago on Monday, December 16, 2013
    These are very warm in cold weather! I just ran in Chicago in 15 degree Fahrenheit weather, and my pants worked great. I was sweating. The only thing I had to do was reinforce the crotch area with an inner lining, otherwise that special area gets too cold. I definitely recommend these, and I'm sure they'll be great on my bike as well. I'm 5'9" 175 lbs, and I got the Medium. They fit me well, although they are a lil' too long.
  • Reviewed by Anonymous from Pennsylvania on Wednesday, November 27, 2013
    Ordered a medium for my 33 waist and found it to be too tight. Seemed like a bomber made pair of tights and will see if the large will fit better.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 22 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.