Customer Reviews Of:
Peregrine by J.G. Glover Merino Wool Sweater (For Men)

Overstock. A terrific buy on heathered, five-gauge merino wool -- from Peregrine by J.G. Glover comes this wool sweater beautifully knit in England. Pattern is a pleasing blend of cable and basket stitches with the loosely structured, overall look of a handknit piece.

Average Rating based on 96 reviews 4.364583 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by S'more from Shelter Cove on Sunday, December 27, 2015
    The appearance and quality of this sweater are better that I expected. This really looks and feels like an old-fashioned hand-knit product. My husband is very sensitive about how a fabric feels, and he loves the softness of this. The previous review that the size ran small was helpful and allowed me to get a perfect fit.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Average American Apparel Shopper from USA on Friday, November 20, 2015
    There's a lot of wool here. The fit is right with a very soft feel.

    Great value for the real thing.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bob from Ohio on Thursday, August 27, 2015
    Quality everything I expected. I am very happy with this purchase.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Cape Cod Kayaker from Arctic Circle (Boston) on Thursday, March 5, 2015
    This is the 4th one of these sweaters I have purchased. They are great for winter days in the frozen wasteland once called Boston.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bristolart from Georgia on Monday, January 26, 2015
    I have several Merino wool Peregrine Sweaters. I love the fit and quality of this sweater. As I write this review I am sitting here in front of the fire wearing my new sweater.The sweater looks great and is soft and warm. This is a heavier weight sweater that is good for cold Winters and cool Springs. I would not hesitate to recommend this sweater. You won't be disappointed. Fit is true to size.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tree Man from California on Monday, December 29, 2014
    Great fit, great price, very warm, and very stylish. I love this sweater and have ordered another in a different color. Highly recommended for someone who wants a heavy, warm and beautifully knit sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Gilles the bone from Quebec on Tuesday, December 16, 2014
    The sweater is really baggy and short length wise,for the arm and for the body.It is soft to the touch and warm,even if the yarn is not as tight as i would like.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Hugh Jorgan from MI USA on Thursday, December 4, 2014
    It's soft, it's warm, it looks good........ What else do you need from a sweater?
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BuyerJohn from Michigan on Tuesday, September 30, 2014
    This is a good sweater that is not wind-resistant but makes a nice inside layer. The knitting is very open and will show through contrasting colors. Some of the gaps in the weave can be startling, but this is a warm, full sweater that I have received compliments for wearing. The charcoal color is almost black, and darker than shown online, but it's all good.
  • Reviewed by Nw Gal from n w on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    This was a replacement for my husbands ragged gardening sweater. I had tried several other brands to no avail. He put this on when he received it and has worn it since. He said, that it felt just like his old one. The quality is what you would expect from an English knit and the style looks like it was hand knit. An excellent buy!!
  • Reviewed by Lucy from Oregon on Wednesday, January 15, 2014
    Great sweater,my husband was so surprised. It is a good fit.
  • Reviewed by flo10fool from Oregon on Monday, January 6, 2014
    This is one of the nicest sweaters I have ever owned. It fits well and is incredibly soft.
  • Reviewed by bristolart from Georgia on Sunday, November 17, 2013
    From the moment I put the sweater on I knew this was quality. The luxurious Merino wool was soft and comfortable The fit was true to size.. Craftmanship was top notch. The weight of the sweater allowed me to go out comfortably into a cold autumn day of 30 degrees Fahrenheit .
    Merino wool is my favorite wool because of its softness. I would buy this sweater again.
    I plan many years of use for this sweater..
  • Reviewed by Rob from Great Neck on Sunday, August 4, 2013
    The weave on this sweaterwas so loose that there were holes the size of dimes when put on. I have one of these in charcoal and it looks great. This one, in white, was awful. Clearly, this item is very inconsistent. Had to return
  • Reviewed by Rob from Great Neck on Saturday, June 8, 2013
    This sweater is well made and quite comfortable. As others have said, the weave is intentionally loose and the sweater is baggy, so, if stretched, you will get a sense of what color shirt is underneath...but that is typical of this sweater. The wool is soft and delicate..quite comfortable. Be aware, it does run large as others have said. I normally wear a large...medium fit just fine with room to spare. On sale, it is a great buy
  • Reviewed by Canyon Man from Eldo Co on Monday, March 11, 2013
    They make such a fine sweater, how can one go wrong??!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wool snob from Mid-Michigan on Thursday, December 27, 2012
    I have wool sweaters from Ireland and they are really warm and heavy. This sweater, since from England, I thought would be the same. However, I was disappointed in the quality. When one stretches it slightly, the yarn reveals airy spaces, like lace.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lainey from Houston, TX on Monday, December 17, 2012
    This was purchased as a Christmas gift - although I don't yet know about the fit, it's a beautiful sweater and a great present!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fisheswithbears from Wapiti on Tuesday, November 20, 2012
    Warm, soft, and very good looking. High quality. My husband gets cold easily and he is always looking for warm clothes. He is very happy with this sweater.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dolphin from San Jose on Tuesday, November 13, 2012
    Bought a size bigger like sweaters cozy. Need to wear undershirt as not as soft as I expected but like it so much bought two colors...
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Itchy Material
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by tt from RI on Thursday, October 25, 2012
    Beautiful sweater- interesting combination of two different yarn textures. I do not believe this is Merino- and if it is, it is uncharacteristic. This sweater is much more "rugged" then most would expect as Merino.
    • Best Uses: Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DJE from Bend, OR on Thursday, October 18, 2012
    High quality, looks great
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by ICPinto from Houston, TX on Sunday, October 7, 2012
    Excellent sweater. My second Peregrine.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: No cons
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish, THE BEST, Trendy
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Like A Cat, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by new york state tour director from va.beach, va on Monday, October 1, 2012
    i,m going to new york & canada this winter & this is a great sweater to wear !!!!!
    • Best Uses: Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Dog Trialer Guy from Sundance, WY on Monday, June 25, 2012
    What a great buy and it looks good, too!
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Formal Events, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chris the surfer from Jacksonville, Florida on Tuesday, April 24, 2012
    This is a very well-made, substantial, Aran fisherman's sweater. However, as some reviewers have stated, the knitting is (intentionally) somewhat loose, resulting in more "air space" in the fabric than some people might like. For me, this was not a problem at all. The sweater I received did not contain any "nickel-sized holes" as another purchaser (apparently, an unlucky one) complained of. I would have to pay three times the price to get a sweater this good anywhere else. I am delighted. Highly recommended.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Going Out
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Classic Aran sweater, Just the right weight, Not itchy
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by khufu from Union Star, MO on Friday, March 30, 2012
    A very warm and stylish sweater. Comfortable and durable.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Itchy Material, Washes Poorly
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Canyon Man from Eldo Co on Wednesday, March 21, 2012
    Great sweater, full sized. If you like them to fit close order a size smaller
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bobb from New Haven, CT on Monday, March 5, 2012
    This sweater appeared to be a classic cable fishermans sweater. It was exactly as hoped. Warm, and should last for years.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by PBS from SAN DIEGO on Saturday, March 3, 2012
    Excellent both indoors and outdoors in cool or cold weather. Plenty warm. Great as an underlayer for a jacket or windbreaker in colder weather. Attractive cable weave both front an back. Striking classic colors.

    Clearly oversized but in good proportion. Unless wearer likes loose, baggy sweaters -- and some do -- order one size down. A baggy Medium was exchanged for Small and a great fit.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels too big
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical, Stylish
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Looks Great, Stylish, Versatile, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too long
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4