Powell Advantage XL Fly Fishing Rod - 4-Piece

Closeouts. Everything you want in a lightweight, fast action fly fishing rod, Powell's Advantage XL rods perform from trout to light saltwater environments with crisp, responsive action.

Average Rating based on 44 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 44 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Pennypincher from Vacaville, CA on Monday, April 27, 2009
    Everything works so well I bought a 4 weight and a 6 weight. Reel seat is not bad just not the easiest to use. Casts well for me but some find it leans toward medium action and they like a faster action. I loved the price.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Chile-been from The Villages, Florida on Wednesday, April 22, 2009
    I bought (5) five of those Powell rods and they are excellent casting tools a real baragin for the reduced price.
    I teach (4) four six weeks Fly Fishing Courses per calendar year and I equiped my students with those rods... I had ordered an 8wt.rod but you are out of stock...
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Ocean Fishing, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Light, Sensitive
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by rolly from san martin, ca on Tuesday, April 21, 2009
    4 piece rods are the way to go
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Ocean Fishing, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Easy To Transport, Flexible
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by erik the snake from vicksburg, michigan on Saturday, April 18, 2009
    will use this rod to catch panfish and smaller trout
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Small Fish
    • Describe Yourself: Casual Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport, Flexible, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Big Catch from Newport Beach on Tuesday, April 14, 2009
    What can I say I bought this rod based on a review I read and was extremely impressed with the quality and detail of this rod. Dual nuts to clamp the reel, beautiful finish, and nice action. I bought a simular priced competitor rod from this site but it was not even close to the quality of this rod. As the review said Powell makes quality gear and Sierra Trading Post gets you a great price!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport, Flexible, Good Tip Action
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by nick the stick from libby montana on Sunday, April 12, 2009
    Honestly I was surprised by the poor quality of these rods. At such a bargain price I bought four. Not bad for [$] but I would have been less than pleased if I spent the original $200. I would not advise that anyone buys this rod.
    • Cons: Poor Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Cheap Quality
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by fisher from WI on Monday, April 06, 2009
    This rod is great. It is a perfect 8wt with 4 piece for easy travel. Very nice casting and accurate. I would highly recommend it, especially at this price!!!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport, Flexible, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Booger the Dooger from Seattle, WA on Thursday, April 02, 2009
    This Powell looks great in the tube sitting in the corner of my living room. Haven't actually used it yet other than to torture the cat with a small feather tied to the tippet. I bought it for the summer forays into the backcountry when eating dehydrated food out of a pouch gets old. If I get to eat, I will rate this rod highly. If I starve to death, then I'll probably give this a lower grade. But you sure can't beat that price!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, River Fishing, Small Fish
    • Describe Yourself: Novice
    • Pros: Easy To Transport
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by casting4fish from Palos Verdes, Ca on Thursday, April 02, 2009
    This fly rod will be used for fishing rainbows in Alaska. The rod casts well and has enough backbone to cast heavy flies and pull on big fish. Best fly rod I have found for the price.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Large Fish, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Easy To Transport, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by buckmaster07631 from metro nyc on Friday, March 27, 2009
    I should probably reserve my review until I have fished with the rod...but at first glance...it looks a bit cheaply put together...in fact it makes a Pfleuger I bought in 1985 look like a premium rod in terms of quality of components. I realize it was inexpensive...and I bought it with the intention of buying a few more for gifts and backup rods for those who don't fish frequently...but definitely doesnt seem like a powell product.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 5 »
  • 1-10 of 44 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.