Considered a major innovator in hydration systems for avid outdoor adventurers, Platypus® (part of the Cascade Designs family of outdoor brands) has been creating phenomenal hydration products since 1996. Beginning with space-saving collapsible water bottles and eventually moving into full-featured hydration packs, Platypus® products like the Hoser hydration system and SoftBottle are used by hikers, climbers, backpackers, skiers and adventure racers all over the world. All Platypus® hydration systems and bottles are made in the USA using durab ... Learn more about Platypusle, taste-free materials, and Platypus® hydration packs are some of the most comfortable, versatile and well-made packs on the market. ... Less
Average Rating based on 65 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 65 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by MJ from Seward, AK on Monday, July 28, 2014
    I have taken this pack on a 5 hour hike and a 60 mile bike ride. It holds the water tight and is very stable on my back. Next step is to take it out on a run. I'm loving it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BRN from COLORADO on Friday, July 25, 2014
    Just got this bag. Love the bladder, but love the bag more. There are so many pockets and pouches, I can get everting in for a long bike ride.
    4 thumbs up!!
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Eva from Arizona on Tuesday, July 15, 2014
    I'm storing water in the sidecar of my motorcycle (an all electric Zero S). The water acts as ballast, and if I run out of electrons in the desert, I won't die of thirst while awaiting rescue. I got this pack as one of several water storage containers for this task. The valve works great and the pack is comfy and easy to carry if I have to walk away from the bike. Of course around here in Tucson, everyone carries water in their vehicle in case they get stuck.

    Safety tip: If you are stranded in the desert, stay with your vehicle if at all possible. If you must leave, walk at night, and carry as much water as you can.

  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by lov2bnh2o from Bend, OR on Wednesday, July 9, 2014
    Bag is well constructed, hydration bladder is easy to clean and the back has excellent ventilation for those hot days.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jenn Zee from Arizona on Tuesday, July 8, 2014
    We used this as we traveled around Ireland and it was incredible light. I do wish I would have spent the additional $6 and purchased the pack with storage.
  • Reviewed by joe from Colorado on Saturday, June 28, 2014
    Do you know what the best long ride pack out there is? I do, its the Platypus Duthie AM 17. This pack can fit everything you need on a long ride, while still fitting well and not riding like a big bag at all. No movement on the rough stuff and plenty of room to store everything you need for a long day.

    If you are looking for a pack that can hold a days worth of gear and still be comfortable on a short ride this is the pack for you. It fits perfectly, rides comfortably and can hold everything you need. I like this pack more than any hydration pack I have owned. It's extra awesome for people who carry a lot of gear, where I live just below treeline on the continental divide I ride with an extra layer or too all the time and this makes carrying that extra gear a breeze.

    Seriously the Duthie AM 17 should be your next hydration pack.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Red head from colorado on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    This hydration pack was recommended by a tour company. I like the features but it was just too big for my 5'2" frame.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BT from NC on Wednesday, June 25, 2014
    Great fit for the ladies out there. No after taste to the hydration pack. The bite valve did take a little getting use to. Takes very little pressure right at the tip to get a good flow.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Jimmy from S NV on Saturday, June 7, 2014
    Overall this is a great little hydration pack. It has most everything I was looking for...2L of water for a nice 1-2 hour ride in the desert heat of S NV, room for my tools, pump, phone, spare tube, energy bar, etc. No real complaints so far, but I've only been using it for a couple of weeks. The only thing I can knock it for is that there is sometimes an off taste when I haven't used it in 8+ hours. I normally empty it when I'm done for the day, but occasionally if I know I'm going to use it again the next day, I'll just top it off and that is when I notice an off taste for the first few sucks. The other thing that I'm trying to get used to is latching the reservoir into the pack. I'm used to camelbak hydration packs where you just toss the reservoir into the 'envelope'. Well this has two little latch things (see photo) that keep the reservoir from falling to the bottom of the reservoir compartment. Not a huge deal, but it's taking me a little while to get used to it. Besides those two little issues, I'm satisfied with the pack.
  • Reviewed by Rod Wiggler from WNC on Friday, May 30, 2014
    Very comfortable and light weight pack that carries everything I need for a long day on the trail. The bladder system is the best - extremely easy to disconnect the tube from the valve on the bladder for a quick fill without having to remove the hose where it's routed on the straps. It rides securely regardless of the amount of water or gear and seems well ventilated - generally don't even notice it. The fully enclosed gear section has a mesh pocket on the flap, 2 small pouches for a multi-tool or tube and a pump tube - well organized and enough space for me to carry slightly more than the essentials for long rides in warm weather. The outer mesh pocket is large enough to carry a light-weight cycling jacket. It's much more comfortable than either my Osprey Raptor 14 (nice for winter or marathon expeditions but otherwise too large) or my Camelbak Lobo (not enough water or gear for longer rides). Wish STP carried the dark grey version, but the gold may help get spotted if I'm ever lost in the woods.
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 7 »
  • 1-10 of 65 reviews
Copyright 2015, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.
;