• Pieps Reviews

Headquartered in Austria, Pieps has worked tirelessly for the past 40 years to become one of the world’s leading producers of high-quality avalanche safety products and backcountry skiing safety equipment. Pieps avalanche transceivers like the Pieps DSP Transceiver are built to provide superior, reliable performance, including features like digital direction and distance indicators, Smart transmitter technology and precise pinpointing accuracy. Pieps avalanche probes and shovels are crafted of extremely rugged and lightweight components. If yo ... Learn more about Piepsu’ve been looking for the absolute best backcountry safety gear you can find, Pieps beacons, probes and shovels will deliver. ... Less
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Uom from California on Monday, November 16, 2015
    I got this back pack because I knew it was excellent quality. But I didnt use as intended for skiing but rather for hiking in Bhutan. It has specific features that I did not use but adapted for my use. I was right about the quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kick Glide Debbie from Red Lodge, Montana on Wednesday, July 8, 2015
    This skiers backpack is so awesome. It is made to ski with. I have never seen a backpack so comfortable and versatile. I know it will be fantastic for skiing in bounds and out bounds as a back country and ski mountaineering backpack where it's going to be spending most of it's time. The multiple features are going to get their use to the limit. The quality of this pack can take it. It is so well made. Love the bright colors (Yellow - Orange).
    Three cheers for Pieps and for you guys at Sierra for having it available.
  • Reviewed by Davey Crockett from Tennessee on Friday, June 26, 2015
    ... very complex and "strap-y".

    Cinching up the pack shouldn't be so hard. This one has cinching and straps and Velcro the likes of which I've never seen on a small 30L day pack. Even for a large backcountry pack, you may question justifying this many straps and complex method of keeping all these straps from hanging loose. Unbelievably complex and a hassle to use. In addition, the lack of any good support system, internal frame, etc. makes me wonder what Pieps was thinking this time.

    I own another 36L Pieps backpack, which I love... and a much more simple, useful design (http://www.sierratradingpost.com/pieps-alpinist-pro-backpack-36l~p~6494x/)
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Tracy from Mountains of Utah - Desert of Arabia on Friday, May 22, 2015
    I was looking to replace my current pack that I had been using. This pack caught my eye, I check out the other reviews and the manufacturers website I liked the features. I placed it on my wish list here on Sierra Trading Post and when the price was right I pulled the trigger and purchased it. I was not disappointed when it arrived. It is a snow-sport specific backpack and the features are designed with that intention but I have been traveling the last two weeks through Europe and have used it as my carryon bag. I like the size, it is larger than an commuter backpack that would hold a laptop. The construction is solid and I like the waterproof compartment. It will be a great pack skiing and day tripping this winter.

    Hope this helped,
    Tracy - Utah, USA
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Utah Grey Beard Skier from Utah on Saturday, February 7, 2015
    Started put by ordering the 'lite' version of this pack. It was not sturdy enough to handle the daily skiing in the Wasatch Mntns.
    Exchanged it for this model. Perfect....including the extra straps to carry a snowboard, extra loops for other gear & a removeable mesh helmet pouch.
    Really heavy-duty construction.

    Thank You Sierra Trading Post for the quick & easy exchange process! Will be ordering again from your great company
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Wil the Adventurer from Utah on Tuesday, December 2, 2014
    I ordered it to be a ski back pack but it was so sweet I had to keep it. Its really easy to use and works great, one of the best backpacks i have used.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by SBClimbs from colorado on Friday, November 14, 2014
    Material looks stout. Fits well, was just smaller than i thought so returned it.
  • Reviewed by Dmytro Sytnyk from Kiev, Ukraine on Tuesday, September 16, 2014
    This bag is brilliantly designed and made very well. The weight of the pack fits the descriptions. Although it doesn't have a full pack cover It is made of Cordura waterproof fabric and has a fully waterproof compartment in the cap. Unlike some of the previous reviewers I got mine completely new with tags. I can confirm that it does not have any frame. With the given size it simple does not need the one. To my best knowledge only few in this class (climbing packs) have an internal frame of some sort. On one side of the belt it has small coated steel rope woven in (to attach various climbing equipment). On the other side of the belt it has a small zip gadget pocket.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by dave from california on Monday, August 18, 2014
    really nice durable bag. Haven't used it on a climb yet, but it's the perfect size to hold the rope and other necessities. Used it for a road trip; no complaints yet.
  • Reviewed by Thurston Howell III from Here and there on Sunday, July 27, 2014
    Got the bag a couple months ago. I use it for runs on the beach right now and plan to use for two night backpacking trips very soon. I run with it full and fits amazingly. If you like luxuries when camping then this might not be right. For me it fits everything i need inside. I have my one man tent and small stuffed sleeping bag on the outside and is still comfy. It has an extra clip on the inside that comes out where the camelback straw does that compresses the bag down for if your carrying a light load so it stays comfortable.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 16 reviews
;