Primus Classic Trail Stove

Closeouts. The Primus Classic trail stove is the ideal compact cooking/boiling system for lightweight backpacking.

Average Rating based on 25 reviews
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 3
  • 11-20 of 25 reviews
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lars from North Carolina on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Use two under a grill/griddle for group cooking on moto- or kayak camping trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rayman from Columbus, OH on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Only one outing so far, but the stove performed flawlessly. Very stable with a 1L pot on it and it boiled quickly and was relatively easy to adjust. It takes a small hit in that the adustment knob could be a little longer to allow easier access. There are lighter and more compact competitors out there, but for the price this is an excellent stove and I look forward to many more outings with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leatherneck Nick from NJ & CO on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    great stove. doesn't take up any space great on short or long trips. as with any primus products EXCELLENT quality. used it on two recent trips without a problem and use it occasionally to heat up soup at work off my tailgate. just needs a wind break.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FlyFloater1 from St. Louis, MO on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    I use this mostly for kayaking overnight. The burner is the size of a range top burner and can simmer. I much prefer this to my Pocket Rocket for cooking.
    I've had no problems with it. In fact I don't believe I've ever seen a negative review for this stove. They just work.

    It's on the heavy end of backpacking stoves, but I don't use it for backpacking, so this isn't a concern.
  • Reviewed by Ed Decoppahead from Long Island, NY on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    This is a little heavy for backpacking for those looking to shave ounces, but for car camping or tailgating, it's perfect. Good for emergency use, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by natureguy247 from Tucson, AZ on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    I have owned a few good compact stoves over the years but this little guy is primo !
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Camping, Day hikes, Day trips, Emergency Home Use
    • Pros: Compact, I Own One, Reliable, Weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the bike chemist from Wayne, NJ on Monday, September 3, 2012
    This is easy to use. Screws right onto a small propane tank. The cross grate allows for all sizes of pots or pans without it wabbling. Allows for use of smaller egg poacher without falling through.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Power Outage
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to use, For All Pots And Pans
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by scientist from San Jose, CA on Monday, July 9, 2012
    This was my first camp stove to take when camping/backpacking alone or with one other person. So far it has been reliable (and it's so easy to use). It's sturdier than I expected and when on even ground, can handle the weight of a wide fry pan or pot without any trouble, as well as balance a small carafe for coffee oer the burner. So far, I love this stove.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Long day hiking
  • Reviewed by The Camper from Seattle WA on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
    I have owned this stove for over five years and it still works great. I use it on 4 or 5 backpacking trips each year. It heats up the food much better than some other, and much more expensive, stoves since the burner is pretty large.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by John from Maple City on Wednesday, May 2, 2012
    Great buy.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Motorcycle camping
    • Cons: Could fold smaller
    • Pros: cheap, Light, Small
  • Sort by:
  • Per page: 10 | 30
  • 1 2 3
  • 11-20 of 25 reviews
Copyright 2014, Sierra Trading Post, Inc. All rights reserved.