Customer Reviews Of:
Primus Classic Trail Stove

Closeouts. The Primus Classic trail stove is the ideal compact cooking/boiling system for lightweight backpacking.

Average Rating based on 26 reviews 4.730769 0 5
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 3
  • Reviewed by Mawree from Montana on Saturday, April 27, 2013
    I used this stove during a week long camping trip in Moab. We used the stove to cook 1-2 meals per day, plus coffee, and went through 2 canisters of fuel in 8 days. The stove is not "ultralight" by any means, but it is compact and light enough for my needs. I used large pots and skillets with it and they were stable. The stove performed well in moderate winds, and never blew out. Fuel canisters are inexpensive. It is easy to assemble and disassemble, easy to light, and does a great job cooking bacon. Overall, for the price, this is the greatest camping gear purchase I've ever made.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Lars from North Carolina on Monday, February 25, 2013
    Use two under a grill/griddle for group cooking on moto- or kayak camping trips.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Rayman from Columbus, OH on Wednesday, February 13, 2013
    Only one outing so far, but the stove performed flawlessly. Very stable with a 1L pot on it and it boiled quickly and was relatively easy to adjust. It takes a small hit in that the adustment knob could be a little longer to allow easier access. There are lighter and more compact competitors out there, but for the price this is an excellent stove and I look forward to many more outings with it.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by Leatherneck Nick from NJ & CO on Tuesday, February 12, 2013
    great stove. doesn't take up any space great on short or long trips. as with any primus products EXCELLENT quality. used it on two recent trips without a problem and use it occasionally to heat up soup at work off my tailgate. just needs a wind break.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by FlyFloater1 from St. Louis, MO on Sunday, February 3, 2013
    I use this mostly for kayaking overnight. The burner is the size of a range top burner and can simmer. I much prefer this to my Pocket Rocket for cooking.
    I've had no problems with it. In fact I don't believe I've ever seen a negative review for this stove. They just work.

    It's on the heavy end of backpacking stoves, but I don't use it for backpacking, so this isn't a concern.
  • Reviewed by Ed Decoppahead from Long Island, NY on Sunday, January 27, 2013
    This is a little heavy for backpacking for those looking to shave ounces, but for car camping or tailgating, it's perfect. Good for emergency use, too.
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by natureguy247 from Tucson, AZ on Wednesday, September 26, 2012
    I have owned a few good compact stoves over the years but this little guy is primo !
    • Best Uses: Backcountry Camping, Day hikes, Day trips, Emergency Home Use
    • Pros: Compact, I Own One, Reliable, Weight
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by the bike chemist from Wayne, NJ on Monday, September 3, 2012
    This is easy to use. Screws right onto a small propane tank. The cross grate allows for all sizes of pots or pans without it wabbling. Allows for use of smaller egg poacher without falling through.
    • Best Uses: Camping, Power Outage
    • Pros: Compact, Easy to use, For All Pots And Pans
  • Verified Buyer Reviewed by scientist from San Jose, CA on Monday, July 9, 2012
    This was my first camp stove to take when camping/backpacking alone or with one other person. So far it has been reliable (and it's so easy to use). It's sturdier than I expected and when on even ground, can handle the weight of a wide fry pan or pot without any trouble, as well as balance a small carafe for coffee oer the burner. So far, I love this stove.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking, Car Camping, Long day hiking
  • Reviewed by The Camper from Seattle WA on Tuesday, June 26, 2012
    I have owned this stove for over five years and it still works great. I use it on 4 or 5 backpacking trips each year. It heats up the food much better than some other, and much more expensive, stoves since the burner is pretty large.
    • Best Uses: Backpacking
    • Cons: none
    • Pros: Lightweight, Reliable
  • Sort by:
  • 1 2 3