Customer Reviews Of:
Powell SSL Fly Fishing Rod - 4 Piece, 9' 4wt

Closeouts. Novice and expert casters alike will appreciate the silky smooth medium action, hair-trigger sensitivity and quality materials of Powell's SSL 9' 4wt fly fishing rod. High grade of fit and finish, typical of Powell rods. Graphite rod blank is fitted with titanium alloy stripping guides and chrome snake guides.

  • Wooden reel seat and nickel hardware
  • Anodized reel seat/hardware
  • Dark green with green and silver trim
  • Cordura® nylon-covered PVC rod tube
  • 4-piece rod
  • Line weight: 4wt
  • Rod length: 9'
  • Rod tube: 31" length, 2-½" diameter
  • Total weight: 3.7 oz. (rod and tube)
  • Made in China.
  • Visit our Fly Fishing Guide

Average Rating based on 11 reviews 4.000000 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mj45 from San Diego Ca on Monday, February 20, 2012
    This rod was purchased as a backup for my 3 wt for small stream fishing and backpack fishing. I like the fact that it is a nine foot rod, I'm not a big fan of shorter rods in most cases. 8'6" rods aren't much shorter, so why bother. The rod is a nicely constructed and feels light in the hand. I will say it is a little stouter than a 4 wt, never the less it throws a 4 wt line nicely and will probably over line to a 5 wt without a problem. Thanks Sierra Trading Post... This was a "steal of a deal"
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport, Good Tip Action, Lightweight
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by hubbesb from Decatur, TX on Monday, October 10, 2011
    Powell rods are typically a stiff action. On this 4 weight rod, I use a 4 1/2 weight line. The heavier line w/the lighter rod evens out the stiff action very nicely...I also have a Powell 7 weight. I do the same thing...7 1/2 weight line. Casts like a dream!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, River Fishing, Small Fish
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport, Lightweight, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Burgers from Canton, CT on Tuesday, July 26, 2011
    I purchased the rod for my son. He's been fly-fishing for several years and has out grown his beginner outfit. This rod is light-years ahead of his old rod. It is much easier to cast and cast far. I hope he doesn't take it to school in the fall so I can fish with it!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, River Fishing, Small Fish
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Well made
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Momisita5 from sonora, ca on Friday, May 13, 2011
    I received this new rod as a birthday gift, to replace an old-stiff fly rod. I'm excited that this summer I will be able to try on our local streams and maybe keep up with my husband. My husband thinks this fly rod is even better than his!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Durable, Easy To Transport, Flexible, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: Yes
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by David from palm Desert, CA on Friday, March 25, 2011
    Light weight and useful for smaller rivers. Nice case for transportation
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Great product for smaller
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Everything I wanted, Flexible, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by trout lover from Hailey, ID on Sunday, February 20, 2011
    I purchased this rod for beginner to intermediate anglers to use when fishing.

    The rod has a smooth cast with a medium action. I have cast the Rod but have not fished it yet. The rod cast and has the feel of a good 5 wt rod rather than a medium action 4wt. I cast a 5 wt line on it and it cast well.

    For the price I think it is a very good value. Understand that this is not a high end rod, but for the beginning intermediate angler, a good rod at a great price. Remember this is not a true 4wt in my opinion but more like a 4/5 wt with medium action. For those who are more serious fly-fishers it makes a great back-up rod and rod to use for instruction. I would recommend this rod to those who are budget minded but don't expect a high performance rod with beautiful workmanship at this price.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Professional
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Easy To Transport, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by High Lakes Fisher from Colorado on Thursday, July 22, 2010
    Used this rod 4 times seemed to be ok until I hooked into a 15" cutthroat. Cut 1 Rod 0!!! The rod failed 2" above the 4th connection point.
    • Best Uses: Small Fish
    • Cons: Breaks Easily, Poor Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting
  • Reviewed by Mike from Hope Valley, Ca on Saturday, September 5, 2009
    I use this rod in small sierra/tahoe streams. The bottom line is it catches fish. It is lightweight, with good action, makes short/medium casts with ease. I was skeptical that the low cost would mean low quality . . . no way. The only problem I've had is the locking nut on the reel set seems to loosen as the day goes on. I just have to keep an eye on it.
    • Pros: Inexpensive lightweight
  • Reviewed by Richie from Colorado Springs, Co on Tuesday, August 18, 2009
    Use the 4wt all weekend long,very very good rod.Medium action preform great,rod very well constructed,landed 10-15 trout in a medium running river.Wood seat not very attractive,but I have worst on other rods!
    • Best Uses: Rivers, Small lakes, Small stream
    • Cons: Wood insert is blah
    • Pros: Great action, Light, Well Made
  • Reviewed by Nate Lindy from Michigan on Friday, July 17, 2009
    When i first bought this fly rod i was skeptical. I've used it at the Smokey Mts. and many rivers in Michigan. It is light and inexpensive rod that works great. I am no longer skeptical. This is the best starter rod you can have!
    • Best Uses: Lake, River
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Accurate, Great starter, Light flexible
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2