Peregrine by J.G. Glover Sweater - Merino Wool , Shawl Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. If there's any doubt as to the pedigree of J.G. Glover of England's shawl neck sweater, you'll think twice once you've discovered it's made of merino wool from British sheep... treasured for its warmth, comfort and strength.

Average Rating based on 75 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 75 reviews
  • Reviewed by PeachesnHerb from California on Saturday, February 01, 2014
    My husband loves this cardigan. The color goes with everything. He loves the look, feel and fit. He looks great in it. Hopefully, it will last for many years to come.
  • Reviewed by JASRB from Indianapolis on Monday, December 09, 2013
    Excellent cold weather product. I watch for the Peregrine brand on sale and almost always purchase if available in my size. Comfortable and long lasting quality product. I highly recommend this product to all sweater lovers.
  • Reviewed by PA Prof from PA on Thursday, December 05, 2013
    I bought this to wear casually and to wear at work. The weight of the wool is just right. Not too bulky. The styling is very nice with the shawl collar and suede elbow patches. It looks great with a variety of colors of shirts and slacks. I have had a number of compliments on it. I am very pleased, plus as always a great deal from Sierra!
  • Reviewed by Tonchan from Japan on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    Best point I chose this sweater is its traditional design and thick merino wool texture.
    And its two pockets are very useful when I go out to put cell-phone and billfold.
    As this item is made in England, M size is fit for me who are 5 feet 8".
  • Reviewed by N W from Connecticut on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    This is one of the best shawl cardigans I've seen, with much higher quality for the price than about anything I've seen at upscale department stores. It's thick, moderately warm, and well constructed, and being made in England is a plus. Despite some other reviewers complaining about sizing, I find this sweater perfectly true to size. It has a slimmer, more tailored (hence more handsome) profile, but not too small by any means. Keep in mind that the charcoal is a very dark charcoal, essentially black. I'll probably come back for the beige at some point.
  • Reviewed by Yitz the Gardner from Maryland on Wednesday, November 06, 2013
    This is a well made sweater with quality wool and handsome styling. Fits well and keeps me warm. Unbelievable price for such a high quality product.
  • Reviewed by Mud from NC on Sunday, November 03, 2013
    Excellent! Fits and looks great.
  • Reviewed by Jerry from missouri on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    this sweater is just what i wanted, the size was just right, the color was right, exactly what was shown. very warm, very good quality, i bought one of each!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan from Baltimore on Monday, February 25, 2013
    One guy said this isn't actually merino, but I think he's wrong. The removable tag explicitly says merino, and while the sewn in tag says "new wool," and not "merino wool" I don't think that they are mutually exclusive descriptions. In any case, the sweater is not scratchy at all.||Regarding a complaint about the buttons: they are loose, but that's the design to match the thick fabric. It's not li
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DJE from Ann Arbor, MI on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Very well made. Warm and cozy. Fits and looks great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by librarian from boston on Monday, February 04, 2013
    I love these sweaters, they are perfect for my work, and for wearing out and about. For me they are the classic style! Thanks for offering them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by loving wife from wyoming on Friday, January 04, 2013
    Gave this to husband as a gift and he liked it!!! Color was darker than I expected (charcoal was definitely black). Husband loves the comfort and the cool elbow patches.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DocVegas from Las Vegas on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    This is a nice sweater, but it is way too small. I see now that other purchasers also said this, I should have read the reviews!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eric from Amherst, MA on Wednesday, January 02, 2013
    The weight is less than a Peregrine/Glover sweater ordered a few years back. I would characterize it as mid-weight rather than the heavier-weight ordered previously. Otherwise, the wool is very soft and the yarn a finer diameter. Warm, classic looking and very comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rotarian PJD from Lakewood, CO on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    This was a gift for my husband & he loves it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Indiana on Saturday, December 01, 2012
    This is my new favorite sweater. It's perfect for throwing on over a button down shirt in the cool evening. I've had several compliments when wearing this out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Fashionable Everyman from San Francisco, CA on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    Loose knitting -- was already starting to lose shape after one wearing. Returned for refund.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Searcy, AR on Monday, November 19, 2012
    Not sure haven't warn yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Runs with the dog from Wisconsin on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    My very stylish daughter purchases this sweater last year. Since then I've wanted one. When it became available, got it!!
    It's a nice, warm wool sweater, which can be worn for everyday use.
    Of course, drycleaning is a necessity, but expected.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Highlander from Santa Clara, CA on Friday, March 30, 2012
    Material is a little coarser and thinner than expected.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joseph from Cleveland, OH on Monday, March 26, 2012
    Speedy delivery, Love my sweater, it was a replacement for one I that was 10 years old & patched.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Loungung at home
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gov from helendale CA on Sunday, February 26, 2012
    I ordered a 2XL. I couldn't get both arms in this thing! My wife is a women's medium and it fit her just fine, that is the only reason this didn't go back!
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Too small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by JDS from Orange County, CA on Wednesday, February 22, 2012
    While I am not a large person, the "LARGE" size product still seems a little small. It is best to plan at least one size larger than normal when ordering.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Describe Yourself: Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Breathable, Comfortable, High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by RR from Minneapolis on Wednesday, February 08, 2012
    This is an amazing sweater from a great company. It is almost too warm for wearing around the office. The knit is very thick and heavy. The charcoal color is very dark but it looks great with the brown leather buttons. At first it felt like it was too long in the waist and sleves...but after wearing it out it felt right. I'm 6' tall and wear a 42 coat and the large hangs about to the midpoint of my rear pants pockets.
    • Best Uses: Everyday, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, High-end shopper
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Anonymous from Seattle, WA on Wednesday, February 01, 2012
    I already own and enjoy one of the Irish fisherman style sweaters from the same brand. This item is great for layering, especially when worn as brisk weather outerwear. The bulk is great for warmth, but maybe a little beyond what I'd prefer. Still a great buy for ~$100; it really feels like you're getting your money's worth with how much material is in one of these cardigans. I also love that it's not made in China/similar locale.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Layering
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Heavy bulky
    • Describe Yourself: Classic
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Made in England, Warm, WELL MADE
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by sbcraig from santa barbara, CA on Thursday, January 26, 2012
    Ok Sweater, not what I expected. A bit of a disappointment. Definitely not worth the list price.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Cons: Not Warm
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Mom from PA on Wednesday, January 25, 2012
    Feels tight under the arms - returned for the next size up.
    The sweater feels really nice to the touch, has leather buttons and elbow patches. Not itchy
    • Best Uses: Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Reviewed by the dog walker from Cincinnati OH on Saturday, January 14, 2012
    every afternoon the dog and I jump on the bed and cork off; but first I turn down the heat and wrap myself in this cardigan.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by cloroxbottle from Vegas on Wednesday, January 11, 2012
    I have had a sweater much like this one and ware it at work in the office for about 9 years. This new sweater is very much the same quality.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Going Out, Office, Travel
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical
    • Length: Feels too long
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by bud from augusta county va on Tuesday, January 10, 2012
    quite warm, comfortably heavy. i wish it had elbow patches, but otherwise it's what i would design were i to be designing it for my own use. pretty good bang for the buck..
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday, Office
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: High Quality, Warm
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 75 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.