Peregrine by J.G. Glover English Wool Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. Leave it to the British to produce an exceptionally well-made wool sweater that's durable as well as stylish. From Peregrine by J.G. Glover, intricate honeycomb and plait cable stitches create a distinctive look that pairs well with turtlenecks and slacks.

Average Rating based on 313 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 32 »
  • 1-10 of 313 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Would-be Country Squire from Oregon on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
    Real wool in a very nice pattern. Weave is open. You can see light through it.

    I wouldn't wear it on a walk given that it would snag and that the wind would get through.

    On the other hand it's probably just the thing inside where I didn't want to be too warm.

    Pros:

    - Wool
    - Attractive pattern
    - Thick but open-weave
    - Comportable fit

    Cons:

    - Open weave
    - May snag
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amorphous from East Tennessee on Monday, February 23, 2015
    There is something about English, Irish, and Scottish wool clothing that has always been both attractive, interesting, and desirable to me. Barbour jackets, Harris Tweed sport jackets, and Aran Island sweaters are among the best clothing in the world.

    I was given one of these sweaters for a Christmas present in 2013, and liked it so much that I bought this and another for myself. It is, in my mind, a classic wool sweater--not marino wool or angora or any of the other, ostensibly more comfortable, sweater materials. It is well made, incredibly warm, and has that classic "wool sweater" texture, appearance, and feel.

    Can't be beat. Would buy more, but there are only so many wool sweaters one can wear.

    A good replacement for my former favorite, Pendleton, which has sold out, in my opinion, from their original "woolen mills" shirts and sweaters to popular tripe just has have so many other formerly premium brands that used to make find quality products.

    These folks may do the same. For those of you who like and appreciate wool, this is an absolute "must have" product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Value shopper from Maryland on Friday, February 13, 2015
    Handsome traditional look, soft, non-itch wool but loose weave makes this sweater inappropriate for below freezing temps, according to my husband. He is a classic dresser and really likes the sweater. True to size, ample length in sleeves.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc Marty from Wisconsin on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    This is my 3rd J Glover wool sweater in various styles and they're all exquisite; not your run to the mill/ off the rack sweater and it's quite apparent to most. Very comfortable wool as well as being thicker and warmer. The value is excellent through STP. Being British mfg, these sweaters aren't cheap even on clearance, but I'll always pay the extra cost for American or European craftsmanship versus the Chinese [...] sold by most of our quality conscious and "socially responsible" retailers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kiwikid from Burbank, CA on Friday, January 23, 2015
    This is the 2nd Peregrine sweater I have bought for my husband. The first a size M fit perfectly however this needed to be returned for a L. Too tight in the body and short in the sleeves. He is 6' 175lb. Also I ordered the grey color but it is more of an oatmeal so that was a little disappointing as the grey in the photo is gorgeous. Otherwise it is the usual top notch JP Glover product and he is very pleased with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sweater Guy from California on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    Beautifully made comfortable sweater. Nice weight (not too heavy or light), looks great. I'm a sweater fan (I own more than 50) and this is one of the better ones I've bought lately.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wheeler Canyon Ted from Ventura on Saturday, January 03, 2015
    Good quality sweater and nice looking, but as many other reviewers have noted, the knit is very loose and open. I ordered the gray and I could not wear anything under it unless it was dark. I have other sweaters by Glover and they are all well made and of good quality. I can't give it a low rating just because it's not my style knit, so I will send it back. If it is a style you like, you will love this sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by CC from Iowa on Tuesday, December 23, 2014
    Got this sweater because it was such a great price! Got it and was very disappointed to see that the color was almost black( the pic online was a really cool mottled charcoal-gray). I would have kept it anyway but when I tried it on the fit was really odd. It was tight around the waist and cuffs and just looked very strange when I tried it on. This is being sent back. Still love STP though!
  • Reviewed by Winter Walker from Hudson NY on Saturday, December 13, 2014
    "Exceptionally well-made"?!? This sweater is very loosely knit -- as in you can poke your fingers through it. Pretty useless against wind and a major snag magnet. The cable knit and wool look nice, but this is not a high quality sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by farmer's wife from Southwest Michigan on Tuesday, December 02, 2014
    I bought this sweater for my husband who is tall and slim (6' at 180 lbs) and often has difficulty finding clothes that are contoured to his body. This sweater is fitted but not tight. It will be perfect for wearing outdoors and working in the cold and though he's only had it a short time, I can tell it is a higher quality wool than the average pullover. I bought a second sweater by the same brand because my husband liked it so much- and he is NOT the type of person who gets excited about clothing very often. Highly recommend.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 32 »
  • 1-10 of 313 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #