Peregrine by J.G. Glover Merino Wool Sweater - Cable Knit (For Women)

Closeouts. Inspired by chunky fisherman sweaters from centuries past, cable knits have a long history of fashion appeal, and no one makes them better than the English craftsmen at Peregrine by J.G. Glover, here executed in superfine merino wool.

Average Rating based on 17 reviews 3.764705
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by California Dreamin from Illinois on Wednesday, May 13, 2015
    this wool sweater fits nicely and the gray color is a rich gray..maybe a hint of green or blue, not a dull dark dreary gray at all.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OtherAnonymous from New York on Monday, December 8, 2014
    This sweater is well-made from a very nice warm yarn but the fit is somewhat odd, even for a classic sweater. I am a national brand (e.g. The GAP, Jcrew) size XS/S (2-4) in most tops, and generally size up at least one size (to a 6) in designer brands. I sized up a lot for this item based upon the review advice all the way to a medium and I'm still not thrilled with the fit. The body fit is too big, bulky through the torso and the shoulders but the sleeves are quite short. The picture shows that these are classic fit sleeves, but they are more bracelet fit on me, exposing my wrists and a good bit of forearm. I need to drag them down to cover my thermal underlayer and they tend to float back up pretty quickly. I guess the sizing makes it seem more "boy's husky" sizing than for ladies. I still like it for being comfortable and great for a cold day but there are definitely better wool sweater options (including a great Peregrine cardigan I bought that inspired this second Peregrine purchase). I will also be certain to dry clean this one instead of hand-washing. I wouldn't mind if the body shrinks a bit but if the sleeves get any shorter, the sweater would be unwearable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Michelle from Wisconsin on Wednesday, December 3, 2014
    I first bought this sweater in a large after reading previous reviewers comments. I ended up returning it because it was just too wide across the body. It did fit pretty well in length, both overall and sleeve length. Tried the medium and the body width was better on that one but the sleeves and overall sweater length were WAY too short. If the sizing were better this would be a nice sweater, because the wool itself seemed really nice. Just for reference, I normally wear a size 10 or 12.
  • Reviewed by Michelle from Wisconsin on Sunday, November 23, 2014
    I originally ordered a large in this sweater but returned it. The sleeve length and overall sweater length was good, but the body was just too wide. "Boxy" is what a previous review called it and I agree. I normally wear a size 10 or 12 so I thought since the large was too big the medium would fit. Unfortunately that was not the case. The body width was better, but the sleeves and sweater were just too short on the medium. I've got long arms but a short torso, so it surprised me that both were too short on me. It's a shame, because it seemed like it would be a nice warm sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Red River Dweller from Okla/Tex on Tuesday, November 18, 2014
    When it is cold, wool is the way to go. This is a quality sweater and is keeping me warm. This morning was in the "teens" and I am cozy. If you are tall and very slender, it will look really nice. It looks a little chunky on me.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by traveler from Upstate New York on Tuesday, November 4, 2014
    Substantial and high quality thick wool. Over a turtleneck this is noticeably warmer than the thick fleece I usually wear.
  • Reviewed by Coco Girl from Takoma Park, Maryland on Tuesday, March 18, 2014
    The sleeves were 3/4 length on me. Body was boxy, so it's not like the whole thing was just small.
  • Reviewed by Pregnant lady from maine on Monday, March 3, 2014
    I vacillated whether to keep this sweater and I decided that I will. I like it but don't love it, and spent a little more than I would normally spend for a sweater I don't love. Why I kept it - it's comfy and casual. What I didn't like: the crew neck is a little chunky looking, the weave is a little looser than I expected (you definitely want to wear a layer underneath), and the color (beige) is just so-so. I should also say that I am 5'4", 120lbs and the size medium is just right - any smaller would have been too short in my arms and my in waist (granted, I have kinda long arms for my size).
  • Reviewed by mplsgal from Mineapolis on Monday, February 10, 2014
    I bought this sweater, on a good sale, to keep me warm during this Polar Vortex winter we are having in MN this year. I have stayed snuggly warm in it when layered with a turtle neck underneath. I got the off white/ivory color, which I am sure will show stains, but I wanted a sweater which would go with all my jeans, whether dark or light. I am very happy with both my purchase and price of sweater.
  • Reviewed by Nature Girl from Ohio on Sunday, January 5, 2014
    I don't always spend much on sweaters but I love the classics and never had a Peregrine. Excellent quality, beige color true. I could have used an XS but the S is nice for layering, like a "boyfriend" sweater. Toasty warm too!
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 17 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #