Powell TMX Fly Fishing Rod - 4-Piece, 9' 7wt

Closeouts. The Powell TMX four-piece fly fishing rod is a great-casting 9' 7wt that is perfect for travel and angling in remote areas.

  • High-modulus graphite rod blank
  • Medium fast action
  • Titanium alloy stripping guides with nanolite ring inserts
  • Chrome wire snake guides
  • Ti-Graphite reel seat
  • Nickel silver uplocking hardware
  • Natural cork handle
  • Full wells grip
  • 1" fighting butt
  • Cordura® nylon-covered PVC rod tube
  • Four-piece rod
  • Line weight: 7wt
  • Rod:
  • Length: 9'
  • Weight: 4.7 oz.
  • Rod tube:
  • Length: 31"
  • Diameter: 2-½"
  • Weight: 1 lb. 4 oz.
  • Made in China.
  • Visit our Fly Fishing Guide

Average Rating based on 21 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by BigBird from Chicago, IL on Thursday, November 29, 2012
    A good all around rod, its a little heavier but works well.Good for traveling.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Carl from Northeast US on Thursday, July 12, 2012
    So far so good! Great rod - The medium/fast action is great for steel head and big lakers. Rod allows great long casts with heavy streamers and heavy sinking fly lines. A great 7wt rod for the money!
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Large Fish, Ocean Fishing, River Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport, Good Tip Action, Lightweight, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Fishin Magician from Mississippi on Wednesday, November 23, 2011
    Overall, impressed with the rod. Nice action. Terribly unimpressed with the cork. "Out of the box" it's already cracked and in need of some repair. First time out casting, it started to fall apart. I like the action in the rod. I guess it would be fair to say, I like the rod but not the grip. Still a fair rod for the price.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing
    • Cons: Poor Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Casual/ Recreational
    • Pros: Easy To Transport, Flexible, Lightweight, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Saltwater Sam from San Diego on Wednesday, October 26, 2011
    Most rods in the $300 price range would have at a least AAA cork grip. This looks like a Select Grade or worse. Crcked and full of fills.
    • Cons: Poor Construction
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Easy To Transport
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by JL from Nashville, TN on Wednesday, August 31, 2011
    With the first rod received, I had two issues. The cork grip was full of filler, and one of the rod guides was out of sync with the rest. I exchanged and got a much better rod. Guides aligned, better construction on the cork. I paired it with a Reddington Redfly2 Large Arbor reel and now have a good set-up for bass fishing. The rod is an accurate caster, and the sleeve ferrules fit together nicely at all three joints. I would give it 5 stars were it not for the initial rod I received from Sierra.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Large Fish
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Durable, Easy To Transport, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Bahama Boy from Long Point, Canada on Friday, August 12, 2011
    Fished the Marls in Abaco in May with this rod.
    On one day, landed 19 Bones up to 5lbs. Rod was a joy to fish with. Liked it so much that I bought this one for my son.
    • Best Uses: Bone fishing, Fly Fishing
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Good Tip Action, Sensitive
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by commissioner Jim from Decatur, GA on Saturday, August 06, 2011
    I liked it so much I ordered another one. Hard to beat the price.
    • Best Uses: Backup to my 8 wt
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Accurate Casting
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Reviewed by Jim from Springfield VA on Monday, July 25, 2011
    Do not buy a Powell rod. It broke on me in light casting. I had been fishing with it maybe twice... Then, when I went to return it, I learn of the $100 limited warranty. [...]
    • Best Uses: Tomato stake
    • Cons: Breaks Easily, Limited warranty is 100
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Cheap
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by New Flyer from Margate Australia on Tuesday, February 22, 2011
    I thought I was getting a beginners rod at a bargain price. The man at my local fishing shop said, no this is a good quality rod, so I'm even happier.
    • Best Uses: Estury, Fly Fishing, inshore
    • Cons: none
    • Describe Yourself: Beginner
    • Pros: Accurate Casting, Durable, Easy To Transport
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Kamper from Chicagoland on Wednesday, January 12, 2011
    I compared this rod to my Powell Advantage 9wt and the action was almost comparable. The Advantage is a much more giving rod than the TMX will be but I have a feeling casting will be much more accurate.
    • Best Uses: Fly Fishing, Great for Steelhead
    • Cons: Stiffer than expected
    • Describe Yourself: Avid Fisher
    • Pros: Good Tip Action
    • Was this a gift?: No
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 ... 3 »
  • 1-10 of 21 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.