Customer Reviews Of:
Peregrine by J.G. Glover Sweater - Merino Wool , Shawl Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. If there's any doubt as to the pedigree of J.G. Glover of England's shawl neck sweater, you'll think twice once you've discovered it's made of merino wool from British sheep... treasured for its warmth, comfort and strength.

Average Rating based on 93 reviews 4.365591 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4
  • Reviewed by TT97 from VA on Saturday, May 21, 2016
    I worried about sizing and almost didn't buy it for that reason. I'm a 38S (5'9", 158 lbs) in suits and a 15/32 in dress shirts. The medium fits me very well. I have a thick chest and shoulders (lots of pullups) and flat stomach but am not at all "jacked"--and the fit for both areas is spot-on. Not tight at all but not blousy. It is sort of a relaxed fit down at the sides, but that works for this sweater, being so cozy and professorial.

    The sleeves on me are slightly long; I have to turn up the ends--but I have to do with just about every sweater I own. If my arms were any shorter, I could get a part on Game of Thrones. The hem (torso) hangs to the top 1/3 of my rump--right where it should. SO glad I didn't buy the large size! I suspect the small (had it been available) might also have worked.

    As someone noted, the material is soft (being new merino wool, as stated on the tag) and not super-thick, like some Nordic sweaters. More like a shaker knit; held up to the light, you can indeed see through it. But in my book, that's a good thing, because most office buildings are overheated in the fall and winter.

    The leather patches are a little far down, starting just above the elbow bone and extending partly down my forearm, but that also is not bad, because I'm always putting my forearms on the keyboard/desk/table. So this will probably prevent snags/wear. And you don't really notice them in this color; the brown patches blend in with the tan.

    The color of the tan version is almost a deep olive--not green at all but about the darkest tan you could imagine. I like it a lot.

    If there's a slightly weak point, it would be the buttons; close-up, you can tell they're not woven leather but a printed plastic, or perhaps wood. Not a big deal. They seem to be attached securely; time will tell.

    Very happy with this sweater!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BuffaloBookworm from Buffalo on Monday, February 15, 2016
    I found my J.G. Glover shawl-neck cardigan to be very comfortable and well-made. My only complaint was that their sizing runs very small, so it took me a couple of tries to find one that fit. I'm a size 44 chest. According to the tags, a size large fit chest sizes 42-44, so, I ordered a large. It fit really well in the collar (16.5 or so) and sleeve (approximately 35.5), but was so tight in the chest that I could barely button it closed, and the sleeves were so slim that they bordered on being too tight. I returned it for an extra large, which fit better in the sleeves (36" or so, and a fuller, less-tight sleeve), but was only slightly roomier in the chest. I ended up with a size XXL (labeled for chest size 50), which is larger than what I wear in almost any brand. The only other brand in which I wear XXL is another British company, so perhaps the difference is simply attributable to U.S. versus U.K. sizing. Similarly, my father, who wears a 42 long sportcoat, had to order an XL. If you buy one, definitely order one at least one size larger than what you normally wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Nick from DC on Saturday, February 6, 2016
    Well made and nice looking, good fit if you size up 1.
  • Reviewed by likes quality stuff from upstate NY on Sunday, January 24, 2016
    Great looking sweater and fine if you've got a good heating system in place. But this is definetly not for outside below 35 degrees as the weave is too loose for that (for warmer it's good). The sizing is true (do not order a size up) as my size is just right. Nice elbow patches and beautiful brown buttons. Very nice and extra wool round the neck. Looks good & durable and ok for most uses, but if you go out and need something for the road, look elsewhere if you're in the northern part of the US. If it had a tighter weave and were a bit warmer, I'd give it four/five stars, but it just does not do it for the cold. It is one of the better Peregrine sweaters I've tried, and I'm keeping it because it's good for the milder weather.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alfein from Salt Lake City, UT on Wednesday, January 20, 2016
    This is a really great sweater. Yay for J. G. Glover! I debated for awhile because they also had a Cable Knit sweater with button front, which I found really tempting. This one won my internal debate and there is no looking back. This fit exactly as expected. It is heavyweight and is very warm. It is soft and the colors are perfect. Suede elbow patches for classic looks and extra protection. The buttons are also very classic.
    This is a truly great investment for winter wear. It would be very hard to top. Highly recommended.
  • Reviewed by scsfll from Florida on Friday, January 8, 2016
    I was looking forward to the delivery of the sweater. Be fore I even put it on I could tell it was very short. I am an athletic, true XXL. Unbuttoned the sweater fell to middle of my sides.

    So disappointed as it's great looking and has an excellent weight.

    Now the other bad thing STP has horrendous shipping charges then return charges.

    THIS IS NOT A CORRECT SIZE.

