Headquartered in Austria, Pieps has worked tirelessly for the past 40 years to become one of the world’s leading producers of high-quality avalanche safety products and backcountry skiing safety equipment. Pieps avalanche transceivers like the Pieps DSP Transceiver are built to provide superior, reliable performance, including features like digital direction and distance indicators, Smart transmitter technology and precise pinpointing accuracy. Pieps avalanche probes and shovels are crafted of extremely rugged and lightweight components. If yo ... Learn more about Piepsu’ve been looking for the absolute best backcountry safety gear you can find, Pieps beacons, probes and shovels will deliver. ... Less
Average Rating based on 9 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
  • Reviewed by Dmytro Sytnyk from Kiev, Ukraine on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    This bag is brilliantly designed and made very well. The weight of the pack fits the descriptions. Although it doesn't have a full pack cover It is made of Cordura waterproof fabric and has a fully waterproof compartment in the cap. Unlike some of the previous reviewers I got mine completely new with tags. I can confirm that it does not have any frame. With the given size it simple does not need the one. To my best knowledge only few in this class (climbing packs) have an internal frame of some sort. On one side of the belt it has small coated steel rope woven in (to attach various climbing equipment). On the other side of the belt it has a small zip gadget pocket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dave from california on Monday, August 18, 2014
    really nice durable bag. Haven't used it on a climb yet, but it's the perfect size to hold the rope and other necessities. Used it for a road trip; no complaints yet.
  • Reviewed by Thurston Howell III from Here and there on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    Got the bag a couple months ago. I use it for runs on the beach right now and plan to use for two night backpacking trips very soon. I run with it full and fits amazingly. If you like luxuries when camping then this might not be right. For me it fits everything i need inside. I have my one man tent and small stuffed sleeping bag on the outside and is still comfy. It has an extra clip on the inside that comes out where the camelback straw does that compresses the bag down for if your carrying a light load so it stays comfortable.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by OldTreePlanter from Maine on Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    Ok so I got this pack for the side zip which is well designed and works good enough, large zip has the power to close when sack is full. Hip belt comes off which is a good feature that was not listed, BUT where's the frame, Ad listed HDPE frame sheet and mono tubular al stays. No Frame sheet or aluminum stays. Farily firm foam instead sewn in, this makes it more flexible but packs I've had of this size carry more better when they have the stays. Upper cord lock on the sack was broken, a quick fix from my spare parts, some dirt was on it, most of it wiped off. But I paid for a new pack with a frame not a return or used one without a frame. As it was, everything worked with a few tweaks, stiching is ok, Zipper's a great upgrade from my old packs. if i could just go back to the store and exchange it I would have, but it's too long to return it for an exchange, I put it to work right away.
  • Reviewed by mimi from Seattle on Thursday, January 30, 2014
    Finally, a backcountry ski pack that fits me (will fit women 5'6 and taller); has a supportive hip belt; has a quickly/easily accessible avalanche safety gear pocket that accommodates my large voile shovel, extendable shovel pole, and snow probe; has strong/durable ski-carry straps on each side of the pack; and has two side slots for ice ax/ice tools. There is also a tool loop (somewhat large loop for tools yet too narrow for many of today's skis) on the back of the pack. This pack s generally "light" in weight once I stripped down to the essentials for backcountry skiing. Material is water proof (probably only water resistant, but a good material for wet conditions). The main compartment is roomy for extra jacket/clothes, water, lunch, and rope or other gear you may need, and if the pack volume is not in full use, it compresses well. If you use a water bladder, there is a designated sac for that in the main compartment, otherwise, there is ample room for two one-liter bottles. There are two zipper pockets under the lid that are labeled as "100% waterproof" (nothing like this can be 100% waterproof, but the material is water resistant, and the zippers are "sealed"). The pack can be reconfigured to your needs. If you're not a snowboarder, you can remove both of the heavy/bulky snowboard carry straps; if you carry/ use snowshoes, you can use these straps to carry them (MSR mountaineering snowshoes would fit into these straps). In the pocket lid, you will find some two extra compression straps; two Velcro straps with stretchy-like gear loop attached to them; and there is a lightweight helmet sling that can be attached to the back of the pack to carry your helmet on the outside. On the outside of the pack, lightweight aluminum metal hooks are used to secure compression straps rather than the traditional plastic clips most of us are used to. They seem to work fine, but work best if straps are compressed. They do have the benefit of not freezing shut or breaking/cracking. The main compartment has a drawstring entrance under the pack lid OR you can enter it from the side with a zipper. I double I will ever use the side entry, so for me, the side zip is just additional weight to the pack. However, in an emergency, if you need to get to a first aid kit or warm clothes quickly, you can pull the side zip and you are in your pack and getting what you need in a second. Carries gear well. Comfortable. Generally "light" weight, when stripped down to essentials.
  • Reviewed by Rick from Jordan, Mn on Monday, December 23, 2013
    I bought this for my son to use as a winter/snowshoe pack. It is very high quality with an over-abundance of attachment points. If you like loops and dangles, this is your pack. I can see that it is more of a skiing pack as the harness will not only keep the pack on your back but also keep it extremely stable. The holding capacity is not great, but again, I think it is for skiing not packing. Back to my son, I thought this pack could have been used as a general purpose pack for him to use for school in addition to winter sports but the harness is just to sturdy and intricate that it would get in the way. Bottom line- buy this pack for what it was made for - skiing and snowboarding.
  • Reviewed by Wahoo51 from Whistler on Wednesday, December 11, 2013
    This is a great pack, with easy access to emergency equipment if ever needed. the rest of the pack holds enough stuff for your day in the Backcountry...
  • Reviewed by Mammoth Mike from Mammoth Lakes, CA on Tuesday, December 10, 2013
    I bought this pack and the 24l Freeride. I returned the freeride because after you packed you shovel, probe and skins there wasn't much room left. The Myotis 30L has the right amount of room while not being to bulky. I intend to use it for sidecountry trips and short day trips into the backcountry.
    The fabric is strong and dense, not flimsy nylon. The ski attachment straps are also rugged. I like the ice axe sleeves.
    The only complaints are there is no sleeve in the shoulder straps to insulate a camelbak hose and the pocket on the waistband is too small for a compact camera.
  • Reviewed by Marcel from Boise, ID on Thursday, June 20, 2013
    I bought the tour version of this beacon which doesn't have the scan function and the frequency checker, I won't be a tour leader any time soon so it wasn't worth the extra $50 for the features. Other than that it's the same beacon. It's one of the best beacons in the market along with the mammut pulse barryvox. For the price it's being sold at STP this is the best for your money, you are getting a top of the line beacon for an affordable price, don't forget a beacon can save your life and/or your friend's life. I haven't used this much yet other than for a couple of training sessions on a beacon park. It's very intuitive and works fast and has a good range. It gets some time to get used to the harness it's a little bulky compared to bca tracker or mammut harnesses, but not a big issue. STP is selling the fall 2012 which comes with the latest firmware so you save some money having to send it to a pieps customer service in order to get a firmware update. Don't think twice if you are looking for a new beacon or your first one, this is a great buy. One note is that PIEPS beacons don't have the switch back to transmit mode, this might be a deal breaker if you like the feature, I think it's very unlikely to get caught on a second slide while searching for a buried person, but you might think differently , other than this one I would only consider the Mammut Pulse Barryvox.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1-9 of 9 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;