Powell Tiboron XL Fly Fishing Rod - 4-Piece, 9’

Closeouts. The Powell Tiboron XL fly fishing rod offers fast action and light weight for anglers of all skill levels looking to improve their casting distance.

Average Rating based on 21 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
  • Reviewed by NICKO IN PA. from Pa. on Thursday, January 23, 2014
    Seems to be made well made and action feels like it will be good for my use (steelhead). I am curious about the warranty since no paperwork was sent with the rod
  • Reviewed by Rev J from Michigan on Thursday, May 2, 2013
    This rod suits my stealheading needs just fine. Great rod Great price
  • Reviewed by 40 year fly fisher from up state NY on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    Great fast casting rod.You can't go wrong with this rod.Bought three rods,4-5-6.I'm only sorry I did'nt get a 3 wt.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by johnny from washington on Monday, December 3, 2012
    excellent value for experienced fishermen
  • Reviewed by fishguru from Durango, CO on Thursday, November 22, 2012
    I have several rods from the well known companies, but they don't compare to Powell. If you want a rod that will work for you, the Tiboron is it. These are fast, responsive rods that will get line on the water, yet are still capable of fishing a #28 dry on 7X tippet. I have the 4wt, 6 wt, and now the 5wt and love them all.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by gw from reno on Sunday, November 4, 2012
    I have not used the two rods yet, but I have other powell fly rods and like them. The price for these is why i purchased them.
    • Pros: Powell Is A Good Product
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by mr,charlie from eastern long island on Tuesday, October 9, 2012
    great for making quick casts
  • Reviewed by moucheur2003 from Boston, MA on Thursday, September 13, 2012
    I have had this rod in a 9 weight for several years and it is my favorite of several 9's I own. Its light weight and fast action make double hauling for distance easy. It doesn't tire out my wrist in a long day on the water, like some other fast-action 9's I have used. I liked it so much that I recently ordered an 8 weight when STP started offering them on closeout. I've only cast the 8 on the lawn so far, but it feels very similar. The action is as good or better than many high-end rods costing many $hundreds more. My only gripe is that the poor quality cork grip uses lots of filler to smooth out the cracks and gaps, but that's just a cosmetic quibble that you don't notice when you're using it.
    • Best Uses: Double Hauling, Salmon, saltwater, Steelhead
    • Cons: Inferior Cork In Grip
    • Pros: Fast action, Lightweight, Long Casts Are Easy, Tough Takes A Beating
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Flyfisher from St Louis Mo. on Thursday, August 30, 2012
    Excellent rod for the price
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Ephemeral from Durango, CO. on Thursday, August 23, 2012
    Good product, excellent price. Good for meadow streams and beaver ponds. Not quite medium/fast. I would call it more a medium action rod, which is perfect for dry fly precision. Still handled smaller hoppers with a dropper though. Rod begins to fold at about forty feet with a combo rig. Plenty long for most conditions.
    • Best Uses: Small open streams
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Excellent price, Quality build
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.