    Disappointing for a TJX company.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by marty s. from MA on Wednesday, December 16, 2015
    The weave wasn't as tight as I was hoping, but overall a very nice sweater for the cost. Quite warm.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joetvman from Northeast on Tuesday, December 15, 2015
    Good quality but slim cut. I have broad shoulders and wear medium pants and large to extra large shirts and sweaters. I bought large and had to return because it was way too tight. More like a medium. I'll try the xl and keep my fingers crossed.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by YooperShrek from U.P. of MI on Tuesday, December 8, 2015
    This is my Christmas present and I'm not supposed to know about it but I found it and had to try it on! It's great both in fit and look. I felt like I should be smoking a pipe while reading Dickens and looking all professorial and smart. Very warm and comfy. It may not raise my IQ but I sure look smart in it. Great sweater!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John in Iowa from Iowa on Wednesday, November 4, 2015
    Sweater itself is a 5 star for warmth, comfort, and looks. It lost a star because the buttons are not very well attached.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by L from Northern midwest. on Saturday, April 11, 2015
    Top notch quality, fit as expected. Warm sweater that will get me through the cold northern winter. Wool is not scratchy. Highly recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roy from Wisconsin on Monday, March 23, 2015
    This is a very well made sweater, with a big "but"...... I normally wear a med to large, (6', 190#), so I originally ordered this in large. When it arrived, I could barely get it on, way too tight. I returned and exchanged that for an XL. The fit is better, but still a lot slimmer than I think proper for a traditionally styled wool cardigan. So buyer beware. Otherwise the quality of the wool, leather buttons and elbow patches is all top notch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from New York on Friday, January 16, 2015
    A finer shawl collar cardigan. I wouldn't chop wood with it but I would wear it in or out, casual or more formal. The wool does not itch and the warmth is instantly noticeable. I like the tighter and smaller weave on the cuff and hem. You've got to decide what you're looking for. This is a sweater, not a jacket.
  • Reviewed by WilliamInNashvilee from Nashville, TN on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    I post in agreement with the other reviewers that mentioned the hue of the wool being more black than charcoal. Very decent, mid-weight English sweater...at a VERY reasonable offering (5-stars for value). However, not a fine tight knit exquisite piece...(4-star craftsmanship); no regrets in this purchase. Recommend highly for daily wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Derrick from Michigan on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    My father loved this gift. Very well constructed and warm!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Foothill femme from NorCal on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    Warm, well-made, great for my slim guy with long arms.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alane from Tennessee on Monday, December 29, 2014
    This sweater was given as a Christmas gift for my father. It is handsome, soft and the quality is fantastic. We were impressed with the quality of the construction as well as the softness of the wool. Would definitely purchase this item again!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NewFieGirl from West Bloomfield on Sunday, December 28, 2014
    well made sweater. Runs small need to return it.
  • Reviewed by PeachesnHerb from California on Saturday, February 1, 2014
    My husband loves this cardigan. The color goes with everything. He loves the look, feel and fit. He looks great in it. Hopefully, it will last for many years to come.
  • Reviewed by JASRB from Indianapolis on Monday, December 9, 2013
    Excellent cold weather product. I watch for the Peregrine brand on sale and almost always purchase if available in my size. Comfortable and long lasting quality product. I highly recommend this product to all sweater lovers.
  • Reviewed by PAProf from PA on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    I bought this to wear casually and to wear at work. The weight of the wool is just right. Not too bulky. The styling is very nice with the shawl collar and suede elbow patches. It looks great with a variety of colors of shirts and slacks. I have had a number of compliments on it. I am very pleased, plus as always a great deal from Sierra!
  • Reviewed by Tonchan from Japan on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    Best point I chose this sweater is its traditional design and thick merino wool texture.
    And its two pockets are very useful when I go out to put cell-phone and billfold.
    As this item is made in England, M size is fit for me who are 5 feet 8".
  • Reviewed by N W from Connecticut on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    This is one of the best shawl cardigans I've seen, with much higher quality for the price than about anything I've seen at upscale department stores. It's thick, moderately warm, and well constructed, and being made in England is a plus. Despite some other reviewers complaining about sizing, I find this sweater perfectly true to size. It has a slimmer, more tailored (hence more handsome) profile, but not too small by any means. Keep in mind that the charcoal is a very dark charcoal, essentially black. I'll probably come back for the beige at some point.
  • Reviewed by Yitz the Gardner from Maryland on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    This is a well made sweater with quality wool and handsome styling. Fits well and keeps me warm. Unbelievable price for such a high quality product.
  • Reviewed by Mud from NC on Sunday, November 3, 2013
    Excellent! Fits and looks great.
  • Reviewed by Jerry from missouri on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    this sweater is just what i wanted, the size was just right, the color was right, exactly what was shown. very warm, very good quality, i bought one of each!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan from Baltimore on Monday, February 25, 2013
    One guy said this isn't actually merino, but I think he's wrong. The removable tag explicitly says merino, and while the sewn in tag says "new wool," and not "merino wool" I don't think that they are mutually exclusive descriptions. In any case, the sweater is not scratchy at all.||Regarding a complaint about the buttons: they are loose, but that's the design to match the thick fabric. It's not li
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DJE from Ann Arbor, MI on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Very well made. Warm and cozy. Fits and looks great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by librarian from boston on Monday, February 4, 2013
    I love these sweaters, they are perfect for my work, and for wearing out and about. For me they are the classic style! Thanks for offering them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by loving wife from wyoming on Friday, January 4, 2013
    Gave this to husband as a gift and he liked it!!! Color was darker than I expected (charcoal was definitely black). Husband loves the comfort and the cool elbow patches.
  • Sort by:
  • 1 ... 4