Customer Reviews Of:
Peregrine by J.G. Glover Sweater - Merino Wool , Shawl Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. If there's any doubt as to the pedigree of J.G. Glover of England's shawl neck sweater, you'll think twice once you've discovered it's made of merino wool from British sheep... treasured for its warmth, comfort and strength.

Average Rating based on 92 reviews 4.358695 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BuffaloBookworm from Buffalo on Monday, February 15, 2016
    I found my J.G. Glover shawl-neck cardigan to be very comfortable and well-made. My only complaint was that their sizing runs very small, so it took me a couple of tries to find one that fit. I'm a size 44 chest. According to the tags, a size large fit chest sizes 42-44, so, I ordered a large. It fit really well in the collar (16.5 or so) and sleeve (approximately 35.5), but was so tight in the chest that I could barely button it closed, and the sleeves were so slim that they bordered on being too tight. I returned it for an extra large, which fit better in the sleeves (36" or so, and a fuller, less-tight sleeve), but was only slightly roomier in the chest. I ended up with a size XXL (labeled for chest size 50), which is larger than what I wear in almost any brand. The only other brand in which I wear XXL is another British company, so perhaps the difference is simply attributable to U.S. versus U.K. sizing. Similarly, my father, who wears a 42 long sportcoat, had to order an XL. If you buy one, definitely order one at least one size larger than what you normally wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick from DC on Saturday, February 6, 2016
    Well made and nice looking, good fit if you size up 1.
  • Reviewed by likes quality stuff from upstate NY on Sunday, January 24, 2016
    Great looking sweater and fine if you've got a good heating system in place. But this is definetly not for outside below 35 degrees as the weave is too loose for that (for warmer it's good). The sizing is true (do not order a size up) as my size is just right. Nice elbow patches and beautiful brown buttons. Very nice and extra wool round the neck. Looks good & durable and ok for most uses, but if you go out and need something for the road, look elsewhere if you're in the northern part of the US. If it had a tighter weave and were a bit warmer, I'd give it four/five stars, but it just does not do it for the cold. It is one of the better Peregrine sweaters I've tried, and I'm keeping it because it's good for the milder weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alfein from Salt Lake City, UT on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    This is a really great sweater. Yay for J. G. Glover! I debated for awhile because they also had a Cable Knit sweater with button front, which I found really tempting. This one won my internal debate and there is no looking back. This fit exactly as expected. It is heavyweight and is very warm. It is soft and the colors are perfect. Suede elbow patches for classic looks and extra protection. The buttons are also very classic.
    This is a truly great investment for winter wear. It would be very hard to top. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed by scsfll from Florida on Friday, January 8, 2016
    I was looking forward to the delivery of the sweater. Be fore I even put it on I could tell it was very short. I am an athletic, true XXL. Unbuttoned the sweater fell to middle of my sides.

    So disappointed as it's great looking and has an excellent weight.

    Now the other bad thing STP has horrendous shipping charges then return charges.

    THIS IS NOT A CORRECT SIZE.

    Disappointing for a TJX company.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by marty s. from MA on Wednesday, December 16, 2015
    The weave wasn't as tight as I was hoping, but overall a very nice sweater for the cost. Quite warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joetvman from Northeast on Tuesday, December 15, 2015
    Good quality but slim cut. I have broad shoulders and wear medium pants and large to extra large shirts and sweaters. I bought large and had to return because it was way too tight. More like a medium. I'll try the xl and keep my fingers crossed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by YooperShrek from U.P. of MI on Tuesday, December 8, 2015
    This is my Christmas present and I'm not supposed to know about it but I found it and had to try it on! It's great both in fit and look. I felt like I should be smoking a pipe while reading Dickens and looking all professorial and smart. Very warm and comfy. It may not raise my IQ but I sure look smart in it. Great sweater!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John in Iowa from Iowa on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    Sweater itself is a 5 star for warmth, comfort, and looks. It lost a star because the buttons are not very well attached.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by L from Northern midwest. on Saturday, April 11, 2015
    Top notch quality, fit as expected. Warm sweater that will get me through the cold northern winter. Wool is not scratchy. Highly recommend it.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 10