Platypus SoftBottle - BPA-Free, 1L

Closeouts. With the compact, lightweight Platypus SoftBottle, you can carry one liter of water without the extra bulk or weight of a metal or composite water bottle.

Average Rating based on 13 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
  • Reviewed by Joel the cyclist from Michigan on Monday, November 4, 2013
    What else is there to say? Probably the lightest waterbottle I've ever owned, and it holds an additional liter of water when you need it. I have one for long distance bike tripping, to keep extra water on long stretches between towns, but it would be equally useful for a backpacker or other adventurer. Get one!
  • Reviewed by David from Vancouver, BC on Monday, November 4, 2013
    It's a nice bottle and does what it says. However, because the mouth is at the end, it causes the two halves of the bottle to separate near the mouth piece, which in turn creates a perpetual air bubble before you get to any water. You could turn the bottle upside down and let the air rise I suppose, but personally, I think it would have been better if the mouth piece was on one of the sides rather than at the top.
  • Reviewed by Barbara from California on Thursday, October 31, 2013
    I bought this to replace a Sawyer soft bottle. Much sturdier, easy to pack, no weird taste, this one will work just fine for me.
  • Reviewed by Weirdo from Alabama on Monday, October 28, 2013
    Bought these for when I am on the trail and need to carry extra water. I like the fact that they colapse and are so light.
  • Reviewed by WolfSoul from Tucson, AZ on Sunday, October 27, 2013
    These little collapsible bottles are quite nice. I have used them backpacking, and they also work well for sneaking a bottle of water into the movie theater, as they are sort of flat when full and fit into the cargo pocket of my shorts inconspicuously. After getting one to see how it works, I got several more for an upcoming overseas trip. They'll pack down well, but allow us to use reusable bottles on our trip.
  • Reviewed by WVMTNRNNR from SOVA on Tuesday, October 22, 2013
    I have not used them yet but I do not see any issues. I agree a flip top would add to the convenience but otherwise no issues. Much much lighter and more compact than the quart Gatorade bottles I normally carry.
  • Reviewed by Saranchun from Nassau on Friday, October 18, 2013
    Plusses: easy to pack / store, BPA free, reusable, light
    To improve upon: a flip open cap could have made it easier to open while drivingn, handling multiple things at a time
  • Reviewed by W from Atlanta on Wednesday, October 16, 2013
    These bottles pack small, are great for hiking and for airline travel.
    Freeze well if not completely full--great for less mess in the cooler when car camping or road trips.
    They are difficult to dry out after washing
    Store them with a 1/2 teaspoon of whiskey inside and they wont ever get any mold or bacteria after months in storage.
  • Reviewed by Bruce from North GA on Tuesday, October 15, 2013
    Great item. Good for all sports, particularly hiking and camping where you want to minimize what you have to carry. Rolls to a very small size when empty, or you can fill it with air and use to stuff your camp pillow with.
  • Reviewed by Northwest trekker from Washington on Wednesday, October 9, 2013
    Convenient way to carry water backpacking and packs out of the way when empty. Nice addition to my gear.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2
  • 1-10 of 13 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
For the fastest service when contacting us, use your Customer Reference #