Peregrine by J.G. Glover Sweater - Merino Wool , Shawl Neck (For Men)

Closeouts. If there's any doubt as to the pedigree of J.G. Glover of England's shawl neck sweater, you'll think twice once you've discovered it's made of merino wool from British sheep... treasured for its warmth, comfort and strength.

Average Rating based on 83 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 83 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by L from Northern midwest. on Saturday, April 11, 2015
    Top notch quality, fit as expected. Warm sweater that will get me through the cold northern winter. Wool is not scratchy. Highly recommend it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Roy from Wisconsin on Monday, March 23, 2015
    This is a very well made sweater, with a big "but"...... I normally wear a med to large, (6', 190#), so I originally ordered this in large. When it arrived, I could barely get it on, way too tight. I returned and exchanged that for an XL. The fit is better, but still a lot slimmer than I think proper for a traditionally styled wool cardigan. So buyer beware. Otherwise the quality of the wool, leather buttons and elbow patches is all top notch.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tom from New York on Friday, January 16, 2015
    A finer shawl collar cardigan. I wouldn't chop wood with it but I would wear it in or out, casual or more formal. The wool does not itch and the warmth is instantly noticeable. I like the tighter and smaller weave on the cuff and hem. You've got to decide what you're looking for. This is a sweater, not a jacket.
  • Reviewed by WilliamInNashville from Nashville, TN on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    I post in agreement with the other reviewers that mentioned the hue of the wool being more black than charcoal. Very decent, mid-weight English sweater...at a VERY reasonable offering (5-stars for value). However, not a fine tight knit exquisite piece...(4-star craftsmanship); no regrets in this purchase. Recommend highly for daily wear.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Derrick from Michigan on Tuesday, January 6, 2015
    My father loved this gift. Very well constructed and warm!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Foothill femme from NorCal on Sunday, January 4, 2015
    Warm, well-made, great for my slim guy with long arms.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Alane from Tennessee on Monday, December 29, 2014
    This sweater was given as a Christmas gift for my father. It is handsome, soft and the quality is fantastic. We were impressed with the quality of the construction as well as the softness of the wool. Would definitely purchase this item again!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by NewFieGirl from West Bloomfield on Sunday, December 28, 2014
    well made sweater. Runs small need to return it.
  • Reviewed by PeachesnHerb from California on Saturday, February 1, 2014
    My husband loves this cardigan. The color goes with everything. He loves the look, feel and fit. He looks great in it. Hopefully, it will last for many years to come.
  • Reviewed by JASRB from Indianapolis on Monday, December 9, 2013
    Excellent cold weather product. I watch for the Peregrine brand on sale and almost always purchase if available in my size. Comfortable and long lasting quality product. I highly recommend this product to all sweater lovers.
  • Reviewed by PAProf from PA on Thursday, December 5, 2013
    I bought this to wear casually and to wear at work. The weight of the wool is just right. Not too bulky. The styling is very nice with the shawl collar and suede elbow patches. It looks great with a variety of colors of shirts and slacks. I have had a number of compliments on it. I am very pleased, plus as always a great deal from Sierra!
  • Reviewed by Tonchan from Japan on Saturday, November 30, 2013
    Best point I chose this sweater is its traditional design and thick merino wool texture.
    And its two pockets are very useful when I go out to put cell-phone and billfold.
    As this item is made in England, M size is fit for me who are 5 feet 8".
  • Reviewed by N W from Connecticut on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    This is one of the best shawl cardigans I've seen, with much higher quality for the price than about anything I've seen at upscale department stores. It's thick, moderately warm, and well constructed, and being made in England is a plus. Despite some other reviewers complaining about sizing, I find this sweater perfectly true to size. It has a slimmer, more tailored (hence more handsome) profile, but not too small by any means. Keep in mind that the charcoal is a very dark charcoal, essentially black. I'll probably come back for the beige at some point.
  • Reviewed by Yitz the Gardner from Maryland on Wednesday, November 6, 2013
    This is a well made sweater with quality wool and handsome styling. Fits well and keeps me warm. Unbelievable price for such a high quality product.
  • Reviewed by Mud from NC on Sunday, November 3, 2013
    Excellent! Fits and looks great.
  • Reviewed by Jerry from missouri on Wednesday, May 22, 2013
    this sweater is just what i wanted, the size was just right, the color was right, exactly what was shown. very warm, very good quality, i bought one of each!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Evan from Baltimore on Monday, February 25, 2013
    One guy said this isn't actually merino, but I think he's wrong. The removable tag explicitly says merino, and while the sewn in tag says "new wool," and not "merino wool" I don't think that they are mutually exclusive descriptions. In any case, the sweater is not scratchy at all.||Regarding a complaint about the buttons: they are loose, but that's the design to match the thick fabric. It's not li
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DJE from Ann Arbor, MI on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Very well made. Warm and cozy. Fits and looks great.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by librarian from boston on Monday, February 4, 2013
    I love these sweaters, they are perfect for my work, and for wearing out and about. For me they are the classic style! Thanks for offering them!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by loving wife from wyoming on Friday, January 4, 2013
    Gave this to husband as a gift and he liked it!!! Color was darker than I expected (charcoal was definitely black). Husband loves the comfort and the cool elbow patches.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by DocVegas from Las Vegas on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    This is a nice sweater, but it is way too small. I see now that other purchasers also said this, I should have read the reviews!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eric from Amherst, MA on Wednesday, January 2, 2013
    The weight is less than a Peregrine/Glover sweater ordered a few years back. I would characterize it as mid-weight rather than the heavier-weight ordered previously. Otherwise, the wool is very soft and the yarn a finer diameter. Warm, classic looking and very comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rotarian PJD from Lakewood, CO on Wednesday, December 26, 2012
    This was a gift for my husband & he loves it!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Indiana on Saturday, December 1, 2012
    This is my new favorite sweater. It's perfect for throwing on over a button down shirt in the cool evening. I've had several compliments when wearing this out.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by The Fashionable Everyman from San Francisco, CA on Tuesday, November 27, 2012
    Loose knitting -- was already starting to lose shape after one wearing. Returned for refund.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from Searcy, AR on Monday, November 19, 2012
    Not sure haven't warn yet.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Runs with the dog from Wisconsin on Sunday, November 18, 2012
    My very stylish daughter purchases this sweater last year. Since then I've wanted one. When it became available, got it!!
    It's a nice, warm wool sweater, which can be worn for everyday use.
    Of course, drycleaning is a necessity, but expected.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Highlander from Santa Clara, CA on Friday, March 30, 2012
    Material is a little coarser and thinner than expected.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Joseph from Cleveland, OH on Monday, March 26, 2012
    Speedy delivery, Love my sweater, it was a replacement for one I that was 10 years old & patched.
    • Best Uses: Casual Wear, Loungung at home
    • Chest Size: Feels true to size
    • Describe Yourself: Classic, Comfort-oriented, Practical
    • Length: Feels true to length
    • Pros: Comfortable, High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels true to length
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gov from helendale CA on Sunday, February 26, 2012
    I ordered a 2XL. I couldn't get both arms in this thing! My wife is a women's medium and it fit her just fine, that is the only reason this didn't go back!
    • Best Uses: Everyday
    • Chest Size: Feels too small
    • Cons: Too small
    • Describe Yourself: Comfort-oriented
    • Length: Feels too short
    • Pros: High Quality, Stylish
    • Sleeve Length: Feels too short
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-30 of 83 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #