Customer Reviews Of:
Peregrine by J.G. Glover English Wool Sweater (For Men)

Closeouts. Leave it to the British to produce an exceptionally well-made wool sweater that's durable as well as stylish. From Peregrine by J.G. Glover, intricate honeycomb and plait cable stitches create a distinctive look that pairs well with turtlenecks and slacks.

Average Rating based on 317 reviews 4.170347 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 32
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John in Iowa from Iowa on Tuesday, November 10, 2015
    I have purchased several Peregrine sweaters from STP. They have all been true to size, comfortable, and warm. What else can a sweater do?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cushe on my feet from NY on Monday, November 2, 2015
    Considering buying the same sweater in another color....no better compliment
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Harry from Pacific Coast on Wednesday, September 16, 2015
    This is "stiff" wool, not merino. Only the hardy will wear this against bear skin. The construction is good. Good fit and shape.
  • Reviewed by Chris from Bethesda maryland on Tuesday, August 25, 2015
    As many others have noted, this sweater is made with an absurdly loose weave. Thus it seems fragile, doesn't insulate well, and looks downright odd (nothing like the pictures).
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Would-be Country Squire from Oregon on Wednesday, April 15, 2015
    Real wool in a very nice pattern. Weave is open. You can see light through it.

    I wouldn't wear it on a walk given that it would snag and that the wind would get through.

    On the other hand it's probably just the thing inside where I didn't want to be too warm.

    Pros:

    - Wool
    - Attractive pattern
    - Thick but open-weave
    - Comportable fit

    Cons:

    - Open weave
    - May snag
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Amorphous from East Tennessee on Monday, February 23, 2015
    There is something about English, Irish, and Scottish wool clothing that has always been both attractive, interesting, and desirable to me. Barbour jackets, Harris Tweed sport jackets, and Aran Island sweaters are among the best clothing in the world.

    I was given one of these sweaters for a Christmas present in 2013, and liked it so much that I bought this and another for myself. It is, in my mind, a classic wool sweater--not marino wool or angora or any of the other, ostensibly more comfortable, sweater materials. It is well made, incredibly warm, and has that classic "wool sweater" texture, appearance, and feel.

    Can't be beat. Would buy more, but there are only so many wool sweaters one can wear.

    A good replacement for my former favorite, Pendleton, which has sold out, in my opinion, from their original "woolen mills" shirts and sweaters to popular tripe just has have so many other formerly premium brands that used to make find quality products.

    These folks may do the same. For those of you who like and appreciate wool, this is an absolute "must have" product.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Value shopper from Maryland on Friday, February 13, 2015
    Handsome traditional look, soft, non-itch wool but loose weave makes this sweater inappropriate for below freezing temps, according to my husband. He is a classic dresser and really likes the sweater. True to size, ample length in sleeves.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Doc Marty from Wisconsin on Wednesday, February 11, 2015
    This is my 3rd J Glover wool sweater in various styles and they're all exquisite; not your run to the mill/ off the rack sweater and it's quite apparent to most. Very comfortable wool as well as being thicker and warmer. The value is excellent through STP. Being British mfg, these sweaters aren't cheap even on clearance, but I'll always pay the extra cost for American or European craftsmanship versus the Chinese [...] sold by most of our quality conscious and "socially responsible" retailers.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kiwikid from Burbank, CA on Friday, January 23, 2015
    This is the 2nd Peregrine sweater I have bought for my husband. The first a size M fit perfectly however this needed to be returned for a L. Too tight in the body and short in the sleeves. He is 6' 175lb. Also I ordered the grey color but it is more of an oatmeal so that was a little disappointing as the grey in the photo is gorgeous. Otherwise it is the usual top notch JP Glover product and he is very pleased with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Sweater Guy from California on Saturday, January 17, 2015
    Beautifully made comfortable sweater. Nice weight (not too heavy or light), looks great. I'm a sweater fan (I own more than 50) and this is one of the better ones I've bought lately.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 32